

The London Gazette

Published by Authority

Registered as a Newspaper

For Table of Contents see last page

TUESDAY, 1 MARCH, 1955

Privy Council Office, 1st March, 1955. UNIVERSITIES OF OXFORD AND CAMBRIDGE

A Statute made by the University of Oxford on the 22nd February, 1955, has been submitted for the approval of Her Majesty in Council, and notice of its having been so submitted is published in accordance with the provisions of the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge Act, 1923.

Privy Council Office, 1st March, 1955.

Privy Council Office, 1st March, 1955.

Notice is hereby given that a Petition has been presented to Her Majesty in Council by the Lord Mayor, Aldermen and Citizens of the City of Manchester and the Victoria University of Manchester, praying for the grant of a Charter of Incorporation constituting and founding a College in the City of Manchester under the style and title of "The Manchester College of Science and Technology", and Her Majesty having referred the said Petition to a Committee of the Lords of the Council, Notice is hereby given that all Petitions for or against such grant should be delivered at the Privy Council Office on or before the 4th day of April next. April next.

> Lord Chamberlain's Office St. James's Palace, S.W.1. 1st March, 1955.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased to appoint Brigadier Walter Morley Sale, C.V.O., O.B.E., one of Her Majesty's Equerries, to be Crown Equerry to Her Majesty, in the room of Colonel Sir Dermot McMorrough Kavanagh, G.C.V.O., resigned.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased to appoint Colonel Sir Dermot McMorrough Kavanagh, G.C.V.O., to be an Extra Equerry to Her Majesty.

Crown Office, House of Lords, S.W.1. 28th February, 1955.

The QUEEN has been pleased by Letters Patent under the Great Seal to present The Reverend William Edward Keating, B.A., to the Rectory of Welford with Wickham in the County of Berks and Diocese of Oxford void by the resignation of the last Incumbent and in Her Majesty's Gift for this turn only by reason of the late avoidance of the See of Oxford.

Admiralty, Whitehall, S.W.1.

1st March, 1955.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased to approve the following awards of the Polar Medal:—

For good services as members of the Falkland Islands Dependencies Survey in Antarctic expeditions between the years 1949-1954:—

Clasp to the Polar Medal.

Kenneth Victor Blaiklock, Surveyor, Hope Bay, 1952-1953.

Polar Medal.

Geoffrey Herbert BROOKFIELD, Meteorological Observer, Hope Bay, 1953-1954.

John Allen Coley, Meteorological Assistant, Hope Bay, 1952-1953.

Ernest William Bruce HILL, Diesel Electric Mechanic, Hope Bay, 1952.

Brian David Hunt, Meteorological Assistant, Hope

Bay, 1952.
Brian Kemp, Meteorological Assistant, Hope Bay, 1952-1953.

Peter Wylie King, Wireless Operator Mechanic, Hope Bay, 1952-1953.

Dr. George Walter Marsh, M.R.C.S., M.R.C.P., Base Leader and Medical Officer, Hope Bay, 1952-1953.

Kenneth Ernest Charles Powell, Diesel Electric Mechanic, Hope Bay, 1953-1954.

Anthony John Standring, Geologist, Hope Bay, 1953-1954.

Robert Stoneley, Geologist, Hope Bay, 1952.

Temporary Sub-Lieutenant David George Stratton, R.N.V.R., Assistant Surveyor, Hope Bay, 1952-1953. Murdo Finlayson Tarr, Meteorological Observer, Argentine Islands, 1949-1950 and Hope Bay, Argentine 1952-1953.

Michael John Unwin, Meteorological Observer, Hope Bay, 1952.

For good services with the French Anta Expeditions to Adelie Land in 1951 and 1952:-Antarctic

Polar Medal.

Dr. Fritz Loewe, Ph.D., Glaciologist and Official Australian Observer, 1951. Robert George Dovers, Surveyor and Official Australian Observer, 1952.

> The Church House, Westminster, S.W.1. 19th February, 1955.

The QUEEN has been pleased to give directions for the appointment of Dermot Joseph Sheridan, Esq. (Director of Public Prosecutions, Gold Coast), to be a Puisse Judge of Her Majesty's High Court of Uganda.

14th January, 1955.

The QUEEN has been pleased to approve of the retention of the title of "Honourable" by the undermentioned gentlemen, who have served for more than three years as Members of the Executive Council of New Zealand:

Sir William Alexander Bodkin, K.C.V.O.

Charles Moore Bowden, Esq.
Walter James Broadfoot, Esq.
Wilfred Henry Fortune, Esq.
His Excellency Mr. Thomas Clifton Webb.