John James VOYCE, Esq., J.P., Headmaster, Silver Jubilee Secondary Modern Boys' School, Bedford.

William George Wadmore, Esq., Waterguard Superintendent, Belfast, Board of Customs and Excise.

John William WALKER, Esq., M.B.E., Chief Executive Officer, Air Ministry.

William Fulton Walker, Esq., M.B.E., Chairman, Argyll, Renfrew and Bute War Pensions Committee.

The Honourable Pamela Frances WALPOLE, M.B.E., Member, National Savings Assembly, representing Norwich and North-East Norfolk.

Percival Henry Watson, Esq., Assistant Director (Engineer), Aircraft Design Requirements, Ministry of Aviation.

George WATTS, Esq., Secretary, Oxford Regional Hospital Board.

Miss Ruth Maybell Webster, M.V.O., Censorship Clerk, Lord Chamberlain's Office.

James Edward WHITTAKER, Esq., Area Manager, North of Scotland Hydro-Electric Board, Aberdeen.

Ernest Thomas WILKINS, Esq., Principal Scientific Officer, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research.

Ashley Egerton Wilmot Williams, Esq., Grade 1 Conference Officer, Foreign Office.

Harold Sandys WILLIAMSON, Esq., lately Headmaster, Chelsea School of Art.

Andrew Wilson, Esq., Principal Executive Officer, lately Regional Director (North Western Region), Ministry of Power.

Norman Alexander Bruce Wilson, Esq., Senior Principal Psychologist, Admiralty.

Miss Sybil Douglas WINGATE, Principal, Board of Trade.

Frederick Reginald WINN, Esq., Chief Executive Officer, Board of Customs and Excise.

Harry Francis Wood, Esq., M.B.E., J.P., Chairman, Stoke-on-Trent Savings Committee.

Miss Helen Marguerite Muir-Wood, Deputy Keeper of Palaeontology, British Museum (Natural History).

William Henry Woods, Esq., M.B.E., Firemaster, North-Eastern Area of Scotland Fire Brigade.

Charles Ernest Wooland, Esq., Chief Executive Officer, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Alfred Godfrey Wright, Esq., Chairman, Flood Protection Committee, Great Ouse River Board.

John Parker Young, Esq., Divisional Manager, Scottish Division, British Road Services.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Stanley Gervase ABERDEIN, Esq., lately Commercial Manager, North Thames Gas Board. Miss Winifred Lilian ADAMS, Inspector, Blind Welfare, Ministry of Health.

Arthur George Akers, Esq., Area Secretary, Road Haulage Association, West of England.

Walter Stoddart ALEXANDER, Esq., Chairman, Glasgow North National Assistance Appeal Tribunal.

John David Allan, Esq., lately Area Technical Adviser on Meat Inspection, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Alaric Allen, Esq., Chief Development Engineer, Cossor Radar and Electronics, Ltd., Harlow, Essex. The Honourable Ada Mary Ammon, District Commissioner, National Savings Committee.

George Heath Anderson, Esq., Senior Executive Officer, War Office.

John Anderson, Esq., Engineer, Cheshire River Board.

Isabel Georgina Florence, Mrs. Andrew. For political and public services in Northampton.

Arthur Bertie APPERLY, Esq., Higher Executive Officer, Yorkshire Traffic Area, Ministry of Transport.

Bertram Richard Arkwright, Esq., Senior Assistant Land Commissioner, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Arthur William Aspital, Esq., Higher Executive Officer, Department of Prints and Drawings, British Museum.

Henry William Atkinson, Esq., Senior Executive Officer, National Physical Laboratory, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research.

William ATKINSON, Esq., D.C.M., M.M., B.E.M., Electrical Engineer, War Office.

Ronald ATWELL, Esq., Higher Executive Officer, Home Office.

Annie Dorothy, Mrs. Austin. For political and public services in Derbyshire.

James Baillie, Esq., General Secretary, Ice Cream Alliance.

Albert Vincent BANNISTER, Esq., Senior Vehicle Examiner, Metropolitan Traffic Area, Ministry of Transport.

Raymond Kingsley Barlow, Esq., Chief Officer, Bootle Fire Brigade.

George Sweeney BARRY, Esq., Secretary, London Provision Exchange, Ltd.

Everest Leslie Bell, Esq., Tariffs Regulations Superintendent, British European Airways.

John Bell, Esq., Area Organiser, No. 2 Area, (North Eastern District), United Patternmakers' Association.

Noel Berryman, Esq., Chief National Savings Liaison Officer for the Electricity Supply Industry.

George Betts, Esq., Works Director, Blount and Company Ltd., Belper, Derbyshire.

Frederic Lionel Billows, Esq., Education Officer, British Council, Madras, India.

Miss Mary Gertrude BIRD, Headmistress, St. Hilda's Approved School, Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

Miss Agnes Bonnington, Grade 4 Officer, Ministry of Labour.

Frederick James Bosworth, Esq., Member, Essex Agricultural Executive Committee.

Francis James BOULD, Esq., Design Organiser, Television, British Broadcasting Corporation. David Arthian BOWEN, Esq., Chief Superinten-

David Arthian Bowen, Esq., Chief Superintendent, Metropolitan Police Force.

Joseph Herbert Brooks, Esq., T.D., Superintendent of Engineering Workshops, University of Cambridge.

Edward Brown, Esq., Chief Photographer, Air Ministry.

Sidney Riley Brown, Esq., Signals Officer, Ministry of Aviation.

Ernest Browning, Esq., Senior Experimental Officer, British Museum (Natural History).

Miss Nellie Kate Simpson Bruce, lately Teacher, North Primary School, Wick.

William Bulloch, Esq., J.P., Works Director, Cruikshank and Company, Ltd., Denny, Stirlingshire.

William Walter Bunnage, Esq., Executive Officer, Ministry of Works.