he Council, having regard to the special circumstances of that undertaking, may

from time to time determine.

"Quarter" means the period of three months beginning on the first day of January, the first day of April, the first day of July or the first day of October in any

year.
"Undertaking" means one coal mine or, if more than one coal mine is in the same ownership, all the mines in that

ownership.

The Lords Commissioners of the Admiralty hereby give notice that they have made an Order entitled Dartmouth Pilotage (Emergency) Order, 1940. Statutory Rule and Order No. 2125 of 1940.

Admiralty, S.W.1. 1st January, 1941.

Admiralty.

Notice is hereby given to the Officers and Seamen and to all persons interested therein, that the distribution of an award for the salvage of s.s. "Eumaeus" during the period 11th to 15th December, 1939, by His Majesty's Ship "Stalwart" will commence on Saturday, the 4th January, 1941, in the Prize Branch of the Directorate of Navy Accounts, Admiralty.

All applications from persons entitled to share, who are not now serving, should be addressed to the Director of Navy Accounts (D.N.A.3), Admiraity, Bath, Somerset. Such applications (except in the case of Commissioned Officers) should be accompanied by Certificates of Service.

The following are the amounts due to individuals in the various classes:-

			£ s. d.
3rd	Class		 183 9 7
6th	Class	•••	 91 14 9
	Class		 73 7 10
8th	Class	• • •	 61 3 2
9th	Class		 48 18 6
10th	Class		 36 14 o
rrth	Class	• • •	 30 11 7

Admiralty, January, 1941.

The following promotions have been made to date 31st December, 1940:-

ROYAL NAVY.

Commander to Captain.

Herbert W. Williams. Reginald M. J. Hutton. Stuart H. Paton. Ian M. R. Campbell. Hugh St. L. Nicolson. Allan T. G. C. Peachey. Charles F. Prend. David Orr-Ewing. Henry L. St. J. Fancourt. James J. Weld. John S. Crawford. Alan K. Scott-Moncrieff. Thomas K. W. Atkinson. William W. Davis. James G. Roper. St. John A. Micklethwait.

Dering P. Evans. Thomas C. Hampton. Douglas M. L. Neame.

Lieutenant-Commander to Commander.

Stuart A. Buss. Cecil J. Wynne-Edwards. Arthur R. Murray-Smith. Henry T. Powell.

John W. Studholme. Roger S. Christian-Edwards. Geoffrey W. M. Ambrose. Ronald G. Mills.
Aubrey St. J. Edwards.
Charles W. Greening.
Arthur H. Wallis. Kenneth St. B. Collins. Philip L. Saumarez.
Donald G. F. W. MacIntyre. Gerald T. Coney. Martin J. Evans. Lionel J. S. Ede. Peter Dawnay. Malcolm H. Brown. Michael G. Rimington. John P. G. Bryant. Ronald H. Dewhurst. Brian E. W. Logan. Patrick W. Humphreys. John D. Luce. Douglas E. Holland-Martin. Walter Evershed. John G. T. Inglis. John W. Hale. Auberon C. A. C. Duckworth. Robert E. D. Ryder. Philip W. Burnett. Royston H. Wright.

Commander (E) to Captain (E).

Cyril A. Shaw Cyril J. B. Colthurst. Thomas H. Simpson. James Breaks.

Engineer Lieutenant-Commander to Engineer Commander.

Harold A. Asbury.

Lieutenant-Commander (E) to Commander (E).

Ernest F. Coggins. Edward H. Hutter. Stanley V Jackman.
Eric L. J. Howell.
Richard P. Targett-Adams. John O. H. Gairdner. Stewart A. MacGregor. Arnold Hirst. Edward J. Parish. Brian S. Magee.

Surgeon Commander to Surgeon Captain.

Archibald C. Shaw. Robert A. Brown.

Paymaster Commander to Paymaster Captain.

Charles A. Bowen. John R. Cundall.

Paymaster Lieutenant-Commander to Paymaster Commander.

Edward R. F. Hok. Claudius A. Herdman. Jack K. Highton. Ronald W. Paffard.