- William BIBBY, lately Production Manager, North-Western Area, National Coal Board.
- Percival Leslie BICKERTON, Organising Secretary, Oxfordshire Association of Boys' Clubs.
- Christue Lemmington BINNIE, Chief Officer, South Shields Fire Brigade.
- William James BISHOP, Physical Education Officer I, Ministry of Defence.
- Brian Geoffrey BLATCHFORD, Managing Director, Chas. A. Blatchford and Sons Ltd., Basingstoke.
- Miss Cecilia Dorothea BOCHENEK, Founder and Organiser, Horder Centres for Arthritics.
- Ernest Ronald BOLINGBROKE, Administrative Officer, Housing Department, Greater London Council.
- Miss Angela Margaret BOWLBY. For political services.
- Sydney BOYD, Higher Executive Officer, Scottish Development Department.
- Norman BRADSHAW, District Traffic Superintendent, Tynemouth and District Transport Company Ltd.
- Graham John BRANT, Director, Group Export Sales, York Trailer Company Ltd. For services to Export.
- Miss Ann Grills BRENTON. For services to handicapped children.
- John Benjamin BRETTLE, New Models and Projects Co-ordination Manager, Austin Morris Power and Transmission Division, British Leyland (United Kingdom) Ltd. For services to Export.
- Esther Rawdon, Mrs. BRIGGS, Chairman, Mid Anglia War Pensions Committee.
- Arthur Noel BRISTOW, County Youth Officer, Kent.
- Miss Ann Hooper BRODIE, Instructress in charge, Gallatown Junior Occupational Centre, Kirkcaldy, Fife.
- William Henry Leslie BROGDEN, Chief Fire Officer and Safety Engineer, British Leyland (United Kingdom) Ltd., Austin Morris Group, Cowley.
- Commander Henry John Allen BROOKE, D.S.C., R.N. (Retd.), Retired Officer I, Ministry of Defence.
- James BROWN. For services to cricket in Scotland.
- Miss Juliet Elsa Scott BROWN, Principal Medical Social Worker, Newcastle University Hospital Group.
- Peter Green BRUCE, Senior Examiner, Board of Inland Revenue.
- Thomas BRYANS, General Manager, Belfast Savings Bank.
- Aileen Broadbent, Mrs. BUCKLE. For political services in the South East.
- John CAMPBELL, Collector of Taxes (Higher Grade), Board of Inland Revenue.
- Miss Joyce Gordon CAMPBELL, Principal School Dental Officer, Rutland.
- Wilfrid Merydith CAPPER. For services to Youth and to the countryside in Northern Ireland.
- Mary Fairfax, Mrs. CARLTON, Regional Prison Welfare Organiser, Southern Region, Women's Royal Voluntary Service.
- Archibald Cree CARSE, Area Accountant, Central and South West Scotland, South of Scotland Electricity Board.
- Herbert Francis CAVE. For services to the community in Worthing.
- Cecil George CHADWIN, lately Chief Technician,
- Department of Histopathology, Royal Marsden Hospital, London.

- Thomas William CHATTERTON, Representative, Singapore, Commonwealth War Graves Commission.
- The Right Honourable Dorothea, Viscountess CHETWYND. For political services in Wessex.
- Sarah Gladys, Mrs. CHILD, Alderman, Enfield Borough Council.
- Walter James CHILMAID, Executive Officer, Paymaster General's Office.
- Miss Agatha Ursula CHIRGWIN, Alderman, Penzance Borough Council.
- Charlotte, Mrs. CLARK, Audio Typist, Department of Trade and Industry.
- Miss Norah Elizabeth Mathers CLARKE, Secretary to Controller, Northern Ireland, British Broadcasting Corporation.
- Jeffrey COCKSHOTT. For services to road safety in Surrey.
- John Charles COLLINS, lately Senior Executive Officer, Ministry of Defence.
- Rhoda Joan, Mrs. COLLINS. For services to the community in Harlow New Town.
- George CONWAY, Senior Executive Officer, Department for National Savings.
- Miss Edith Anne COOKE, lately Social and Moral Welfare Worker, Kendal, Westmorland.
- Miss Muriel COOKE, Senior Mistress, Royal West of England Residential School for the Deaf, Exeter.
- Arthur George COOPER, Chief Engineer, Ductile Planetary Mill Ltd.
- Desmond Barry COOPER, Group Secretary, North East Somerset Hospital Management Committee.
- Robert Alfred COTTIER, Higher Executive Officer. Department of Health and Social Security.
- Terence George COWPERTHWAITE, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.
- John Joseph CRAWFORD, Advance Product Planning Manager, Honeywell Ltd.
- Martha Frances, Mrs. CROASDELL. For services to the community in Barrow-in-Furness.
- Charles Roger CRONK, M.M., Principal Doorkeeper, House of Commons.
- Harry CROSS, County Adviser for Physical Education, West Sussex County Council.
- James Arthur CROWHURST, Head of Advanced Design, Electro-Optics Division, Hawker Siddeley Dynamics Ltd., Hatfield.
- Peter Norman DANMERS, Chief Warning Officer, Exeter Group, United Kingdom Warning and Monitoring Organisation.
- Arthur Joseph DARBY, lately Chief Administrative Assistant, Town Clerk's Department, Walsall County Borough Council.
- William Bernard Booth DAVEY, Assistant General Secretary, Commonwealth and Continental Church Society.
- The Reverend Canon Josiah JONES-DAVIES, Curator, Brecknock Museum.
- Wendell John DAVIES, Works Manager, Space Division, Hawker Siddeley Dynamics Ltd., Stevenage.
- Donald Holland DAY, Professional and Technology Officer Grade I, Department of the Environment.
- Francis Charles Rees DEACON, Chief Office Assistant, House of Lords.
- John Charles DEAN. For political and public services in the East of England.
- George Alexander DEEGAN, Halls and Catering Manager, Loughborough University of Technology.