And whereas by Section 4 (2) of the said Act it is provided that where any area in which a Franchise Coroner had jurisdiction is merged in a County which is divided into Coroners' Districts, any consequential alterations of the division of the County into Coroners' Districts shall be effected in manner provided by the Act:

And whereas it is provided by Section 12 of the said Act that a County Council may at any time submit, after complying with such requirements as to notice and consideration of objections as may be prescribed, to the Secretary of State, a draft Order providing for such alteration of any existing division of the County into Coroners' Districts as appears to them to be suitable, and that the Secretary of State, after taking into consideration any objections to the draft made in the prescribed manner and within the prescribed time, may make an Order, either in the terms of the draft submitted to him or with such modifications as he thinks fit:

And whereas the County of the North Riding of Yorkshire is now divided into three Coroners' Districts:

And whereas the Council of the said County has in pursuance of the said Section 12 of the said Act submitted a draft Order to the Secretary of State:

And whereas the requirements of the Coroners (Orders as to Districts) Rules, 1927, have been complied with:

Now therefore I, the undersigned, One of His Majesty's Principal Secretaries—of State, in pursuance of the power vested in me by Section 12 of the said Act hereby order that the existing division of the County of the North Riding of Yorkshire into Coroners' Districts shall be altered and that the said County shall be divided into five Coroners' Districts which shall be named and constituted as set out in the Schedule to this Order and substituted for the existing Districts.

This Order shall come into operation on the 3rd day of June, 1941; provided however that nothing herein contained shall affect the proceedings at any inquest begun by a Coroner before that day.

Given under my hand at Whitehall this 17th day of May, 1941.

Herbert Morrison.

THE SCHEDULE.

WESTERN DISTRICT (comprising the undermentioned Townships): Ainderby Mires with Holtby; Aiskew; Aldbrough; Appleton East and West; Arkengarthdale; Arrathorne; Aske; Askrigg; Aysgarth; Bainbridge; Barden; Barningham; Barton; Bedale; Bishopdale; Boldron; Bolton-on-Barforth; Bellerby; Swale; Bowes; Brignall; Brompton-on-Swale; Brough with St. Giles; Burrill with Cowling; Burton-cum-Walden; Burton-on-Yore; Caldbergh with East Scrafton; Caldwell; Carlton Highdale; Carlton Town; Carperby-cum-Thoresby; Castle Bolton with East and West Bolton; Catterick; Cleasby; Cliffe; Clifton-on-Yore; Colburn; Colsterdale; Constable Burton; Cotherstone; Coverham with Agglethorpe; Crakehall; Croft; Dalton; Dalton-on-Tees;

Danby Wiske; Downholme; Easby; East Cowton; East Hauxwell; East Layton; East Witton Out Parish; East Witton Town; Egglestone Abbey; Ellerton Abbey; Ellertonon-Swale; Ellingstring; Ellington High and Low; Eppleby; Eryholme; Exelby, Leeming and Newton; Fearby; Finghall with Hutton Hang and Akebar; Firby; Forcett with Carkin; Garriston; Gayles; Gilling with Hartforth and Sedbury; Gilmonby; Great Langton; Grinton; Hackforth; Harmby; Hawes; Healey; High Abbotside; Hipswell; Holwick; Hope; Hornby; Hudswell; Hunderthwaite; Hunton; Hutton Longvilliers; Ilton-cum-Pott; Killerby; Kiplin; Kirby Hill; Kirkby Fleetham with Fencote; Langthorne; Lartington; Leyburn; Little Langton; Low Abbotside; Lunedale; Manfield; Marrick; Masham; Melbecks: Marske; Melmerby; Melsonby; Mickleton; Middleham; Middleton Tyas; Moulton; Muker; New Forest; Newbiggin; Newsham; Newton-le-Willows with Ruswick; Newton Morrell; North Cowton; Ovington; Patrick Brompton; Preston; Rand Ravensworth; Redmire; Fremington and Healaugh; Richmond; Rokeby; Romaldkirk; Rookwith; St. Martin's; Scargill; Scorton; Scotton; Scruton; Skeeby; Snape with Thorp; South Cowton; Spennithorne; Stainton; Stanwick St. John; Stapleton; Startforth; Swinton with Warthermarske; Thirn; Thoralby; Thornton Rust; Thornton Steward; Thornton Watlass; Tunstall; Uckerby; Walburn; Well; Wensley; West Hauxwell; West Layton; West Scrafton; West Witton; Whashton; Whitwell; Wycliffe with Thorpe.

NORTHERN DISTRICT (comprising the undermentioned Townships): Ainderby Steeple; Appleton Wiske; Birkby; Borrowby (including The Gueldable); Brompton; Broughton Great and Little; Carlton; Castle Levington; Cotcliffe; Crathorne; Crosby; Deighton; Easby; East Harlsey; East Rounton; Ellerbeck; Eston; Faceby; Girsby; Great Ayton; Great Busby; Great Smeaton; Hemlington; High Worsall; Hilton; Hornby; Hutton Bonville; Hutton Rudby; Ingleby Arncliffe and Ingleby Cross; Ingleby Barwick; Ingleby Greenhow with Greenhow and Battersby; Kildale; Kirby; Kirby Sigston; Kirk Levington; Knayton with Brawith; Landmoth-cum-Catto; Lazenby; Leake; Little Ayton; Little Busby; Little Smeaton; Low Worsall; Maltby; Marton; Middleton-on-Leven; Morton-on-Swale; Newby; Newby Wiske; North Otterington; Northallerton; Nunthorpe; Ormesby; Osmotherley; Over Dinsdale; Picton; Potto; Romanby; Skutterskelfe; Seamer; Sexhow; Sowerby-under-Cotcliffe; Stainton; Stokesley; Thimbleby; Thornaby-on-Tees; Thornton-le-Beans; Thrintoft; Warlaby; Welbury; West Harlsey; West Rounton; Whorlton; Winton, Stank and Hallikeld; Yafforth; Yarm.

EASTERN DISTRICT (comprising the under-entioned Townships): Aislaby; Barnby; prrowby; Brotton; Commondale; Danby; mentioned Borrowby; Easington; Egton; Ellerby; Eskdaleside-cum-Ugglebarnby; Fylingdales; Glaisdale; Goathland; Guisborough; Hawsker-cum-Stainsacre; Hinderwell; Hutton Lowcross; Kilton; Kirkleatham; Liverton: Mulgrave; Loftus; Lythe; Marske-by-the-Sea; Mickleby; Moorsholme; Morton; Newholme-cum-Dunsley; Newton; Newton Mulgrave; Pinchinthorpe; Redcar; Roxby; Saltburn-by-the-Sea; Skelton; Skinningrove; Sneaton; Stanghow; Tocketts;