Francis Rowlinson RATCLIFF, Chairman and Joint Managing Director, Ratcliffs (Great Bridge) Ltd. For services to Export.

Ernest RAYMOND, Author.
Andrew RENTON, Senior Partner, Renton, Howard, Wood Associates, Architects.

Stanley REYNOLDS, Chairman, Wrexham and District Employment Committee.

Robert Benjamin Leslie RIDGE, General Practitioner, Enfield, Middlesex.

Dorothy Lilian, Mrs. ROBERTS. For political services in the North of England.

Ernest Arthur ROBERTS, Nuclear Submarine Support Manager, Vickers Shipbuilding Group

Alpheus John ROBOTHAM, D.L., Chairman, Derby National Insurance Local Tribunal. George Rendle ROLSTON. For services to the

community in Haslemere, Surrey.

The Reverend Peter ROTH, Principal, Camphill Village Trust, Botton, Yorkshire.

Alexander Buchanan RUSSELL, Rector, Kelso High School, Roxburghshire.

Percy Edward RUSSELL, Principal Probation Officer, Hampshire Probation and After-Care Service.

Denis Hubert Geoffrey SALT. For services to the Scout Association in Shropshire.

Giuseppe Umberto SALVI. For services to the wine and spirit trade.

Norman Stanley SCEATS, Chief Finance Officer, Cwmbran Development Corporation and Mid-Wales Newtown Development Corporation.

Ernest Howard SHEPARD, M.C., Artist and Illustrator.

Esmond SHEPHERD, V.R.D. Derek Peter Commercial Director, Vosper Thornycroft Ltd. For services to Export.

Frederick Leon Michael SHEPLEY, Controller, External Broadcasting, European Services, British Broadcasting Corporation.

Alfred SHIMELD, Headmaster, Wellington County Secondary School for Boys, Shropshire.

John Anthony STAFFORD, Director, Rank Precision Industries Ltd. For services to

George Christopher STANLEY, Vice-Chairman, Board of Governors, Moorfields Hospital Group and Royal Marsden Hospital Group.

John STEWART, Q.F.S.M., Firemaster, Lanarkshire Fire Brigade.

Mary STRACHAN, M.B.E., Miss Sheana Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Anthony STUART, Secretary, Leicestershire Association of Parish Councils.

Charles Randolph TAYLOR, Leader, Royal Opera House Orchestra.

Harry TAYLOR. For public services in Stokeon-Trent

Lawrence TAYLOR, Senior Captain, British Overseas Airways Corporation and Chairman, British Air Line Pilots Association.

Maurice Edgar TAYLOR. For services to the agricultural industry in Northern Ireland.

Harold Leslie THEOBALD, Principal, Cabinet Office.

Miss Vera Elizabeth THORN, Principal Information Officer, Central Office of Information.

Michael Grosvenor THORNTON, Director, The Centre for International Briefing.

Ian Teasdale TWYFORD, Principal Scientific Officer, Foreign and Commonwealth Office (Overseas Development Administration).

Miss Dorothy Ethel VALLINS, Headmistress, The Grammar School for Girls, Cleethorpes. Eric VERNON, Consultant Surgeon to the Isle of Man Health Services Board.

Ruben VINER, Chairman and Managing Director, Viners Ltd. For services to Export. Noel Aaron Treasure VINSON, Editor, Western Morning News.

George Cummings WALTON, T.D., Consultant, Hammerson Property and Investment Trust Ltd.

John Walter WARD, Head of Roads Depart-ment and Consultant, Sir Alexander Gibb and Partners.

Arthur Brian WARE, Principal, Brathay Hall, Ambleside.

James : Austin WARHURST, lately Head of Planning, British Council.

Alfred WATSON, Chairman, West Riding of Yorkshire Agricultural Executive Committee. James Robertson WATSON, Treasurer, Rutherglen Town Council.

Stewart McDougall WATSON, B.E.M., Mayor, Newport County Borough Council, Monmouthshire.

William James WEBB, lately Editor in Chief, West Midlands Press Group.

William Henry WESTPHAL, D.F.C., Managing Director, Rentokil Group Ltd. For services to Export.

Arthur Hamil WESTWOOD, lately Assay Master, Birmingham Assay Office.

John WHITE, lately Executive Director and General Manager, Hawker Siddeley Aviation Ltd., Brough. For services to Export.

James Allan WILEN, Chairman, British Food Manufacturing Industries Research Associa-

John Thomas WILLIAMS, Director of Engineering, National Ports Council.

James Campbell WILLIAMSON, M.C., T.D. For services to economic development in North East Scotland.

Tom WOODHOUSE. For services to the community in Bridlington and district.

## M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Hubert Norman ABERNETHY. For political services in the East of England.

Norman ACASTER, Honorary Treasurer, Ton-bridge Urban District and Rural District Local Savings Committee.

William Birss AITKEN, lately General Manager, Edinburgh Savings Bank.

Amelia Lawrence, Mrs.ALBERT, Senior Information Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.

John Vivian ALEXANDER, lately Warden, The Mary Ward Centre.

William John ALEXANDER, Accounts Clerk, Carter Jonas, Crown Estate Receivers.

Ellen Elizabeth, Mrs. ANDERSON, Interpreter, Able Language Services Ltd.

Thomas Sheppard ANGRAVE. services in Wessex. For political

Cyril Wilfred Reginald ARMITAGE, Professional and Technology Officer Grade II, Royal Mint.

Jack Roy ARMSTRONG, Research Director, Weald and Downland Open Air Museum.

Mary Olive, Mrs. ARNOTT. For political and public services in Fife.