CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD ST. JAMES'S PALACE, LONDON S.W.I

## 31st December 1977

THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the advice of Her Majesty's Australian Ministers, to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire:

# Order of the British Empire (Civil Division)

## D.B.E.

To be Ordinary Dames Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Miss Mary DURACK, O.B.E., (Mrs. H. C. Miller), of Nedlands, Western Australia. For distinguished service to literature.

Audrey Tattie Hinchliffe, Mrs. READER, O.B.E., of Chadstone, Victoria. For distinguished service to women's affairs and to politics.

### K.B.E.

To be Ordinary Knights Comanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Walter Russell CROCKER, C.B.E., of Glen-Osmond, South Australia. For distinguished public service.

His Excellency The Honourable Gordon FREETH, Australian High Commission, London. For distinguished public and parliamentary service.

#### C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Neil Smith CURRIE, O.B.E., of Forrest, A.C.T. For public service to industry and commerce.

Robert Broughton LANSDOWN, of Red Hill, A.C.T. For public service to housing, the environment and community development.

Douglas Henry McKAY, O.B.E., of Campbell, A.C.T. For public service to overseas trade.

Dr. Albert Lloyd George REES, of North Balwyn, Victoria. For service to the science of chemical physics.

Reginald de Quetteville ROBIN, of Canterbury, Victoria. For service to Australian shipping.

Howard Austin SOLOMAN, of Cottesloe, Western Australia. For community service.

Dr. Haydn Stanley WILLIAMS, of Manning, Western Australia. For service to education.

Dr. Howard Knox WORNER, of North Balwyn, Victoria. For service to science and the technology of energy.

## O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

James Sydney ADAMS, of Tranmere, South Australia. For service to defence science.

James Rupert ALLEN, of Mortlake, Victoria. For service to primary industry.

The Reverend Frederick James ANGUS, of Geelong, Victoria. For service to marriage guidance and the handicapped.

Anthony Brown ARMSTRONG, of North Kew, Victoria. For advisory service to defence work.

Colin Arthur Keith Edward AUSTIN, of Loganlea, Queensland. For public service to commonwealth construction.

Frederick William Cecil BENNETT, of Denistone, New South Wales. For service to cricket and baseball.

Alfred Hamilton Dale BUDD, of Yarralumla, A.C.T. For service as principal private secretary to the Prime Minister.

John DOUGLAS, of Kootingal, New South Wales. For service to egg marketing.

Dr. Cyril Percival Victorious EVANS, of Hawker, A.C.T. For public service to health.

Persia Elspbeth, Lady GALLEGHAN, of Cremorne, New South Wales. For service to the Red Cross and the community.

Nancy, Mrs. GIESE, M.B.E., of Darwin, Northern Territory. For service to education the arts and women.

Jack Noel GOODWIN, of West Beach, South Australia. For service to industry, philanthropy and sport.

Edgar Clive HARCOURT, of Vaucluse, New South Wales. For service to overseas telecommunications.

Esther Lipman, Lady JACOBS, M.B.E., of Leabrook, South Australia. For service to local government and to the community.

John Patrick LONGERGAN, of Deakin, A.C.T. For public service to science.

Harold Thomas LOXTON, of East Kew, Victoria. For public services to road engineering.

Donald MARTIN, of Hobart, Tasmania. For scientific service to the apple industry.

Dr. Spiro MORAITIS, of East St. Kilda, Victoria. For service to migrants and their health.

Bernard James O'CONNOR, of Sans Souci, New South Wales. For service to the stevedoring industry.

Desmond James O'CONNOR, of Pearce, A.C.T. For public service to productivity.

George Reynolds RIPPON, of Poolayelo, Victoria. For service to local government, sport and to the media.

Dick (Goobalathaldin) ROUGHSEY, of Morriagton Island, Queensland. For service to Aboriginal art and culture.

Neale Esmond Joseph SAINSBURY, of Griffith, A.C.T. For public service to the law.

Miss Joyce Eileen SHEWCROFT, of Avalon Beach, New South Wales. For service to the ABC and law.

Thomas Bevan WALLACE, of Beauty Point, New South Wales. For advisory service in advertising.

Donald Vivian YOUNGMAN, of Griffith, A.C.T. For public service in statistics.

## M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Ronald William BEAVER, of Red Hill, A.C.T: For public service to defence.