Chief Bathoen Seeapitso Gaseitsiwe, O.B.E. of the Bangwaketse Tribe, Bechuanaland Protectorate, Chairman of the African Advisory Council for the Protectorate.

Charles Henry Hand, Esq. For public ser-

vices in the State of Tasmania.

Gilbert Sherman MoDonald, Esq., O.B.E., Deputy Director of Education, State of South Australia.

Robert Jackson Noble, Esq., Under-Secretary and Permanent Head of the Department of Agriculture, State of New South Wales.

Stanley Mortimer Pechey, Esq., Southern Rhodesia representative on the Governing Board of the Rhodesian Iron and Steel Company.

Councillor William Ernest Roff, of Ballaarat,

State of Victoria.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:-

Frederick BARRETT, Esq., M.B.E., Under-Secretary, Ministry of Transport and Works, Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasa-

Thomas James Biggs, Esq., M.B., Ch.M., Vice-Chairman of the Board of Management, and Senior Physician, Mater Misericordiae Hospital, Sydney, State of New South Wales. John Brown, Esq. For municipal services in

the State of New South Wales.

The Reverend James Maxwell Burton, a missionary in Basutoland. For services to African Education.

Lieutenant-Colonel George Griffith Ffloyd For social welfare services in CHOMLEY. the Marandellas/Wedza District, Southern Rhodesia.

The Honourable John Alexander FERGUSON, formerly a Member of the Industrial Commission in the State of New South Wales. For public services.

Noel Gerald Carleton GANE, Esq., F.R.C.S., Ed., a Consultant Surgeon, of Salisbury, in the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland.

Anne Blanche Alice, Mrs. Gordon, M.B.E. For honorary services rendered under the auspices of organisations for the care of the Blind and Physically Handicapped in the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland.

Robert Joseph Hawkes, Esq., Chairman of the Ambulance Transport Service Board, State of New South Wales.

Peter Hughes, Esq., District Commissioner, Maseru, Basutoland.

Acting Chief Constructor-Captain Leonard Kirkpatrick, Royal Corps of Naval Constructors, detached for loan service to the Indian Navy.

Edward Acton LLOYD, Esq., Chief Commissioner of the Boy Scouts' Organisation in the State of New South Wales.

John Arthur King Martyn, Esq., Headmaster of the Doon School, Dehra Dun, India.

tto Mastbaum, Esq., Malaria Officer, Swaziland Medical Service. Medical

Donald McLennan, Esq., J.P., of Scottsdale, State of Tasmania. For public services.

Miss Jean Eileen MUNTZ, President of the Royal College of Nursing in the State of Victoria.

John Francis Chalmers PARK, Esq., Musical Director of the Bulawayo Municipal Orchestra, Southern Rhodesia.

Julia. Mrs. RAPKE, Special Magistrate, Children's Courts, State of Victoria.

Alderman Walter Frederick RIDDIFORD, Mayor of the City of Broken Hill, State of New South Wales.

Councillor Robert Monteith ROLLAND, Sale Town Council, State of Victoria.

The Reverend Gordon Rowe, President of the Methodist Conference, State of South Australia. For social welfare services, of South particularly to Aborigines.

Collings STEPHENS, Tom Esq., formerly Garden Suburb Commissioner, State of

South Australia.

Sidney Bruce WILLIAMS, Esq., I.S.O., Administrative Officer, Swaziland.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:-

Wallace Donald Badenhorst, Esq., a member of the Victoria Central Intensive Conservation Area Committee, Southern Rhodesia.

Gladys Vivienne Liscarton, Mrs. BARLOW. For voluntary services on behalf of lepers at the Mtoko Settlement and patients at the Chindamora Sanatorium, Southern Rhodesia.

Herbert George Beard, Esq., T.D. For services to the United Kingdom community in Karachi and Rawalpindi.

Alfred James Beeby, Esq., Assistant Treasurer,

Bechuanaland Protectorate.

Alice Dorothy Chadwick, Mrs. Bell, Vice-President of the Borradaile Trust, Marandellas, Southern Rhodesia.

George Thomas Bell, Esq., a member of the

Committee of Management, Ararat and District Hospital, State of Victoria.

Leonard Stanley BLEASE, Esq., President of the Brunswick Swimming Club, State of Victoria.

Jeannie Marr, Mrs. Boggie. For charitable and social welfare services in the Gwelo District, Southern Rhodesia.

Miss Annie DANKS. For social welfare services in the State of Victoria.

Ohief Mhau Dhlamini, of Swaziland; for services to the Administration.

John Gregory Dore, Esq., formerly a member of the Berwick Shire Council, State of Victoria.

Joyce Helen, Mrs. Galloway, Chairman of the Committee of the Fendall Home, Calcutta,

Robert Eric GARMANY, Esq., Chief Administrative Assistant, Local Government and Housing Department, Southern Rhodesia.

Fleetwood Stringfellow HARDING, For social welfare services, particularly in connection with young people's organisations, in the Federation of Rhodesia and Nyasaland.

Olive Dagmar, Mrs. Kersley, of Bulawayo, Southern Rhodesia; for voluntary service to the care and training of the Blind.

Miss Alma Grace Luckie, formerly Matron of the Chest Hospital, State of Tasmania.

Lars Henry Madsen, Esq., an aeronautical engineer, and a representative in India of Messrs. Rolls Royce.

Ruth Audrey, Mrs. Morris. For services to the United Kingdom community in Madras, India.

Pastor Douglas Nicholls, of Fitzroy, State of Victoria. For services to the Aboriginal people.