- Richard Henry HICKS, Esq., Director of the Child Welfare Department, State of New South Wales.
- Humphrey Hutchinson, Esq., formerly Principal Agricultural Officer, Swaziland.
- The Honourable Cyril Everett Isaac, formerly a Member of the Legislative Council, State of Victoria. For public services.
- John Morrison MacDonald, Esq. For municipal and public services in Bulawayo, Southern Rhodesia.
- Frank John McIntosh, Esq., Chief Engineer of the Rhodesia Railways at Bulawayo, Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland.
- The Reverend Brother Charles Alphonsus Mogg, Superior of the Christian Brothers College at Rostrevor, State of South Australia.
- Charles Athole MURRAY, Esq., Director of Conservation and Extension, Ministry of Agriculture, Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland.
- Clement Ray NICHOLS, Esq., Chief Commissioner of the Scout Movement in the State of Victoria.
- Margaret, Mrs. Curtis-Otter, State Commissioner of the Girl Guides' Movement, State of Victoria.
- Frederick Alexander Robertson, Esq., J.P. For municipal and social welfare services in Camperdown, State of Victoria.
- Gordon Thripp, Esq., Deputy Principal, Indian Air Force Technical Training College, Jalahalli, India.
- Squadron Leader Charles Philip Gregory WADE, Chairman of the Delhi Branch, United Kingdom Citizens' Association, India.
- Denis Patrick WITHERIFF, Esq., Under-Secretary, Department of Labour and Industry and Social Welfare, State of New South Wales.
- Pastor Christopher Albert ZWECK, of the Evangelical Lutheran Church in the State of South Australia.
- To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:—
- Miss Anne Adam, Senior Lady Clerk and Private Secretary to the Chief Justice of Basutoland, the Bechuanaland Protectorate and Swaziland.
- Mary Josephine, Mrs. Anderson, Assistant Hospitality Secretary, The Victoria League.
- William Edmund Barwick, Esq., President, Gilgandra Shire Council, State of New South Wales. For services during the floods.
- Keith James Darrell BENGER, Esq. For honorary services to charitable organisations in Adelaide, State of South Australia.
- Sydney Henry BIRRELL, Esq., M.C. For public services in the State of Victoria.
- Reginald Arthur BOURLAY, Esq., Superintendent of Flying for Central African Airways, Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland.
- Reginald George Bray, Esq., President, Muswellbrook Shire Council, State of New South Wales. For services during the floods.
- Kathleen Mary, Mrs. Burrow. For social welfare services in the State of New South Wales.
- George Robert Burton, Esq. For services to ex-servicemen in the State of Victoria.

- John Carpenter, Esq., Secretary of the Branch in the State of South Australia of the Totally and Permanently Disabled Soldiers' Association.
- Christopher William Collins, Esq., a member of the staff of the Department of Customs and Excise, Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland.
- Charles Henry Valentine Cooke, Esq., a member of the staff of the Department of Customs and Excise, Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland.
- Vera Lilian, Mrs. COURTENAY. For social welfare services in Launceston, State of Tasmania,
- Roy Richardson Cousins, Esq., Mayor of Muswellbrook, State of New South Wales. For services during the floods.
- George Chatfield CRAMP, Esq., of Hobart, State of Tasmania. For public services.
- Charles Henry William Dale, Esq., Chairman of the Marandellas Town Management Board, Southern Rhodesia.
- William Henry Schorey DICKINSON, Esq., J.P. For municipal services in Kew. State of Victoria.
- Malcolm Martin Eigner, Esq., a member of the staff of the Rhodesia Railways at Bulawayo, Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland.
- William Edwin FIELD, Esq., Assistant Commissioner of Prisons, Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland.
- Gladys Isobel, Mrs. Grant. For social welfare services in the State of Victoria,
- John Henshil Wood, Esq., a Councillor of the Shire of Mildura, State of Victoria, for over 35 years.
- Elsie Emily, Mrs. Hill, General Secretary and Matron of the Far West Children's Health Scheme, State of New South Wales.
- Scheme, State of New South Wales.
 Edward George HITTERSAY, Esq., Resident
 Engineer, Mountain Road, Basutoland.
- Henry Roger George Howman, Esq., a Native Commissioner in Southern Rhodesia.
- James Russell INSKIPP, Esq., a Native Commissioner in Southern Rhodesia.
- Miss Clara Keenan, in charge of the Queen Elizabeth Clinic, Salisbury, Southern Rhodesia.
- Flora Bonthron, Mrs. Lawson, Honorary Vice-President and Chairman of the Managing Committee of "The Good Companions", Calcutta, India.
- William Patrick Leary, Esq., President, Talbragar Shire Council, State of New South Wales. For services during the floods.
- Clarence George Lewis, Esq., M.S.M., Group Secretary of the Branch in the State of South Australia of the Royal Institute of Public Administration.
- Thelma Constance, Mrs. Metcalfe. For social welfare services in the State of New South Wales.
- George Charles Nankivell, Esq., J.P., of Queenstown, State of Tasmania. For municipal and social welfare services.
- The Reverend Frank Leslie OLIVER, Chaplain, Port of Melbourne, State of Victoria.
- Rupert Ripley SHEPPY, Esq., a Land Development Officer, Native Affairs Department, Southern Rhodesia.
- Joan Lucy, Mrs. STOKOE, President of the Delhi Branch, Young Women's Christian Association, and Chairman of the Delhi Area Benevolent Fund, India.