- Miss Olga Margaret JAQUES, Ward Sister, Bradford Royal Infirmary, Bradford Area Health Authority.
- David Hugh JENKINS, lately Secretary/Personal Assistant, University College of Wales.
- Evan Ifor JONES, Senior Executive Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.
- John JONES, General President, National Union of Domestic Appliance and General Metal Workers.
- John Haydn JONES. For services to the St. John Ambulance Brigade in Mid-Glamorgan.
- Marjorie Betty, Mrs. BOWEN-JONES. For political and public service, Northern Area.
- Sydney JONES, lately Higher Executive Officer, Department of Education and Science.
- Valerie Jean, Mrs. JONES. For political service, Eastern Area.
- Marjorie Joan, Mrs. KEEBLE. For political and public service, Eastern Area.
- Robert Hamilton KENNY, lately Divisional Nursing Officer (Mental Illness), Hampshire Area Health Authority.
- Teresa, Mrs. KEOGH, Health Visitor, South Glamorgan Health Authority. Harold Raymond KERNAN,
- Chairman, South Sussex Disablement Advisory Committee.
- Maurice Frank KING, Highways Maintenance Engineer, Cambridgeshire County Council.
- William KIRKPATRICK, lately Managing Director, Livestock Auction Marts Ltd.
- Thomas LAFFERTY, Official (Construction Section, Northern Scotland), Amalgamated Union of **Engineering Workers**
- Roy Edward LANGSTONE. For political service. Raymond John Robert LAVERTY, Group Con-
- troller, Belfast Group, United Kingdom Warning and Monitoring Organisation.
- John Bainbridge LAYTON, Works Officer, North of England Territorial Auxiliary and Volunteer Reserve Association.
- Kee-hoi LEE, Higher Executive Officer, Department of the Environment.
- Miss Mavis Laura LEE, Higher Executive Officer, Ministry of Defence.
- Robert LENNOX. For services to the Glasgow Celtic Football Club.
- Peggy, Mrs. LEON (Joyce Peggy, Mrs. Pievsky), formerly Controller for Scotland, United Nations Children's Fund.
- Ronald Kingsley Le ROSSIGNOL, lately Higher Executive Officer, Board of Inland Revenue.
- Miss Joan Maureen LEWIS (Mrs. Moor), Managing Director, A. Lewis (Airlok) Ltd.
- Joyce Marjorie, Mrs. LEWIS. For services to the
- community in Fishguard and District. John Joseph LIDDY, Higher Executive Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.
- Heinz-Josef LOBENSTEIN, Member, Hackney Borough Council.
- Albert Edward LOFTHOUSE, Member, Wakefield City Council.
- Peter Richard LOVELL, President, Hull Fish Trades Boys' Club.
- LYNCH, Mary Headteacher. Margaret Miss Senacre High School, Maidstone.
- James Shackleton MCARA, lately District Linen Services Manager, Lothian Health Board.
- Thomas McCALMONT, Co-ordinating Officer for the Construction Industry (Scotland), Transport and General Workers' Union.

- John Wallace McDOUGALL, Detective Chief Superintendent, Strathclyde Police.
- George Warnock McDOWELL, Head of Depart-ment of Mechanical and Civil Engineering, Stow
- College of Engineering, Glasgow. Andrew Cyril McELHINNEY, Chairman, Craigavon Area Council for Aid to refugees.
- Donald Reid McINTYRE, Sheep Farmer, Kirriemuir, Angus.
- John MCINULTY, lately Principal Cellist, British Broadcasting Corporation Scottish Symphony Orchestra.
- Norman Patrick MACKAY, lately General Medical Practitioner, Bellshill, Lanarkshire.
- Miss Kathleen McKEOWN, lately Community Sister (Psychiatric Nursing), Essex Area Health Authority.
- Winifred Dorothy Marion, Mrs. MACKRILL. For services to the community in New Barnet.
- Eleanor Annie, Mrs. McLEOD, County Organiser, Hertfordshire, Women's Royal Voluntary Service.
- Katharine Margaret, Mrs. McMEEKIN, Organiser, Belfast Girls' Club Union.
- Ruth Irene, Mrs. MAGGS. For political and public service, South Eastern Area.
- Raymond Edwin MANNINGS, Assistant Principal Careers Officer, Berkshire.
- Richard Francis MARTYR, lately Principal, Pershore College of Horticulture.
- Miss Daisy Birkett MASON, Senior Investigator,
- Department of Health and Social Security. Kenneth MEADOWS. For services to overseas journalism.
- William Albert MEDDLE, lately Executive Officer, Department of Industry.
- Christopher Lings METCALFE, Director, Telecommunication Engineering and Manufacturing Association. For services to Export.
- Miss Katherine Lano MILES, President, Associa-
- tion of Pharmacy Technicians. Walter Frederick MILLARD, Secretary, Tyndale Baptist Church (Bristol) Housing Association Ltd.
- Gertrude Elizabeth, Mrs. MILLS, Member, Wyre Forest District Council.
- Miss Vera Betty MINES, Senior Executive Officer, Board of Customs and Excise.
- Raymond Geoffrey MONBIOT. For political and public service, Wessex Area.
- Miss Mary Sarah MORAN, lately Executive Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.
- George Will MORRISON, General Medical Practitioner, Montrose.
- James Alfred MURPHY, lately Chairman, Burnage Community Association.
- James MURRAY, Secretary, Federation of Ayrshire Community Associations.
- Miss Ellis Margaret Muter NAPIER, Chairman, Dumbarton Post Office Advisory Committee.
- Mary Naomi, Mrs. NICHOLLS, Member, Tayside Health Board.
- William OLDROYD. For services to the National Westminster Group Pensioners' Association.
- Fred OPENSHAW. For services to the community in Barnet.
- John Telford OWEN, lately Professional and Technology Officer I, Ministry of Defence.
- Owen Morris OWEN. For services to local government and music in the Ceredigion area.
- Miss Eleanor Rees PARRY, lately, Matron, Machynlleth Chest Hospital, Powys.