

The London Gazette

Published by Authority

Registered as a newspaper

_

For Table of Contents see last page

TUESDAY, 16 SEPTEMBER, 1941

The Lords Commissioners of His Majesty's Treasury hereby give notice that They have made the three undermentioned Orders relating to Purchase Tax, all of which come into operation, subject to the approval of the House of Commons, on the 3rd November, 1941:---

1. The Purchase Tax (Reduction of Registration Limit) Order, 1941 (S.R. & O. 1941 No. 1389).

This Order provides for the reduction of the registration limit from £2,000 to £500.

2. The Purchase Tax (Exemptions) (No. 1) Order, 1941 (S.R. & O. 1941 No. 1390).

The effect of this Order is to substitute for the present general exemption in favour of essential drugs of an exceptionally costly character à Schedule of the exempted drugs.

3. The Purchase Tax (Exemptions) (No. 2) Order, 1941 (S.R. & O. 1941 No. 1391).

This Order provides for the exemption from purchase tax of:

(a) Gramophones specially designed for the reproduction of speech from records which are themselves specially adapted for the use of the blind; and

(b) solid tyres.

Factory Department, Ministry of Labour and National Service.

12th September, 1941.

The Chief Inspector of Factories gives notice that in consequence of the death of Dr. M. Fawkes an appointment as Examining Surgeon under the Factories Act, 1937, for the District of Midhurst, in the County of Sussex, is vacant. Latest date for receipt of applications: 30th September, 1941.

Factory Department, Ministry of Labour and National Service.

12th September, 1941.

The Chief Inspector of Factories has appointed Dr. R. W. A. Simmons to be Examining Surgeon under the Factories Act, 1937, for the Eastleigh (formerly Bishopstoke) District of the County of Southampton.

> The Order of Mercy, 12, Whitehall, London, S.W.I. September 12th, 1941.

His Majesty The KING, Sovereign of the Order of Mercy, has been graciously pleased to confer the Bar to the Order of Mercy on the following President, Lady Presidents, Lady Vice-Presidents and Members of the League of Mercy:-

President.

Colonel J. L. Sleeman, C.B., C.M.G., C.B.E., M.V.O. Herefordshire, Gloucestershire, and Worcestershire.

Lady Presidents.

The Lady Ashcombe. Epsom-Esher.

Mrs. Cleveland Stevens. Fulham.

Mrs. Philip Foster. North-East Sussex.

Lady Vice-Presidents.

Miss Gladys Adams. Bedford and Mid-Beds.

Miss Blanche Buxton. Epping.

- Mrs. Charles Crawshay. Mid-Essex. Mrs. Edward Hopton. Herefordshire. Mrs. Percy Thomas. South Paddington.

Members.

Mrs. Barry. East Sussex.

Miss Edith Hopkins. Fulham.