To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

31325 Warrant Officer Class I John William Benge, Royal New Zealand Army Service Corps (Regular Force)

Major Jack Harvey (30270), Royal New Zealand Army Ordnance Corps (Regular Force).

(temporary) Edward Gale LATTER (208499), Royal New Zealand Infantry Corps (Territorial Force). Major Erl Travice

PLEASANTS, E.D., New Zealand Territorial Force (Retired List).

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London S.W.1.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the advice of Her Majesty's New Zealand Ministers, to give orders for the following appointments to the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire:

To be an Ordinary Officer of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Wing Commander John Percival Convers-Brown (70234), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Flight Lieutenant Rodney Greville Williams, D.F.C. (133421), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Warrant Officer James Arthur Moulynox (70456), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London S.W.1. The QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the advice of Her Majesty's New Zealand Ministers, to give orders for the following promotion in, and appointments to, the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire:

To be Ordinary Knights Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Andrew Linton, Esq., C.B.E., Chairman of the New Zealand Dairy Production and Marketing

The Honourable Sir Alfred Kingsley North, Q.C., President of the New Zealand Court of Appeal.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil. Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Reverend George Irvine Laurenson, General Superintendent of Home and Maori Missions in the Methodist Church.

Herbert Leslie Longbottom, Esq., of Dunedin. For services to industry and education.

William Henry NANKERVIS, Esq., J.P., Wellington. For services to local government. Ivor PRICHARD, Esq., Chief Judge of the Maori Land Court.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Harry Heaton Barker, Esq., Mayor of Gisborne. Arthur Walter CHRISTMAS, Esq., of Auckland. For services in the administration of Company Law.

Frederick William Coombs, Esq., President of the Palmerston North Returned Services Associa-

Allan Thomson Aorangi FISHER, Esq. services to the community and education, particularly as Chairman of the Southland Education Board.

Charles Alexander Fleming, Esq., of Wellington. Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Geological Department of Scientific and Industrial Research.

Rupert Selwyn Australia Graham, Esq., M.B., F.R.C.S., Ed., of Hamilton. For services to

Gilbert Alexander LAWRENCE, Esq., J.P., of Wellington. For services to science.

Te Rangiatahua Kiniwe ROYAL, Esq., M.C., of Rotorua. For services to the Maori people.

Edith Lamb, Mrs. WILSON, J.P., of Wellington. For services to the community.

Ivon Vernon WILSON, Esq. For services to the community, particularly as President of the Southland Progress League.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Norman Leon Bensemann, Esq., J.P., of Takaka. For services to local government.

Miss Mavis Elizabeth Byres, of Marton. For services to nursing.

Kathleen Emily, Mrs. Duxfield, of Horotiu. For services to the community, especially in connection with the New Zealand Red Cross Society.

Miss Alice Annie Greenslade, of Dunedin. For

philanthropic services.

Maata Te Hui Huinga, Mrs. HIRINI, of Hastings. For services to the community, particularly as Dominion President of the Maori Women's Welfare League.

William Robert HOPCROFT, Esq., J.P., of Palmerston North. For services to local government.

Arthur James Hartley Kirkham, Esq., J.P., of Gisborne. For services to local government.

Leonard Francis Walter LOVELL, Esq., J.P., of New Plymouth. For services to the community and local government.

Joan Stewart, Mrs. MacCormick. For services to the community, particularly as President of the Auckland Red Cross Society.

Maurice Henry McGlashen, Esq., of Nelson. For services to the community and local government.

Miss Mona Christina McIntyre, of Invercargill. For services to the community.

Isaac Grundy Mack, Esq., Mayor of Papakura. Roy Gordon Murdoch, Esq., J.P. For services to local government, especially as Chairman of the North Auckland Electric Power Board.

Ernest Ormrod, Esq., of Wellington. services in the field of music, especially as President of the New Zealand Brass Bands Association.

Miss Christobel Elizabeth Robinson, of Christchurch. For services to the community, especially as Secretary of the Canterbury Sheltered Workshop Association.

Miss Violet Augusta Roche, of Auckland. For services to the community, especially in connection with Dr. Barnado's Homes.

Nellie Winifred Bernice, Mrs. Schroder, of Marlborough. For services to the community, especially in connection with the Women's Division of Federated Farmers.