Violet Mabel, Mrs. BITCHENOR, Welfare Officer, Northampton and County Spastics Society.

Joseph Paterson BLACK, General Secretary, Scottish Police Federation.

Miss Theresa BLACK, Senior Nursing Officer, Stradreagh Hospital, Londonderry.

Charles Clarke BODEL, Assistant Director of Research, Lambeg Industrial Research Association.

Nancye Kathleen, Mrs. BOOBBYER. For services to the Sussex Kidney Trust.

Peter Lawrence BOOTY, Assistant Secretary, London Orchestral Concerts Board.

Isaac Henry John BOURNE, Medical Officer, Remploy Limited.

Grace Joan Valerie, Mrs. BOURNS. For services to the community in Bristol.

Donald Benjamin BREWER, Assistant Chief Warning Officer, Horsham, United Kingdom Warning and Monitoring Organisation.

Neville BRITTON, Director, Hartlepool Docks, Tees and Hartlepool Port Authority.

Ronald Maxwell BROWN, Chief Forester, Forestry Commission.

Elizabeth Woodrow, Mrs. BROWNING, Chairman, Association for All Speech-Impaired Children.

Desmond Charles BUCHANAN, lately Chief Inspector, Avon and Somerset Constabulary.

Commander Bruce Errol BULBECK, R.N. (Retd.), Retired Officer I, Ministry of Defence.

Miss Joan Marguerite BURGE, Personal Secretary, Ministry of Defence.

Agnes Hope Johnson, Mrs. BURN. For Political and Public Service.

John Ralston BUTTERLY, Chairman, Reidvale Housing Association.

Olive Hylda Margaret, Mrs. CASS, Superintendent, of Typists, Supplies Department, Greater London Council.

George CASSON, Clerk, Northumberland Engine Works, Clark Hawthorn Limited.

Miss Margaret Sarah CASTLE, Nursing Officer, Neo-Natal Unit, Hammersmith Hospital, London.

Thomas CAWLEY, lately Senior Librarian, Rothamsted Experimental Station, Harpenden.

Eric Alfred CHAPLIN, General Manager, Sub District Area, South East London, The Post Office.

Harold Edward CHAPPELL. For services to local government in Lincolnshire.

Jacqueline Meynell, Mrs. CINGEL, Higher Executive Officer, Department of the Environment.

Daphne Diana, Mrs. CLARK, Director, Richmond upon Thames Churches' Housing Trust.

Francis Arthur CLARK. For Political Service.

George Edward CLAYDON, Chief Superintendent, Metropolitan Police.

Ernest Reginald CLOW, Air Traffic Engineer I, Civil Aviation Authority.

Peter John COOKE, Executive Engineer, British Telecom.

Angela Janet Vera, Mrs. COTTON, Chairman, National Association of Probation Hostels.

Eileen Ruth Elizabeth, Mrs. COX. For services to the disabled in Shepperton and District.

James CULLEN, Convener of Housing Committee, Gordon District Council.

James CUSACK, Auxiliary Officer (Technical), Royal Naval Auxiliary Service. George Llewellyn DAVIES, D.S.C., Engineer's Representative, Thames Barrier Project, Rendel, Palmer and Tritton, Consulting Engineers.

Robert Hefin DAVIES, Managing Director and Chairman, J. W. Greaves and Sons Limited.

Donald Charles DAVIS, Senior Executive Officer, Department of Energy.

Kathleen Margaret Laurie, Mrs. DAVIS. For services to the community in Wolvey and District, Leicestershire.

Michael Edgar Drew DAVIS, Group Finance and Planning Manager, Greenall Whitley PLC.

Nicole Matilde, Mrs. DAVOUD, Founder and Chairman, Crack MS.

James Bartholomew DEVINE, Superintendent, Royal Ulster Constabulary.

Eric Ernest DEW. For services to dioceses in the South East.

Iqbal Singh DHUT, Executive Officer, Board of Customs and Excise.

Joyce Mary, Mrs. DICKSON, Centre Organiser, Ringwood, Hampshire Branch, British Red Cross Society.

Rosemary Cadbury, Mrs. DICKSON. For services to the community in Northern Ireland.

Miss Hilda Ritchie DORAN, Senior Lecturer in Primary Education, Aberdeen College of Education.

Miss Constance Mona DOUGLAS. For services to Manx Culture.

Charles DRAPER, Manager, Resettlement Unit, Department of Health and Social Security.

Audrey Alice Grace, Mrs. DUDDY, Head, Remedial Department, Saffron Walden County High School.

Miss Hazel Catherine DUTTON, Matron, Marie Curie Memorial Foundation, Sunnybank Nursing Home, Liverpool.

Miss Margaret EASTON, lately Administrative Assistant, Careers Service, Tyne and Wear.

Audrey Eveline Lucilla, Mrs. EDWARDS. For services to the community in Hayling Island.

Henry ELLIOTT, Senior Executive Officer, Department of Employment.

Edna Dorothy, Mrs. EMBLETON. For services to the community in Buckingham.

Ronald Walter EMES, Director, The British Canoe Union.

Sidney Albert ENGLAND, Professional and Technology Officer Grade I, (Mechanical and Electrical), Department of the Environment.

The Reverend Canon Owen Vyvyan EVA, Rector, St. Nicholas, Halewood Parish Church.

Lieutenant Commander Cyril Joseph EVANS, R.N.R. (Retd.), Chairman, Leicester Unit Committee, Sea Cadet Corps.

Yvonne Winifred, Mrs. FILLEUL, Personal Secretary, Cable and Wireless PLC.

John George Russell FLETCHER. For Political Service.

Miss Marjorie Hannah Earnshaw FLOWERDAY, Medical Assistant, Blood Transfusion Service, Sheffield

Bernard William FOREMAN, Assistant Divisional Organiser, Colchester, Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers.

Keith William FORWARD, Divisional Education Officer, Dartford, Kent.

Ursula Una Clare, Mrs. FOSS, Disaster Relief Purchasing Officer, British Red Cross Society.