Clerk-Typist, Margaret Sumner Townshend 11th, Betty Lilian Holland 30th.

Ministry of Labour: Departmental Clerical Class, Edward Carey 4th, Margaret Groves, Kathlyn Mary Weir 5th, Michael Edward Anderton, Harry Watson Dalton, Freda Marjorie Harrison, Harry Williams 13th, James Heaps, Katharine Philip Tovce Lorimer 15th, Edward George Aylett, Edith Trevor Rosemond Dry, Borne, Nora Laurence Dutt, Richard Michael Fitzgerald, Cecilia May Kinnaird, William Hendry Knight, Arthur Colin Maude, Alexander Wallace May, Leslie George Milne, Peter Jackson Raggett, Catherine Rossa, Marjory Stuart, Edna May Timon, Edna Mary Utting, James Clifford Wiggins, Colin Edward Wright 16th, Margaret McVean Barrett, Emma Russell Barron, Kenneth Barrett, Halstead Brown, Gwendoline Minnie Crane, Reginald David Rice 17th, Margaret Elizabeth Dale, Morfydd Davies, Mavis Dibben, Audrey Dunstan, Nancy Hazel Foster, Emilie Turner Hutton, Elizabeth Annabella Drummond Macaulay, Ronald Vincent Quinn 18th, Dorothy Challinor, Horace Roberts, Margaret Graham Ross, Mary Whitaker, Ronald Duncan Fraser Whitelaw 19th, Harold Allen, William Anderson, John Henry Anthony, Norman Armitage, Walter Balderstone, George Herbert Booth, John Brown, Charlotte Frederick Dorothea Calder, Newton Roger Clough, John Ronald James Gordon Cook, Cowie, Ronald Cuthbert, Bernard James Edwards, Margaret Ellen Stephenson Stuart Fraser, Albert William Gale, Dilys Mary Griffiths, James Hamill, Jean Harris, Clifford Hugill, Kathleen Mary Ibberson, Charles Douglas Isles, Eileen Edith Jenkins, Thomas Lamb, Eric McFadd, Frank Leslie Marsh, Winifred Beatrice Marshall, Russel Hayden Maury, Bertha McGarrol Milne, Harold Nuttall, Ernest Trevor Owen, Robert Ernest Percy, Doris Annie Poynton, May Quin, Madeline Raney, Winifred St. Clair, Gordon Leslie Selkirk, Stanley Charles Slade, Arthur William Suthers, Arthur Harold Tansley, William Thain, James Thomson, Cyril Roy Truswell, Sidney William White, Dorothy Yates, Kathleen Yates 22nd, Thomas Barr, Stanley William Craig, Marjorie Agnes George, Kenneth Wilson Mawson, Margaret Greig Robertson 23rd, Geoffrey Gibson, Raymond George James Hull, Sarah Isobel McAlley 24th, Gladys Goodram 25th, George Farrimond 26th, Philip Curtis, Madeline Joan Fallon, Doreen Fraser, Marjorie Hirst Marion Baillie, Richard Edward 30th, Mack 31st. 23

Clerk-Typist, Irene Richardson 13th.

Lord Chancellor's Department: Clerks in County Courts, Noel Gibbard 19th, Alan James Tofts 22nd.

Clerk-Typist in County Courts, Margaret -Hoole 13th.

- Principal Probate Registry: Clerk-Typists, Mary Leslie Snowball 12th, Margaret Mary Onions 26th.
- Board of Trade: Clerk-Shorthand-Typist in the Bankruptcy and Companies Ex-Headquarters Service, Joan Renshaw 1st.

- Unemployment Assistance Board: Clerk-Typist, Marjorie Eliza Vivian Newton 4th.
- War Office: Departmental Clerical Class, Arthur Derrick Bull 10th, John Desmond Goddard 31st.
- Post Office: Female Sorting Assistants, London, Kathleen Mary Elizabeth Peto 1st, Olive Joyce Bennett, Eileen Agnes Puffett, Irene Victoria Wright 2nd, Muriel Violet Hyder 3rd, Gertrude May Knowles 4th, Evelyn May Bennett, Margaret Walton 5th, Agnes Mary Taylor 6th, Dorothy Margaret Seeley 8th, Lilian Wildman Constance Lois oth, 10th, Winifred 11th, Creffield Toms Winifred Ivy Eileen Rohl 12th, Winifred Lucy Mary Carlton, May Cordon Ebbs, Edna Margaret Olive Honey, Gwendolen Lois Knights 16th, Marjorie Joyce Meyer 19th.

Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Ronald Ernest Woodward (Hounslow) 2nd, Kenneth John Hayes (North and South Shields) 8th, Peter Mutton (Aldershot) 12th, Edmund Sydney Grayston Plater (Kingstonon-Thames) 16th, David Byford (Rochester and Chatham) 19th, John Sidebotham (Southport) 26th, Jack Fox (Wakefield) 31st.

Male Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists (Postal), Charles William Bathurst (Birmingham) 5th, Robert Ronaldson Maxwell Ferguson, James Arthur Marsden 11th, Ellis Heather (Reading), Alan Richmond (Manchester) 13th, Fred Wilkinson (Chester) 16th, John Leithead (Glasgow) 17th, William Waldock (Leeds) 18th, Richard Henry James (Crewe) 23rd, Philip Harry Butler (Crewe) 25th, Roydon Clyde Bates (Crewe) 26th.

Female Sorting Clerks and Telegraphists, Audrey Porter (Luton) 3rd, Winifred Mary Richardson (Portsmouth and Gosport) 5th, Hannah More Cross (Edinburgh), Isabella Kinnaird Gallie (Edinburgh) 11th, Dorothy Joan Bragg (Bristol) 16th, Evelyn Hilda Holland (Ryde) 20th, Gwendoline Margaret Baker (Bristol), Mary Blanche Jeffreys (Cardiff) 22nd, Nora Margaret Johnston (Hull) 26th, Catherine Euphemia McLean Ballantyne (Glasgow) 31st.

AFTER OPEN COMPETITIVE SELECTION.

- Admiralty: Male Assistant Electrical Engineers in the Electrical Engineering Departments. William John Outram 1st, John Garth Watson 2nd, James Graham Belsey, Hugh Lemoine Denman, Cyril Frederick Hollman 3rd, Philip Smith 12th, Sydney Bruce Thomas 19th.
- Board of Trade: Assistant Examiners in the Patent Office, Walter John Carpenter Hislop, Oswald Ormesher Thorp 22nd, Derek Gordon Gay 24th, John Raymond Mends 25th, George Cockerham, John Harrison 26th, Robert Ernest Dalley, Joe Norris 31st.
- Ministry of Transport: Assistant Engineers in the Roads Department, Cyril Lowthrop White 10th, Arthur David Holland, Thomas Patrick Murray 15th, Sydney Bruce Thomas 19th, Reginald John Francis Sansome 20th.

AFTER LIMITED COMPETITION.

H.M. Stationery Office: Technical Clerk (Printing), Henry Osborn Tester 31st.