Mrs. Alice May Hallam, Non-Official Postmistress, Postmaster-General's Department, Polkemmet East, Victoria.

Miss Muriel Winifred Johnson, Typist, Australian Broadcasting Commission, Victoria. James Allan Keating, Mail Officer, Fourth Division,

Mail Exchange Branch, Postmaster-General's Department, New South Wales.

Harold Douglas Keelty, Senior Postal Officer Grade I, Fourth Division, Mail Exchange Branch, Proceedings of the Control of the C Postmaster-General's Department, Wales

Albert Ezekiel LEFFERS, Meat Inspector Grade II, Fourth Division, Veterinary Division, Department

of Primary Industry, Victoria.

Colin Frank Leggart, Supervising Technician (Telecommunications) Grade III, Fourth Division, Engineering, Postmaster-General's Department, New South Wales.

George William Lord, Clerk, Class 4, Third Division, Finance and Accounting Branch, Postmaster-General's Department, Victoria.

William James McCormick, Clerical Assistant, Grade IV, Fourth Division, War Service Homes Branch,

Department of Housing, New South Wales. Richard Noel Muir, Postal Clerk, Fourth Division, Postmaster-General's Department, Echuca, Victoria. Thomas Leslie OSBORNE, Clerk (Employment) Class

II, District Employment Offices Pool Section, Lismore, New South Wales.

Alfred Reeder, Exempt Meat Inspector, Grade I, Fourth Division, Veterinary Division, Department of Primary Industry, Victoria.

John Frank Robertson, Draftsman, Grade II, Fourth

Division, Postmaster-General's Department, Sydney,

New South Wales.

James Ward ROWBOTHAM, Overseer, Fourth Division, Transport Branch, Postmaster-General's Department, Perth, Western Australia.

Clifford Leman Seely, Postmaster, Grade I, Fourth Division, Postmaster-General's Department, How-

long, New South Wales.

William John Sharp, Clerical Assistant, Grade IV, Fourth Division, Mail Exchange Branch, Postmaster-General's Department, Queensland.

Anthony Skekos, Clerical Assistant, Grade IV, Fourth Division, Telecommunications Division, Fourth Division, Department, New South Postmaster-General's Department, New Wales

Donald Starr, Temporary Works Supervisor, Fourth Division, Department of Works, South Australia. William Charles Teasdale, Temporary Works Supervisor, Fourth Division, Department of Works, Queensland.

George Boyce WILLIAMSON, Technician (Telecom-

munications), Fourth Division, Postmaster-General's Department, Hay, New South Wales. ictor Tasman Young, Senior Telecommunications Technical Officer, Grade I, Fourth Division, Engineering Division, Postmaster-General's Department. Launceston, Tasmania.

HOME OFFICE

Whitehall, London S.W.1. 12th March 1971.

The Queen was pleased on Tuesday, 9th March 1971, at Buckingham Palace, to confer the honour of Knighthood upon:

Sir Denys Lionel Page, Regius Professor of Greek, University of Cambridge.

Sir Humphrey Povah Treverbian PRIDEAUX, O.B.E.

Sir William Clark RAMSAY, C.B.E.

[Her Majesty's approval of these Knighthoods was signified on 1st January 1971.]

PRIVY COUNCIL OFFICE

At the Court at Buckingham Palace, the 11th day of March 1971.

PRESENT

The QUEEN'S Most Excellent Majesty in Council. Sheriffs appointed by Her Majesty in Council for the year 1971—

ENGLAND

(except Cornwall and Lancashire)

Bedfordshire-Brian Stewart Porter, Esq., T.D., of Holme Lodge, Biggleswade.

Berkshire-Michael George Thomas Webster, Esq., of The Vale, Windsor Forest.

Buckinghamshire-Major Leslie Sydney Marier, O.B.E., T.D., of Bolebec House, Whitchurch.

Cambridgeshire and Isle of Ely-Colonel Douglas Robert Beaumont Kaye, D.S.O., of Brinkley Hall,

Cheshire—Joseph Charlton Taylor, Esq., T.D., of Fiddlestone Wood, Burton-in-Wirral.

Cumberland-William Steuart Trimble, Esq., of Green Lane, Dalston, Carlisle.

Derbyshire—George Kenning, Esq., D.F.C., T.D., of Longstone Hall, Great Longstone, Bakewell.

Devonshire-James Hubert Cornish-Bowden, Esq., of Black Hall, Avonwick, South Brent.

Dorset-Major Nigel Damer Martin, of Came House, Dorchester.

Durham-William Talbot Gray, Esq., of Egglestone Hall, Barnard Castle.

Essex-Allan James Vincent Arthur, Esq., M.B.E., of Southlands, Margaretting, Ingatestone

Gloucestershire—Major Geoffrey Thomas St. John Sanders, T.D., of Buckhorn House, Bisley, Stroud.

Greater London-William Woolf Harris, Esq., O.B.E., of 165 Bickenhall Mansions, Gloucester Place, W.1.

William -Major Warde-Aldam, Frickley Hall, Frickley, Doncaster.

Hampshire—Lieut.-Colonel Frank Worsfold McClenaghan, of Sladen Green, Binley, near Andover.

Herefordshire-Neston Dana Ord Capper, Esq., of Lower Hope, Ullingswick.

Hertfordshire-Lieut.-Colonel James Currie Thomson, M.B.E., T.D., of Aston Dene, near Stevenage.

Huntingdon and Peterborough—Richard Maynard Maris, Esq., of The Old Rectory, Alwalton, Peterborough.

Kent-Colonel Sir Derek Burdick Greenaway, Bt., T.D., of Dunmore, Four Elms, Edenbridge.

Leicestershire-Archibald Somerset Clowes, Esq., of Ashlands, Billesdon.

Lincolnshire-Major Roland Cecil Bellamy, T.D., of West Park, Barnoldby-le-Beck, near Grimsby.

Monmouthshire—Gwyn Rocyn Jones, Esq., of Woodcote House, Five Lanes, Caerwent, near Newport.

Norfolk-Eric Donald Mackintosh, Esq., C.B.E., of Brooke House, Brooke, Norwich.

Northamptonshire—Captain John Luke Lowther, of The Old House, Guilsborough, Northampton.

Northumberland-The Hon, Peregrine John Wishart Fairfax, of Mindrum.

Nottinghamshire—Lieut.-Commander Sir Michael Joseph Nall, Bt., of Hoveringham Hall, Nottingham.

Oxfordshire—Major-General Sir Randle Guy Feilden, K.C.V.O., C.B., C.B.E., of Old Manor House, Minster Lovell.

Rutland-John Giles Charles Gore Browne, Esq., of Cranford, Lyddington.

Shropshire-John Seymour Evan Rocke, Esq., of Clungunford House, Craven Arms.

Somersetshire—Henry William Furse Hoskyns, Esq., M.B.E., of 10 West Street, South Petherton.

Staffordshire—Richard Somers Angus Hardy, Esq., of Haselour Hall, Tamworth.

Suffolk-Sir Joshua Francis Rowley, Bt., of The Cottage, Stoke-by-Nayland.

Surrey-Philip Sydney Henman, Esq., of Home Farm, Coldharbour Lane, Dorking.

Sussex-John Richard Greenwood, Esq., of Stone Hall, Balcombe.

Warwickshire-Captain Sir William Dugdale, Bt., M.C., of Blyth Hall, Coleshill.

Westmorland—James Anthony Cropper, Esq., of Tolson Hall, Kendal.

Wiltshire-Major The Hon. James Ian Morrison, T.D., of Hawking Down, Hindon, Salisbury.

Worcestershire—Hugo Baldwin Huntington-Whiteley, Esq., of Ripple Hall, Tewkesbury.

Yorkshire—Brigadier Roderick Heathcoat-Amory, M.C., of Oswaldkirk Hall, York.