Joanna Ravenscroft, Mrs. SPICER, Head of Programme Planning, Television Service, British Broadcasting Corporation.

Reginald STACEY, Esq., Principal, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

William Joe Stern, Esq., Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence. Clifford William Stevens, Esq. For political

and public services in Portsmouth.

George Alexander Stevens, Esq., Honorary Secretary, Post Office Fellowship of Remembrance.

Charles STEWART, Esq., Principal Inspector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.

Albert Leonard Story, Esq., Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Air Ministry.

John Terence Sutton, Esq., Higher Water-guard Superintendent, Board of Customs and Excise.

Herbert Thomas Symons, Esq., Chairman, Bournemouth War Pensions Committee.

Alderman Miss Ellen Maud Thornton. public services in Eastbourne.

John Thomas Tomblin, Esq., Superintendent, Planning Trials Division, Atomic Weapons Research Establishment, Aldermaston.

Lionel Peter Twiss, Esq., D.S.C., Chief Test Pilot, Fairey Aviation Company, Ltd.

Claude Anderson George Wallis, Esq., Principal, Colonial Office.

Ernest Victor Walshe, Esq., Town Planning Officer, Belfast Corporation.

Sidney Francis WARD, Esq., Chief Executive Officer, Ministry of Works.

Wyndham Evelyn Holmes WATKINS, Esq., Consulting Engineer and Architect, South Wales.

Ronald Wentworth, Esq., Principal, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Walter Westin, Esq., Grade 2 Officer, Ministry of Labour and National Service.

WESTON, Esq., Technical Director, Gordon British Standards Institution.

Edward Whitworth, Esq., Deputy Research Manager, Imperial Chemical Industries, Ltd. (Nobel Division), Ardeer.

Richard Hilditch WILLIAMS, Esq., Senior Railway Employment Inspector, Ministry of Transport and Civil Aviation.

Thomas Hamilton WILSON, Esq., Secretary, Herring Industry Board.

Victor Henry WILTON, Esq., Assistant Director of Aircraft Production, Ministry of Supply.

Harry Charles Wood, Esq., Chairman, Deeside and District Savings Committee.

William Wood, Esq., M.B., B.S., Head of Virus Research Unit, Glaxo Laboratories, Ltd.

he Reverend Canon Howard Frank WOOLNOUGH, Wing Chaplain, Manchester The Wing, and Chairman, Chaplains' Committee, Air Training Corps.

Arthur WRAGG, Esq., Manager, Shell Department, and Chief Metallurgist, Vickers-Armstrongs (Engineers), Ltd., Newcastle-on-

Sydney James Wrigglesworth, Esq., Director and General Manager, Oldham and Sons, Ltd., Denton, Manchester.

Joseph Gilbert YARDLEY, Esq., M.B.E., Secretary, Bath and West and Southern Counties Society.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Miss Margaret Allan, Honorary Secretary, Stonehaven (Kincardine) Savings Group.

Miss Doris Nellie Allen, Executive Officer, Office of the Crown Estate Commissioners, (now Executive Officer, National Assistance Board).

Sidney Allman, Esq., Area Chief Mechanical Engineer, West Midlands Division, National Coal Board.

Evelyn Richardson, Mrs. Anderson, Honorary Secretary, Glasgow Tree Lovers' Society.

Ruby Lilian, Mrs. Anderson, J.P., Centre Organiser. Luton, Women's Voluntary Services.

Harold Bradley Andrews, Esq., Assistant Regional Manager, Eastern Region, War Damage Commission and Central Land

John William Ansell, Esq., Chief Clerk, Telephone Manager's Office, Leeds, General Post Office.

Thomas Henry ARNOLD, Esq., Deputy Controller of Research, Hadfields, Ltd.

Walter Provan Arrol, Esq., Grade 3 Officer, Ministry of Labour and National Service.

Alec William Astling, Esq., Higher Executive Officer, Ministry of Transport and Civil Aviation

Raymond John Ayers, Esq., Assistant County Surveyor, Devon County Council.

Arthur Hedley Bantham, Esq., Light Spring Shop Manager, John Spencer and Sons (1928), Ltd., Newburn, Northumberland.
William Wilfrid Barber, Esq. For political

services in Pontefract.

Henry Charles Barham, Esq., Executive Officer, War Office.

Lewis James Barrell, Esq., Honorary Secretary, Colchester Savings Committee

Alderman Thomas Henry Bate, Chairman, Chester District Committee, Cheshire Agricultural Executive Committee.

Arthur Hurle Bathard, Esq., Experimental Officer, Rodent Research Branch, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Alderman Thomas BATTERSBY, J.P., National Officer (Retail Meat Trade and Slaughterhouse Industry), Union of Shop, Distributive

and Allied Workers.
Philip Edwin BAYLEY, Esq., Second Clerk, Judicial Committee of the Privy Council.

George Reginald BEAN, Esq., lately Chief Clerk, York District Probate Registry, Supreme Court of Judicature.

Bernard Thomas BEAUMONT, Esq., Area Commissioner and County Secretary, Kent, St. John Ambulance Brigade.

Frederick Henry Bennett, Esq., Higher Executive Officer, Commonwealth Relations Office.

Arthur Howard Bevan, Esq., Telecommunications Traffic Superintendent, Cardiff, General Post Office.

Miss Elsie BICKLEY, Headmistress, Sherwood County Primary School, Warsop, Nottinghamshire.

Frederic Arthur BIRD, Esq., Senior Executive Officer, Ministry of Housing and Local Government.

Sidney Black, Esq., Coal and Products Officer, Northern Gas Board.

Alfred Blamire, Esq., Chairman, Newton-le-Willows Unit, Sea Cadet Corps, Lancashire.