

The London Gazette

Published by Authority

Registered as a Newspaper

For Contents see last page

FRIDAY, 21st JULY 1961

STATE INTELLIGENCE

Buckingham Palace, ·

12th July 1961

This day had Audience of The QUEEN:

His Excellency Monsieur Joachim Ayi Hunlede, to present his Letters of Credence as Ambassador Extra-Togo.

HONOURS AND AWARDS

ADMIRALTY

Whitehall, London S.W.1.

21st July 1961.

The Queen has been graciously pleased to approve the following awards of the Polar Medal for good services as members of the Royal Society Antarctic Expedition for the International Geophysical Year.

Polar Medal

Varrant Officer II Alfred Amphlett, B (5251180), R.E.M.E., Senior Diesel Engineer. Amphlett, B.E.M.

Leslie William Barclay, Member of Ionospheric Group.

William Henry Bellchambers, Leader of Ionospheric Group.

Sergeant Ivor Christopher Beney (22525613), R.E., Diesel Engineer.

Andrew Blackie, Meteorologist.

Philip Michael Brenan, Astronomer.

Flight Lieutenant Bertram Kier Brooker R.A.F. Medical Officer.

James Michael Crowther Burton, Meteorologist.

David Lawrence Morton Cansfield, Member of Ionospheric Group.

Leonard Constantine, Assistant Cook.

Henry Edward George Dyer, Senior Wireless Operator.

Sergeant Malcolm John Edwards (23175674), A.C.C., Senior Cook.

Bernard Godfrey Ellis, Meteorologist.

Sergeant Edward John Gane. R.A.F., Senior Wireless Mechanic.

David Pratt Harrison, Astronomer.

Joseph MacDowall, O.B.E., Leader and Meteorologist. John Appleton Smith, Meteorologist. Dr. Gwynne Meyler Thomas, Auroral Physicist.

David Thomas Tribble, Meteorologist.

Derek George Ward, Meteorologist.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the advice of Her Majesty's Australian Ministers, to approve the following awards:

For good service with the Australian National Antarctic Research Expedition to Mawson 1956:

Polar Medal

Squadron Leader Douglas Walter Leckie, O.B.E., A.F.C., R.A.A.F., Pilot, Mawson.

For good services as members of the Australian National Antarctic Research Expedition to Mawsom and Davis, 1958:

Polar Medal (Posthumous)

Flight Lieutenant Hugh Overend Wilson, R.A.A.F., Pilot, Mawson.

Second Clasp to the Polar Medal Peter Wylie King, Radio Officer, Mawson.

Clasp to the Polar Medal

Reginald Arnel, Geophysical Assistant, Royston

Mawson. Frederick Winton Elliott, Weather Observer, Davis and Mawson.

Lionel George Gardner, Diesel Mechanic, Davis.

Polar Medal

Ian Leonard Adams, Officer-in-Charge, Mawson.
James Blair, Senior Diesel Mechanic, Mawson.
John Roger Blake, Auroral Physicist, Mawson.
Alfons Bolza, Weather Observer, Mawson.
Raymond Alexander Borland, Meteorologist, Mawson.
Duncan Alexander Brown, Radio Operator, Mawson.
Eric John Burnett, Physicist, Mawson.
Dr. James Edward Gray Channon, Medical Officer,
Mawson.

Mawson.

Philip Kenyon Chapman, Auroral Physicist, Mawson.

Bruce Graydon Cook, Geophysicist, Mawson. Sergeant Graham Kent Downer, R.A.A.F., Electrical

Sergeant Graham Kent Downer, R.A.A.F., Electrical Fitter, Mawson.
Corporal Desmond John Evans, R.A.E.M.E., Diesel Mechanic, Mawson.
Henri Jean-Louis Fischer, Cook, Mawson.
Maxwell John Flutter, Weather Observer, Davis and

Hawson.

Flight Lieutenant (then Acting Squadron Leader) Ivan
Laurence Grove, R.A.A.F., Pilot, Mawson.

Eric Edwin Jesson, Seismic Geophysicist, Mawson.

Graham Alexander Knuckey, Surveyor, Mawson.

Ian Roderick McLeod, Geologist, Mawson.

Sergeant Ossie Maguire, R.A.A.F., Radio Technician,

Davie and Mawson.

Davis and Mawson. Sergeant Stuart Aubrey Manning, R.A.A.F., Air Frame Fitter, Mawson. Robert Eric Thomas Oldfield, Radio Officer, Mawson.