The Minister of Power, in pursuance of the powers conferred upon him by the Gas Act, 1948, and the Regulations made thereunder, has appointed the following to be part-time members of Area Gas Boards constituted under the said Act:

The Lord Fisher, D.S.C., Eastern.

Dr. H. S. Hirst, M.A., B.Sc., South Western.

PETROLEUM (PRODUCTION) ACT, 1934

In pursuance of section 2 (3) of the Petroleum (Pro-duction) Act, 1934, the Minister of Power hereby gives notice that in accordance with the provisions of that Act and of the Petroleum (Production) Regula-tions, 1935, as amended he has granted to BP Exploration Company Limited, Britannic House, Finsbury Circus, London E.C.2, nine prospecting licences, of which details of the boundaries, described from $2\frac{1}{2}$ " Ordnance Survey Maps, are given in the Schedule below. Schedule below.

Maps showing the boundaries of the areas may be inspected on application to the Ministry of Power, Petroleum Division, Thames House South, Millbank, London S.W.1.

SCHEDULE

An area of approximately 162 square miles in the Counties of Gloucester, Worcester, Warwick and Oxford

Northern boundary. From Banbury northwest along the main road via Wroxton and Ettington to Clopton Bridge at Stratford on Avon.

Western boundary. From Stratford on Avon south-west via Springfield Cottages, Clifford Chambers and Lower Clopton to the railway southwest of Mickleton thence southeast following the railway to Moreton in Marsh and on to the main road junction there.

Southern boundary. From Moreton in Marsh by main road to Kitebrook Farm, Barton on the Heath, Hirons Hovel and Long Compton to the cross roads at Over Norton Park and Chapel House.

Eastern boundary. From the cross-roads north-east via South Newington, Bloxham and Wykham Mill to Banbury.

An area of approximately 197 square miles in the Counties of Oxford, Northampton and Warwick Northern boundary. From the Badby Road junction

about one mile south of Daventry westwards along the main road via Southam, Ufton and Learnington to Warwick.

Western boundary. From Warwick along the main road to Stratford on Avon.

Southern boundary. From Stratford on Avon south-east along the main road via Ettington, Pillerton Priors and Wroxton to Banbury.

Eastern boundary. From Banbury north-east via Williamscot Hill, Wardington, Chipping Warden, Byfield and Charwelton to the Badby Road junction about one mile south of Daventry.

An area of approximately 185 square miles in the Counties of Warwick and Northampton Northern boundary. From Welton station north-west through Rugby and along the railway via Walton's Bridge and Shilton to Nuneaton railway station.

Western boundary. From Nuneaton railway station south along the main road via Coventry and Kenilworth to the main road junction south of the station at Warwick.

Southern boundary. From Warwick eastwards through Learnington, Ufton, Southam and Staverton to the Badby Road junction about one mile south of Daventry.

Eastern boundary. From the Badby Road junction through Daventry and thence via Whilton Road, Welton Road and Crockwell Hill to Welton station.

An area of approximately 190 square miles in the Counties of Warwick, Leicester and Northampton Northern boundary. From the railway bridge near the Agricultural Hostel at Market Harborough along the railway westwards to road crossing at Husband's Bosworth thence along the road to Bosworth Lodge, Knaptoft Cottage to the road junction at John Ball Hill thence via Shearsby Spa, Bruntingthorpe, Peatling Parva, Willows Farm, Ashby Magna, Dunton Bassett, Broughton Astley, Stoney Stanton, Elmesthorpe station and Hinckley to Nuneaton.

Western and Southern boundaries. From Nuneaton along the L.M.S. railway via Shilton and Rugby to Welton station.

Eastern boundary. From Welton station north-east via Watford, West Haddon, Cold Ashby, Naseby, Clipston and East Farndon to starting point at Market Harborough.

An area of approximately 187 square miles in the County of Leicester Western boundary. From the road junction about one mile north-east of Syston south-west through Syston, Thurmaston, Leicester to the railway at Langham Bridge Farm thence along the railway to Croft and Elmesthorpe station.

Southern boundary. From Elmesthorpe along Elmesthorpe Road to Stoney Stanton thence to Broughton Astley, Dunton Bassett, Ashby Magna, Peatling Parva and Bruntingthorpe to the road junction north-east of Shearsby Spa thence south to the railway at Husband's Bosworth and east along the railway to Market Harborough.

Eastern boundary. From Market Harborough north-west along the railway via Great Bowden, Hallaton to near John O'Gaunt Fox Covert where it crosses the L.N.E. railway and follows the road through Queni-borough to the junction with Melton Road about one mile north-rest of Surfor mile north-east of Syston.

An area of approximately 190 square miles in the Counties of Leicester, Northampton and Rutland Northern boundary. From near the Statior Hospital in Stamford along the main road via Sidne. Farm, Empingham and Barnsdale Lodge, thence by Barndale Hill through Oakham, Barleythorpe and Langham to the county boundary thence by The Lakes and Ranks-borough Hill to Knossington and Owston to the railway crossing near Red Lodge Farm.

Western boundary. Along the railway via Tilton, Loddington, Hallaton to Market Harborough.

Southern boundary. From Market Harborough along the railway via Little Bowden, Desborough, Rushton, Kettering and Cranford St. John to Thrapston.

Eastern boundary. From Thrapston by road via Woolpack PH, Manor House, Old Mill Bridge, Lowick, Sudborough, Brigstock, Ironpits Wood and Stamion Lane to Corby thence along the railway to Gretton, Harringworth and Luffenham to Stamford.

An area of approximately 182 square miles in the Counties of Rutland, Northampton and Huntingdon Northern boundary. From Marholm Crossing about four miles north-west of Peterborough along the railway to Stamford.

Western boundary. From Stamford continuing along the railway to Luffenham, Morcott and Gretton to Corby thence south-east along the road to Stanion, Brigstock and Lowick to Thrapston.

Eastern boundary. From Thrapston along the road to Thorpe Waterville, Barnwell station, Oundle and eastwards to Ashton, Lutton and Washingley Hall to Stilton thence northwards along the road to Norman Cross and the sites of Roman Pottery Ruins across the railway to Castor and Marholm and on to Marholm Crossing

An area of approximately 185 square miles in the County of Northampton

Northern boundary. From the rail junction south of Thrapston along the railway via Cranford St. John, Kettering, Rushton Desborough to the station at Market Harborough.

Western boundary. From Market Harborough to the rail and road junction near the Agricultural Hostel thence by road through East Farndon, Clipston, Naseby, Cold Ashby, Thornby, Great Creaton, Spratton and Boughton Crossing to Northampton station.

Eastern boundary. From the station at Northampton by St. Peter's Bridge, Little Houghton station and along the railway to Wellingborough station thence by road through Little Irchester to Higham Ferrers and Irthlingborough station following the railway northwards to the rail junction south of Thrapston.

An area of approximately 194 square miles in the Counties of Northampton and Oxford Western boundary. From Cold Ashby along the road to West Haddon, Watford, Welton to Daventry station thence along the road to Badby, Charwelton, Byfield, Chipping Warden and Wardington to Barbury Banbury.

Southern boundary. From Banbury along the rail-way to Greathworth, Helmdon and Slapton to the station at Northampton.

•