D'Arcy Exploration Company Limited, Britannic House, Finsbury Circus, London, E.C.2. The area concerned covers about 190 square miles in the Counties of Durham and York.

A map showing the boundaries of the area may be inspected on application to the Ministry of Fuel and Power, Petroleum Division, 7. Millbank, London, S.W.1.

28th April, 1949.

PETROLEUM (PRODUCTION) ACT, 1934.

In pursuance of Section 2 (3) of the Petroleum (Production) Act, 1934, the Minister of Fuel and Power gives notice that in accordance with the provisions of the Act and of the Petroleum (Production) Regulations, 1935, he has granted to the D'Arcy Exploration Company Limited, Britannic House, Finsbury Circus, London, E.C.2, a prospecting licence in respect of the areas referred to in the schedule hereto, the boundaries of which are described by reference to the one-inch Ordnance Survey map, supplemented where necessary by reference to the six-inch Ordnance Survey map.

SCHEDULE.

Two areas of approximately 153 square miles in the Counties of Derby and Nottingham.

Area A (127 square miles).

Northern Boundary. Commencing at the cross roads of the Barlborough to Whitwell and the Clowne to Harthill roads, the boundary proceeds due east along the road to Whitwell, but branches off in a north easterly direction about ½ mile from Whitwell, skirting Whitwell Wood, Red Hill and crosses the L.M.S. Railway line, then going due east to Worksop.

Eastern Boundary. From Workop the boundary follows the road in a south/south-easterly direction via Sparken Hill and Scotland Farm, crossing the rivers Poulter and Meden to Budley. From thence rivers Poulter and Meden to Budley. From thence it turns south east, following the road through the forest for about a mile to the cross roads where it turns south west to Edwinstowe and crossing the railway goes southwards again joining the Ollerton-Nottingham road at Amen Corner. This road is followed through Primrose Hill, Deerdate Wood, crossing Rainworth Water, the L.M.S. railway (Mansfield to Southwell) and southwards via Warren Hill, Salterford and Sansomwood farms to Foxcovert plantation. covert plantation.

Southern Boundary. From Foxcovert plantation, the boundary follows the road westward leaving Papplewick on the north to Linby where it crosses the L.N.E.R. and L.M.S. Railway lines and joins the Annesley road.

Western Boundary. The boundary follows the Annesley road northwards through Annesley Park and New Annesley until it reaches the railway tunnel near Robin Hood's Cave. Here it turns first north west and then north again following the railway line through Kirkby-in-Ashfield to Sutton-in-Ashfield. From here, still going northwards the road through Skekby is followed to Pleasley, then crossing the railway line, through Stoney Houghton, Birchill, Bolsover Moor, Elmton Park, Dawesbrook to Clowne. Through Clowne, the boundary goes northwards towards Harthill until cross roads from Barlborough to Whitwell are reached.

Area B (26 saugre miles)

Area B (26 square miles).

Northern Boundary. Commencing at East Retford, the boundary follows the railway line northeastwards for about 1½ miles, then crosses the Welham to Clarborough road, goes due east and then southeast to South Leverton. southeast to South Leverton.

Eastern Boundary. From South Leverton, the boundary runs due south along the road through Treswell to Stekcham and then turns slightly to the southwest still following the road cross the North Beck through East Drayton until the East Markham-Darlton road is reached.

Southern Boundary. From the crossing of the East Markham-Darlton road, the boundary goes southwest crossing the railway line to Tuxford.

Western Boundary. From Tuxford the boundary follows the Great North Road in a general northerly direction through Mill Mount, Sibthorpe Place, Markham Moor Rockley to Gamston, and then due north through Ordsall to East Retford. 28th April, 1949.

Admiralty, 26th April, 1949. R.N.

Engr. Cdr. T. E. Davies, placed on Retd. List. 19th Apr. 1949.
Lt.-Cdr. (S) E. R. Wheeler, M.B.E., placed on Retd. List. 23rd June 1949.
Actg. Lt.-Cdr. J. R. Blake, to be Lt.-Cdr. 1st

Apr. 1949. ctg. Surgn. Lt.-Cdr. A. J. GASKELL, M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P., to be Surgn. Lt.-Cdr. 17th Apr. 1949. Actg. Lt.-Cdrs. (S) to be Lt.-Cdrs (S) with seny.

as stated:

J. F. HARVEY. 1st Apr. 1943.
P. W. T. HANMER. 1st Apr. 1945.
R. E. D. A. JAMES, G. A. W. HASLAM, P. C. ELIOT. 1st July 1946.
A. H. WOOLNER. 23rd Oct. 1946.
G. R. MUIR, O.B.E. 1st June 1947.
A. B. WEBB. 1st Sept. 1948.

Lts. to be Lt.-Cdrs. with seny as stated:

D. J. Ansell, M. J. W. Pawsey, P. D. Gilmour, J. D. Cartwright, D.S.C., R. G. P. Bulkeley, D.S.C., D. L. Binnington, C. A. Johnson, D.S.C., J. S. Launders, D.S.O.*, D.S.C.*, J. Nash, D.S.C., I. S. McIntosh, D.S.O., M.B.E., D.S.C., P. E. Greenland, D. G. Caley, L. Ellis, F. Miller, 1st Apr. 1949.

G. R. Woolston. 3rd Apr. 1949. H. G. Harris. 7th Apr. 1949.

Lts. (E) to be Lt.-Cdrs. (E) with seny. as stated:— F. P. W. FISON, A. E. NEWTON, M. MARTIN. 16th Apr. 1949.

Lts. (L) to be Lt.-Cdrs. (L) with seny, as stated:—
M. W. Antrobus. 16th Apr. 1949.
C. H. Messenger. 21st Apr. 1949.
G. C. J. Kilburn. 22nd Apr. 1949.

Lt. (A) J. R. Fraser, from Extended Service Commission granted Permanent Commission in Air Branch of R.N. in rank of Lt. (A) to date 22nd Dec. 1948, with seny. 7th Jan. 1948.

Lt. (E) V. W. Stowe, placed on Retd. List. 29th Apr. 1949.

Actg. Lts. (E) to be Lts. (E) with seny. as stated:—
J. P. Toller. 1st May 1947.
E. F. Silk, D. O'Hara. 1st July 1947. P. E. Dale. 1st Aug. 1947.

Actg. Surgn. Lt. (D) J. L. HYETT, L.D.S., to be Surgn. Lt. (D) with seny. 16th Dec. 1948.

Sub-Lts. to be Lts. with seny. as stated:—
A. Liddicoat. 1st Feb. 1948.
W. R. D. Robson. 1st Oct. 1948.
A. N. Derrick. 16th Jan. 1949.
K. F. Creighton. 16th Mar. 1949.
S. E. Hawkins. 1st Apr. 1949.

Sub-Lt. (L) D. C. Rose, placed on Retd. List. 25th Apr. 1949.

Actg. Sub-Lts. (S) to be Sub-Lts. (S) with seny. stated:

W. S. Bolitho, R. A. Wood. 13th July 1948. To be Instr. Sub-Lt. with seny as stated:— B. A. MITCHELL. 27th Apr. 1949.

Senr. Cd. Engrs. to be Lts. (E) with seny. as

stated:

R. D. GOODIER, D.S.C. 16th Apr. 1949. G. F. OSBORNE. 29th Apr. 1949.

Mr. C. McManus, Senr. Cd. Ckry. Offr., placed on Retd. List in rank of Lt. (S) (Retd.). 24th Apr. 1949.

Admiralty, 19th April, 1949. R.M.

2 Lt. P. G. E. FAIRE to Retd. List. 15th Apr. 1949.

Admiralty, 23rd April, 1949.

Lieut, C. L. G. Brown to Retd. List. 23гф Apr. 1949.

Admiralty, 26th April, 1949. R.N.R.

Lt. G. CROOK, R.D., to be Lt.-Cdr. 17th Apr. 1949.

Lt. (S) I. P. COOMBS, to be Lt.-Cdr. (S). 12th Apr. 1949. (E) G. CHRISTISON, Commission terminated.

16th Jan. 1948.