- Leonard Henry Ernest DORMAN, Esq., of North Balwyn, Victoria. General Manager, Australian Wheat Board.
- Arthur Noel FINLAY, Esq., M.C., of Greenwich, New South Wales. Assistant General Manager (General), Australian Broadcasting Commission.
- Miss Kathleen GORHAM (Mrs. B. MARROWS), of Melbourne, Victoria. For services to ballet.
- Duncan Percy HOOPER, Esq., of Mosmon, New South Wales. For services to journalism.
- Robert Burns HUTCHISON, Esq., Assistant Crown Solicitor, Attorney-General's Department.
- William Mathers JACK, Esq., of Crows Nest, New South Wales. For services to Parliament and to the community.
- Gertrude, Mrs. LANGER, President, Queensland Division, Arts Council of Australia.
- Hubert Anton LENNE, Esq., of Shepparton, Victoria. For services to the dairying industry.
- Charles Herbert LOCKE, Esq., of Point Piper, New South Wales. Chairman of the Outward Bound Memorial Foundation. For services to commerce and the community.
- Keith David Averill MEDBURY, Esq., Director of War Service Homes, Department of Housing.
- Reginald Rupert NEWLANDS, Esq., of Ashburton, Victoria. President of the Association of Professional Engineers, Australia.
- Ray Herbert Hastings NOBBS, Esq., District Coroner, Norfolk Island.
- Frederick John SPELLACY, Esq., of Leura, New South Wales. For services to the road transport industry.
- Herbert Hughson STUBBS, Esq., of Port Moresby. For charity and community services.
- Major Philip Venables VERNON, of Lindfield, New South Wales. For services to the community and as a military historian.
- Thomas Bruce Campbell WALKER, Esq., of Murringo, New South Wales. President, Australian Wool Growers' and Graziers' Council.
- Captain Alan WHARTON of Pymble, New South Wales. For services to civil aviation.
- Howard Arthur WILLS, Esq., of North Balwyn, Victoria. Chief Scientist, Department of Supply.
- Richard Struth WILSON Esq., of Gladstone, Queensland. For services to government and rural industry.

M.B.E.

- To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:
- Hazel Estelle, Mrs. de BERG, of Bellevue Hill, New South Wales. For services in assembling a valuable collection of archival material.
- Douglas Alan BOUCH, Esq., Assistant Director (Construction), Department of Works, South Australia.
- William Thomas BROWN, Esq., of Kieta, Bougainville. District Officer, Department of District Administration.
- Frances Lillian, Mrs. CAMERON, of Coonabarabran, New South Wales. For services to nursing.

- Ernest CAVANAGH, Esq., of Ginninderra, Australian Capital Territory. Chairman, Bush Fire Council.
- Miss Patricia Downes CHOMLEY, of Armidale, Victoria. For services to the administration of nursing.
- Edward William CLAYFIELD, Esq., of Penola, South Australia. For community services.
- Ernest Walter CORLESS, Esq., of East Kew. Victoria. Engineer, Class 4, Central Staff, Postmaster-General's Department.
- James Xavier COUTTS, Esq., of Leichhardt, New South Wales. For services to youth.
- Sister Mary DOROTHEA, of Ashfield, New South Wales, Principal of Our Lady of the Snow Chalet.
- Gerald Vincent Francis DOYLE, Esq., M.B., B.S., formerly Medical Officer, Cocos (Keeling) Islands.
- Maxwell Hardwick DUNSTONE, Esq., Engineer, Class 3, Engineering Division, Postmaster-General's Department, Tasmania.
- Beryl Gwendolyn, Mrs. FERRY, of Dee Why, New South Wales. For public services.
- Albert FINNEY, Esq., of Maitland, New South Wales. For services to ex-servicemen.
- John James FOLLAN, Esq., Engineer, Class 5, and Principal Naval Architect, Department of the Navy.
- Miss Jean Hazel GARSIDE, of Pennant Hills, New South Wales. For services to handicapped persons in the community.
- Venerable Archdeacon Clive Andrew GOODWIN, of Sydney, New South Wales. For services to the aged.
- Miss Eileen HEATH, Welfare Officer, Welfare Branch, Northern Territory Administration. Department of Territories.
- The Reverend William John JOHNSON, of Glenferrie, Victoria. For services to the community.
- Arthur Kenneth JONES, Esq. For services in the manufacture of prosthetic equipment for residents in the Territory of Papua and New Guinea.
- The Reverend Percy JONES, of Carlton, Victoria. For services to religion and music.
- LIWA KOLAU, of Madang. President of Ambenob Council
- The Reverend Lazarus LAMI LAMI, of Croker Island, Northern Territory. For services to the community.
- James LONG, Esq., J.P., of Dagun, Queensland. For services to the dairying industry.
- James Clayton MACCORMICK, Esq., Architect, Department of Works, Canberra.
- Miss Linda Carol McGILL, of Bondi, New South Wales. For her long distance swimming achievements.
- Arthur Maurice McMENAMIN, Esq., of Mentone, Victoria. Finance Officer, Central Staff, Department of Civil Aviation.
- Philip Henry O'KEEFE Esq., of Kew, Victoria. Member of the Transport Branch, Department of Shipping and Transport.
- George POLITES, Esq., of Cheltenham, Victoria. For services to industrial relations.