The Examinations are restricted to persons resident in or near the town for which they

desire to compete.

No person will be admitted to any of the above named Examinations from whom the Secretary, Civil Service Commission, has not received, on or before the 1st December, 1938, an application in the Candidate's own handwriting on a prescribed form, which may be obtained from the Secretary at once.

India Office,
10th October, 1938.

The KING has been pleased to appoint the Honourable Arthur Trevor Harries, Esquire, Judge of the High Court of Judicature in Allahabad, to be Chief Justice of the High Court of Judicature in Patna, with effect from the 10th October, 1938, in the vacancy caused by the death of Sir Courtney Terrell.

MINISTRY OF HEALTH.

THE INTERNATIONAL SANITARY CONVENTION FOR AERIAL NAVIGATION, 1933.

THE PUBLIC HEALTH (AIRCRAFT) REGULATIONS, 1938.

Notice is hereby given that the Minister of Health in pursuance of his powers under paragraph (4) of Regulation 2 of the Public Health (Aircraft) Regulations, 1938, has recognised the undermentioned Customs Aerodromes as being for the time being Sanitary Aerodromes for the purposes of those Regulations:—

Name of Aerodrome. Responsible Authority for the purposes of the Regulations.

London (Croydon) Doncaster, Yorkshire.

Marine Airport, Southampton Docks. Croydon Town Council-Doncaster Town Council-

Southampton Port Health Authority.

MINISTRY OF AGRICULTURE AND FISHERIES.

Diseases of Animals Acts, 1894 to 1937.

Notice is hereby given in pursuance of Section 49 (3) of the Diseases of Animals Act, 1894, that the Minister of Agriculture and Fisheries has made the following Order:—

Order No. 5763. (Dated 14th October, 1938.)

FOOT-AND-MOUTH DISEASE (INFECTED AREAS) ORDER OF 1938 (No. 102).

SUBJECT.

Declares the Area described in the Schedule to be a Foot-and-Mouth Disease Infected Area for the purpose of the Foot-and-Mouth Disease (Infected Areas Restrictions) Order of 1925.

SCHEDULE.

An Area comprising:-

IN THE COUNTY OF KENT.

The boroughs of Maidstone, Royal Tunbridge Wells and Tenterden.

The petty sessional divisions of Cranbrook and Tunbridge Wells (except the parish of Speldhurst).

In the petty sessional division of Tonbridge.

The parishes of Brenchley, Capel and Southborough; and so much of the parish of Hadlow as lies to the south east of the road running from Tonbridge via Tanyard Farm, the Stair, Parkers Green, the Hermitage, Hadlow and Goose Green to Mereworth.

In the petty sessional division of Malling.

The parishes of Yalding, Hunton, East Peckham, Nettlestead, Wateringbury, Teston and West Farleigh.

In the petty sessional division of Bearsted.

The parishes of Barming, East Farleigh, Loose, Linton, Boughton-Monchelsea, Otham, Bearsted, Hollingbourne, Wormshill, Frinsted, Lenham, Wickling, Otterden, Boughton Malherbe, Ulcombe, Harrietsham, Broomfield, Leeds, Langley, Chart Sutton, Sutton Valence, East Sutton and Headcorn; and so much of the parishes of Boxley, Detling and Thurnham as lies to the south of the road running from Maidstone via Foley House, Horish Wood, Detling Church, Thurnham, Aldington Place and Broad Street to Hollingbourne.

In the petty sessional division of Ashford.

The parishes of Charing, Westwell, Hoth-field, Little Chart, Egerton, Smarden, Pluckley, Bethersden, Great Chart, Kingsnorth, Shadox-hurst, Woodchurch, Orlestone, Ruckinge, Warehorne, Kenardington, Appledore, Stone cum Ebony, Wittersham, Snargate, Brookland and Ashford (except the former parish of Kennington); and so much of the parishes of Brenzett, Ivychurch and Old Romney as lies within the petty sessional division of Ashford.

In the petty sessional division of Liberty of Romney Marsh.

So much of the parish of Brenzett as lies within the petty sessional division of Liberty of Romney Marsh and so much of the parish of Ivychurch as forms the detached part of the petty sessional division of Liberty of Romney Marsh.

IN THE COUNTY OF EAST SUSSEX.

The county borough of Hastings.
The boroughs of Bexhill and Rye.
The petty sessional divisions of Rye and Burwash.

In the petty sessional division of Battle.

The parishes of Brightling, Mountfield, Whatlington, Sedlescombe, Ewhurst, Westfield, Ore, Battle, Penhurst, Dallington, Ashburnham, Catsfield, Ninfield and Crowhurst.