

SECOND SUPPLEMENT TO

The London Gazette

OF FRIDAY, 27th JANUARY, 1950

Published by Authority

Registered as a newspaper

TUESDAY, 31 JANUARY, 1950

Air Ministry, 31st January, 1950.

ROYAL AIR FORCE.

GENERAL DUTIES BRANCH.

Appointment to commission.

As Flight Lieutenants (permanent):—
Raymond Frederick STARNES, D.F.C. (120648).
27th Aug. 1948.
Jack Mellor (154815). 2nd Mar. 1949.

14th Oct. 1949. John Alfred Cook, D.F.M. (1 John Alfred Cook, D.F.M. (176003). Gwyn Digby-Ovens (195675).

Harvey John Scull (165638). 21st Oct. 1949.

Frederick Charles HAINES (55406). 3rd Nov. 1949.

As Flying Officers (permanent):— Eric Richard Albert SHELTON (58322). Sept. 1948.

Jim Whitelaw Carter, D.F.M. (527740). Dec. 1948.

As Flying Officer, short service (eight years on the

active list and four years on the reserve):—
George Charles LEECH (201297). 8th Aug. 1949
(seniority 31st Aug. 1947).

As Pilot Officer, short service (eight years on the active list and four years on the reserve):—
Donald Nattriss (2607764). 4th Oct. 1949

(seniority 9th Dec. 1948).

As Pilot Officer, short service (five years on the active list and four years on the reserve):—
Neil ROBSON (198298). 5th Dec. 1949 (seniority 6th May 1948) (and transferred to the Aircraft Control Branch on appointment).

Notification amended.

9th Aug. 1949 (p. 3851, col. 2) concerning Leslie Charles Akehurst (199049) for 9th July 1949 read 6th July 1949.

Transfer between branches.

The undermentioned to the Technical Branch retaining their existing rank and seniority:—
Flight Lieutenant I. WHITTAKER, D.F.C. (51704), 1st Dec. 1949.
Pilot Officer R. S. Lucas (2600659). 31st Dec.

1949.

The undermentioned to the Secretarial Branch:—Squadron Leader F. T. Collins, D.S.O. (77911), retaining his existing rank and seniority. 20th Nov. 1949.

Flight Lieutenant R. T. W. Jones (185535) retaining his rank. 17th Aug. 1949 (seniority 17th Aug. 1949)

Retirement.

Group Captain V. B. J. Jackson (at own request). 12th Dec. 1949.
Flight Lieutenant T. Pountney (43072). 30th

Jan. 1950.

Transfer to reserve (class A).

Flight Lieutenants:—
C. E. WILLIAMS (171361). 21st Dec. 1949.
B. A. WALKER, A.F.C. (120524). 23rd Jan. 1950.

Squadron Leader C. H. Dyson (40172) retaining the rank of Wing Commander. 23rd Jan. 1950.

Commission relinquished.

Squadron Leader O. D. B. Cob, D.F.C. (43094).

1st Sept. 1948.

Flying Officer G. W. Bulpett (196139) (on account of medical unfitness for Air Force service) retaining the rank of Flight Lieutenant. 12th Jan. 1950.

TECHNICAL BRANCH.

Appointment to commission.

As Squadron Leaders (permanent):—
George William Munday Dunn (86223). 20th
Apr. 1949.

Reginald Henry Charles Sampson (45365). 14th Oct. 1949.

As Flight Lieutenant (permanent):—
Owen Lewis HYDE (87482). 5th Dec. 1949
(seniority 27th July 1947).

Promotion.

Flying Officer to Flight Lieutenant:-

15th Dec. 1949.

G. BANCROFT, B.A. (201372). M. BARTON (57695). T. BRADFORD (57751).

T. Bradford (57751).
H. M. Chappell (57859).
J. Cross (55996).
C. A. F. Denton (57999).
W. J. Dowd (57701).
E. N. Gambrill, B.Sc. (201381).
K. W. Goodman (57469).
F. J. Griffin (58001).
F. Hrst (57865).
J. I. Hudd (57769).
N. Kay (57924).
M. E. Le Gallez (57872).
R. W. Leppard (201551).

M. E. LE GALLEZ (37872).
R. W. LEPPARD (201551).
D. E. C. LOCKYER, B.E.M. (57874).
F. W. NEEVE (201416).
F. C. PADFIELD (201553).
D. O. PARRY-DAVIES (196477).
V. G. PIERCEY (58118).
M. O. RAYNER (57944).