Major Albert Victor Franklin, T.D., Divisional Veterinary Officer, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Lindley Macnaghten Fraser, Esq., Head of German Service, British Broadcasting Cor-

Herman Robert Frederick, Esq., M.B., Ch.B., General Medical Practitioner, Port Talbot.

John Allen Freeman, Esq., Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Ernest David FRYER, Esq., M.B.E., Chief Executive Officer, Ministry of Transport and Civil Aviation.

Major Austin GARDNER, M.C., Chairman of Directors, Seasalter and Ham Oyster Fishery Company, Ltd., Whitstable, Kent.

John Keble Garland, Esq., Senior Chief Executive Officer, Air Ministry.

Vernon GARNER, Esq., Principal Scientific Officer, Rothamsted Experimental Station, Harpenden.

John Boyd Getty, Esq. Lately Chairman, Agricultural Wages Board for Northern Ireland.

William Henry Good, Esq. For political and public services in Kingston-on-Hull.

Miss Bertha Mary Grainger, M.B.E., Principal, Ministry of Labour and National Service.

Philip Alderman Morris GREENGROSS, Chairman, Holborn Savings Committee.

William Graham Greig, Esq., J.P. For political and public services in Glasgow.

Joseph Gordon GRIMSHAW, Esq., Regional Controller, North Western Region, National Assistance Board.

Charles Barnard GROVES, Esq., Conductor, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra.

Leonard Arthur HACKETT, Esq., J.P., General Secretary, National Association of Alms-

John Robertson Campbell Hamilton, Esq. Inspector of Ancient Monuments, Ministry of Works.

Alfred Edmund HANCOCK, Esq., Chief Executive Officer, Ministry of Pensions and National Insurance.

Philip Llewellyn Handley, Esq. Lately Chair-Warwickshire Rural Community Council.

Reginald Hargreaves HARRIS, Esq. services to sport as a racing cyclist.

Douglas Neill HARRISON, Esq., Principal Scientific Officer, Meteorological Office, Air Ministry.

Herbert Wesley HART, Esq., M.B.E., Chief Executive Officer, Commonwealth Relations

Gertrude, Mrs. HASELL. For political and public services in Cumberland.

John Hatton, Esq., Chairman, Bath Disablement Advisory Committee.

Harold Charles HAWKINS, Esq., Principal, Air Ministry.

Lionel HAWORTH, Esq., Chief Designer, Civil Engines, Rolls Royce, Ltd., Derby.

Alderman Sidney Charles HAYNE. For political and public services in Luton.

Wilfred Horsfall, Esq., Principal, George Horsfall and Son, Liversedge.

William Llewellyn Howell, Esq., Secretary, Welsh Tourist Board.

William Edward Hudson, Esq., Chief Regional Engineer, Home Counties Region, General Post Office.

David Salmon Schuster HUTTON, Esq., Statistician, Ministry of Education.

Charles Arthur Le Mesurier Inving, Esq., Principal, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Wing-Commander Fred Fisher JAMES. political services in Southampton.

Miss Gertrude Hope JAMES, Headmistress, St.

Frideswide's Modern School, Didcot.
Francis Joseph Jenkinson, Esq., Chairman,
Kesteven, Lincolnshire County Council.

Miss Margaret Florence Jobson, J.P., Member, Scottish Advisory Council on Child Care.

David John Columbus Jones, Esq., Grassland Husbandry Advisory Officer, Grade I, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Alexander Dickinson Jones, Esq., Officer, Principal Information **Export** Credits Guarantee Department.

Thomas Rees Jones, Esq., Secretary, Staff National Side, Civil Service Council.

Sidney KAYE, Esq. For services to the Home Office.

Archibald Henry William KIMBERLIN, Esq., Chairman, Leicester District Advisory Committee, North Midland Regional Board for Industry.

KING, Esq., Representative, Arthur Henry British Council, Pakistan.

Ronald Collingburn KNIGHT, Esq., Ser Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry

Harry Kroll, Esq., Chief Executive Officer, Civil Service Commission.

Cyril Charles Ings LAMBERT, Esq., M.B. Chief Executive Officer, Board of Trade. M.B.E.,

Wing-Commander Reginald Charles LAWES, Overseas Liaison Officer, Inter-Senior national Aeradio, Ltd.

Gertrude, Mrs. Leeson, M.B.E., Chairman, Birkenhead, Wallasey, Wirral and District War Pensions Committee.

Helen, Mrs. Lessore, Director, Beaux Arts Gallery, London.

Unity Viola, Mrs. LISTER. For political and public services in London.

Alderman Walter David LITTLE, Chairman, Brook Green and Walham Green Local Employment Committee.

Thomas ALWYN LLOYD, Esq., J.P., Architect and Planning Consultant. Chairman, Council for the Preservation of Rural Wales.

Kenneth La Trobe LOCKSTONE, Esq. For political and public services.

Frederick Cyril Jeffrey LOFTING, Esq., Senior Inspector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.

Joseph Neville Macfarlane, Esq., Chief Accountant, Ministry of Power.

Donald Mackechnie, Esq., Headmaster, Inver-aray Grammar Junior Secondary School.

Angus MacLeod, Esq., County Surveyor, Perth and Kinross Joint County Council.

Alfred Neill MacMahon, Esq., Principal

Principal Officer, Ministry of Agriculture, Northern Ireland.

Lonsdale McMillan, Esq., Water Brian Engineer and Manager, Wolverhampton Corporation.

Thomas Mahood, Esq, M.B.E., Chairman, County Down Savings Committee.