Sub-Lts. (A) to be Lts. (A) with seny. as stated:

A. J. Wort. 1st May 1946.

H. G. L. Nash. 1st Nov. 1946.

R. V. Morris. 18th Dec. 1946.

N. B. Williams. 26th Dec. 1946.

Lt.-Col. C. E. Penny (IA 137).

N. B. WILLIAMS. 26th Dec. 1946.
G. MAIR. 3rd Jan. 1947.
J. J. H. ASHWORTH. 6th Jan. 1947.
J. W. D. CAMPBELL. 12th Jan. 1947.
G. H. EARL. 15th Jan. 1947.
D. S. FULLER. 17th Jan. 1947.
D. J. CHARLTON. 28th Jan. 1947.
E. L. HAYWOOD. 8th Feb. 1947.
R. G. FOWLER. 11th Feb. 1947.
D. G. FARGE. 17th Feb. 1947.

Sub-Lts. (L) to be Lts. (L) with seny. as stated:—C. R. SMALLEY, D. A. THOMAS, H. G. T. HAYES.

15th Feb. 1947. A. J. Macey, L. J. ATKINSON. 19th Feb.

1947. K. S. Wilson. 23rd Feb. 1947.

Tempy. Instr. Sub-Lts. to be Tempy. Instr. Lts.

with seny. as stated:—
P. J. M. Shepherd, B.Sc., J. A. Pemberton,
J. Reilly, R. C. Colman, K. Gibbs. 6th Mar.

1947. P. L. Griffin, W. Gates, G. S. King. 8th Mar. 1947.

Sub-Lts. (S) to be Lts. (S) with seny. as stated:—
D. SMITH, T. W. LOVELL, J. A. McGOLDRICK,
P. G. GREEN, A. S. SMITH, C. E. BUTLIN, D. S. CLARK. 28th Feb. 1947.
A. C. G. DRISCOLL, J. DAVIDSON, R. G. HAWKER, J. T. SHEEHAN. 1st Mar. 1947.
J. R. MANNING. 14th Mar. 1947.

Tempy. Sub-Lts. (A) (R.N.V.R.) transferred to R.N. in rank of Lts. (E) with seny. as stated:—
J. A. I. REID. 8th Oct. 1946.
D. B. WHITTON. 24th Nov. 1946.

Tempy. Sub-Lts. (E) transferred to permanent Commns. in rank of Lts. (E) with seny. as stated:

J. B. Cottrell, D. C. McGlashan. 4th Jan. 1947.

Tempy. Sub-Lts. (R.N.R.) transferred to R.N. with seny. as stated:—
J. I. Shepherd. 3rd Apr. 1946.
D. B. UPWARD. 3rd Jan. 1947.

Tempy. Sub-Lts. (R.N.V.R.) transferred to R.N.

with seny. as stated:—
B. S. Masters. 4th Feb. 1945.
D. E. W. Jayne. 22nd Mar. 1945.
R. G. Lacey. 9th Apr. 1945.
J. C. Whitehead. 23rd Apr. 1945.

ARMY ACT.

It is proposed to issue a revised edition of Rules of Procedure, made under section 70 of the Army Act.

Copies of the publication can be obtained in accordance with the Rules Publication Act, 1893, from the Under-Secretary of State, The War Office. Whitehall, S.W.I.

4th April, 1947.

India Office, 4th April, 1947.

The KING has been pleased to approve the appt. of Col. (Ty Maj.-Gen.) B. W. Key, C.B., D.S.O., M.C., A.D.C., as Colonel of the Sikh Regt., 4th

The KING has approved the following retirements and relinquishments:—

INDIAN ARMY.

Maj.-Gen. F. R. R. BUCHER, C.B., O.B.E., M.C., relinquishes the actg. rank of Lt-.Gen., 13th Jan.

The undermentioned officers retire:—
Capt. F. W. MacD. QUIGLEY, M.C. (158 AI), on account of ill-health, 12th Sept. 1946, and is granted the hon. rank of Maj.

30th Mar. 1947. Lt.-Col. W. J. Blake (AI 647). Lt.-Col. R. J. CORNER (IA 233). Lt.-Col. R. A. de Salis, D.S.O. (IA 25).

Lt.-Col. M. A. Hepworth (AI 716). Lt.-Col. W. D. Joyce (IA 567). Lt.-Col. C. E. Penny (IA 137). Lt.-Col. L. Lesster, O.B.E. (642 IA), 31st Mar.

rst Apl. 1947. Col. K. A. Garrett, M.C. Maj.-Gen. Sir C. O. Harvey, C.B., C.V.O., C.B.E.,

M.C.
Lt.-Col. W. E. D. WILKINSON (IA 839).
Lt.-Col. J. W. K. KIRWAN (IA 783), 4th Apr. 1947.

Emergency Commissions.

The undermentioned officers relinquish their commns., having been appointed to S.S. Commns.,

Brit. Serv. Lt. K. L. Thomas (EC 8915), 5th Nov. 1946. Capt. H. S. Lyons, M.B.E. (EC. 1822), 11th Dec. 1946.

Capt. S. A. PRYCE-EVANS (EC 5389), 1st Apr. 1947.

The undermentioned officers relinquish their commns., on account of ill-health:—
Lt. J. W. Deerrs (EC 15210), 17th Mar. 1947 and is granted the hon. rank of Lt.
Lt. K. M. D. Beswick (EC 16047), 31st Mar. 1947 and is granted the hon. rank of Lt.
Maj. P. F. Morgan (EC 673), relinquishes his commn. 6th Nov. 1944

commn., 6th Nov. 1944.

The notifn, regarding the dismissal of Maj. P. F. Morgan (EC 673) in the Gazette dated 16th Mar. 1945 is hereby cancelled.

INDIAN ARMY DEPARTMENTS.

Maj. W. E. BISHOP (OS 19), retires 10th May 1946.

INDIAN ARMY MEDICAL CORPS.

Maj. P. W. EMMETT retires 30th Mar. 1947.

Burma Office, 4th April 1947.

The KING has approved the following appointments:-

ARMY IN BURMA RESERVE OF OFFICERS. Emergency Commissions.

To be Lt. VARADARAJIER NATARAJAN, M.B., & B.S. (Rgn.), 14th April 1942.

To be 2nd Lts. William Godfrey Snow, 7th May 1945. Arthur Clarence SMITH, 16th May 1945. Frederick Campbell Dias, 1st July 1945.

NATIONAL INSURANCE ACT, 1946.

The Minister of National Insurance has made the undermentioned regulations:-

The National Insurance (Increase of Contributory Pensions) Amendment Regulations (No. 2), 1947, dated 26th March, 1947 (S.R. & O. 1947 No. 542).

The National Insurance (Expenses of Administration) Regulations, 1947, dated 28th March, 1947 (S.R. & O. 1947 No. 570).

The National Insurance (Pensions Accounts)

Regulations, 1947, dated 28th March, 1947 (S.R. & Regulations, 1947, dated 28th March, 1947, 1947, date

Regulations, 1947, dated 28th March, 1947 (S.R. & O. 1947 No. 571).

Ministry of National Insurance,

Carlton House Terrace, London, S.W.r.

SPECIAL ENACTMENTS (EXTENSION OF TIME) ACT, 1940.

The Electricity Commissioners have made an Order entitled the Brentford Electricity (Extension of Time) Order, 1947 extending by three years the period of forty-two years mentioned in Section 2 of the Electric Lighting Act, 1888 within six months after the expiration of which the Brentford and Chiswick Corporation may exercise their rights of purchase under the said Section 2 in respect of that part of the Undertaking of the Brentford Electric Supply Company Limited authorised by the Brentford Electric Lighting Order 1905 which is situate within the jurisdiction of the Corporation.

Conjess of the Order may be obtained from the

Copies of the Order may be obtained from the Secretary, Electricity Commission, 2 Savoy Court, Strand, London, W.C.2.