Edward Michael LAMBERT, lately Director, Employers' Federation of Papermakers and Boardmakers.

Keith Eric LAUDER, Town Clerk, London Borough of Barking. For services to the London Boroughs' Association.

Harry Heath LEEDALE, Controller of Surtax, Board of Inland Revenue.

William Morison LITTLE, Deputy Chairman and Managing Director, Scottish Transport Group.

Harry LOMAS, Chief Officer, Manchester Fire Brigade.

The Reverend Prebendary Donald MacLeod

LYNCH, Chief Secretary, Church Army. Ronald Henry Moray MAVOR, lately Director, Scottish Arts Council.

Bertram Desmond MISSELBROOK. For services to the Construction Industry.

John David Bawden MITCHELL, Salvesen Professor of European Institutions, University of Edinburgh.

The Honourable Nancy MITFORD, Writer. John MOORES. For charitable services to Youth and the Arts in Merseyside.

Jeremy Noah MORRIS, Professor of Public Health, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.

Angus Fraser MURRAY, lately Joint Secretary Investment Manager, Prudential Assurance Company Ltd.

John Nowell Linton MYRES, F.B.A. For ser-

vices to Archaeology and Bibliography. Percy Howard NEWBY, Director of Programmes, Radio, British Broadcasting Corporation.

Marshall NIXON, M.B.E., T.D., Engineer, Trent River Authority.

Professor Robert Kemsley ORR, Chairman, Scottish Opera.

Harry PARKINSON, D.L., Town Clerk, Birmingham City Council.

Abram Sydney Myers PEEL. For political and public services in Yorkshire.

Glyndwr PICTON, Vice-Chairman, Birmingham Regional Hospital Board.

Sydney PLAISTER. For political services in the Midlands.

David Hermon Andrew PRICE, Assistant Director (Chemical), Department of the Environ-

Llewelyn Ralph PRICE, Chairman, Honeywell Ltd. and Honeywell Information Systems. For services to Export.

Robert Guy PULVERTAFT, Director, Orthopaedic and Accident Services, Derbyshire Royal Infirmary.

hn Ross RAEBURN, Strathcona-Fordyce Professor of Agriculture, University of Aber-

Joseph Shepherd RICHARDSON. For services to local government in Blackpool.

Brian Lawson SALMON, Vice-Chairman, Board of Governors, Westminster Hospital Group.

Geoffrey William SEARLE, D.S.C., Chairman of the Executive Committee and Director of Finance and Planning, British Petroleum Trading Ltd. For services to Export.

John James BYAM SHAW, Art Historian.

Robert Wilson SHAW. For services to Rugby Football in Scotland.

Patience, Mrs. SHEARD, Alderman, Sheffield Council and Member, Clean Air City Council.

James Francis SHEARER, O.B.E., Member, Royal Ordnance Factories Board.

David Dury HINDLEY-SMITH, The General Dental Council. Registrar,

James Eric SMITH, Secretary, Marine Biological Association and Director, Plymouth Laboratory.

John Berriman SMITH, formerly Assistant Sec-retary, Department of Trade and Industry.

Edwin SOLOMON, Q.P.M., D.L., Chief Constable, West Midlands Constabulary.

Frederick John SPEIGHT. For services to the Passenger Vehicle Operators Association.

Derek Paul STEVENSON, Secretary, British Medical Association.

Arthur TILEY. For political and public services.

Alan Gordon WARD, O.B.E., Procter Professor of Food and Leather Science, University of

Bernard Spencer WHEBLE. For services to International Trade and Export.

Gerald Edward Leaman WHITMARSH. For public services in Devonshire.

Professor Gerald Percy WIBBERLEY.

For services to countryside planning

Professor Basil Selig YAMEY, Member, Monopolies Commission.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Robert Hopewell ADDLESEE, Director of Labour and Staff Relations, West Midlands Passenger Transport Executive.

Allen ALDINGTON, Vice Chairman, Pharmaceutical Group, Royal Society of Health.

Robert George ALEXANDER, President, Scottish Building Societies Association.

Arthur LLOYD-ALLEN, Alderman, Poole Borough Council.

John Wood ALLEN, Chairman, Westmorland Agricultural Executive Committee.

Ronald George ALLEN, Director of Research, Water Research Association.

Leonard ATHERTON, M.B.E., lately General Manager, Industrial Relations, British Overseas Airways Corporation.

Miss Elizabeth Joyce ATKINSON, Headmistress, Northgate Grammar School for Girls, Ipswich.

William John BAKER, President, National Federation of Anglers.

Miss Jessie Halliburton BECKETT, Education Officer, Central Midwives Board for Scotland. Norman BEEBY. For political and public services in the Midlands.

Richard Onslow BEESTON, Director of Education, Burnley County Borough.

Mary Laetitia, Mrs. BERNARD, Secretary, Yeomanry Benevolent Fund.

Noel BERRYMAN, M.B.E., Vice-Chairman, London Regional Industrial Savings Commit-

Joseph Lewis BLONSTEIN, Chairman, Amateur Boxing Association.

Alfred BROOKS, General Secretary, National

Union of Bank Employees.
George Johnstone BROWN, H.M. Inspector of Schools (Higher Grade), Scottish Education Department.

Lawrence James BRUCE, Principal Professional and Technology Officer, Department of the Environment.