- Ellen Edith, Mrs. PARKES, Secretary, Poole Division, Soldiers', Sailors' and Airmen's Families Association.
- Dorothy Anderson, Mrs. PARSONS, President, Friends of the Eastbourne Hospitals, Eastbourne Health Authority.
- Leslie Wescott Lownds PATEMAN. For services to the Royal Air Forces Association in the South West.
- Derek Charles Kilminster PEARCE, Higher Scientific Officer, National Physical Laboratory, Department of Trade and Industry.
- Susanne, Mrs. PEARSON, Headteacher, Grace Owen Nursery School, Sheffield.
- William Charles PERRY, Deputy Chief Officer, Surrey Fire Brigade.
- Hillis Bruce Charles PINK, Higher Executive Officer, Board of Inland Revenue.
- Charles Llewellyn POCOCK, External Public Relations Manager, Remploy Ltd.
- Miss Anna Barr Wilson POLLOCK, Executive Officer, Crown Office.
- Anne Elizabeth, Mrs. POWER. For services to the Priority Estates Project, particularly in Tulse Hill.
- Arthur PRIEST, Chairman, Manchester Industrial Relations Society.
- Helen, Mrs. RAINE, lately Teacher, Pencaitland Primary School.
- Roy Geoffrey RATTEY, Deputy Principal, Northern Ireland Civil Service.
- Miss Patience Mary REED, Director of Nursing Services, Royal Orthopaedic Hospital, Birmingham Health Authority.
- James REID, lately Personnel Officer, Shildon Works, British Rail Engineering Ltd.
- Patricia, Mrs. RENOUF, lately Organiser, Bailiwick of Jersey, Women's Royal Voluntary Service.
- Henry James RIDLEY, Farm Manager, Stockbridge, Hampshire.
- Marjorie Brenda, Mrs. RINTOUL. For Political and Public Service.
- John Hindle RITCHIE, Director of Development, Merseyside Development Corporation.
- Elspet Louise, Mrs. RIVETT. For services to the community in Wiltshire.
- Miss Marjorie Irene ROBERTS, Headteacher, Clapham Church of England Primary School, North Yorkshire.
- George Timothy Lewis ROSE. For Political and Public Service.
- Alec ROTHERY. For services to the Royal Society for the Blind, Bristol.
- Ailsa Maxwell, Mrs. RUSHBROOKE, Chairman, Executive Committee, Independent Adoption Service.
- William RUST, Technical Director, Simon Carves Ltd.
- James Herbert SALT. For Political Service.
- Miss Tessa SANDERSON. For services to Athletics.
- James Patrick SAVAGE, Associate Director, Training and Manpower Development British Mining Consultants Ltd. For services to Export.
- Gordon SCOTT, Higher Executive Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.
- Catherine Carmichael, Mrs. SHARP, Member, Fife Health Board.
- John Proctor Bennoch SHERRIFF, Editor, Commercial Motor.

- Alfred William SHIPMAN, lately District Commissioner, Surrey Heath Scout Association.
- Hariprasad Mohanlal SHUKLA, Community Relations Officer, Tyne and Wear Community Relations Council.
- Frederick James Albert SHULTS, Secretary, Institute of Wastes Management.
- Emily Hannah, Mrs. SIMMONDS, Vice-President, National Association for Maternal and Child Welfare.
- Henry SKEHIN, Superintendent, Royal Ulster Constabulary.
- Richard Henry SLAUGHTER, M.C., Chairman, Recruitment, Education and Training Committee, IRC Confederation of British Wool Textiles.
- Elizabeth Scott Potter, Mrs. SMART, lately Senior Executive Officer, Overseas Development Administration.
- Douglas Alan SMITH, lately Operations Manager (East), Eastern Counties Omnibus Company Ltd.
- Paul Louis SMITH, Senior Chief Maxillo-Facial Technician, Wordsley Hospital, Stourbridge.
- Philip James SMITH, For services to the National Association of Retired Police Officers.
- Commander Francis Gilbert Carington SMYTH, R.N. (Retired), Staff Officer, Naval Control of Shipping in the Humber.
- Thomas SMYTH, Regional Secretary, Union of Construction and Allied Trades and Technicians, Northern Ireland.
- Lawrence Bond SPEAR. For services to the Devon and Cornwall Housing Association.
- Alexander SPENCE, Mayor of Ballymena, Co. Antrim.
- Alan SPENCER, Secretary and Treasurer, Association of Sea Fisheries Committees.
- Edward Francis SPENCER, Business Sales Executive, Plessey Connectors Ltd.
- Stephen Terence SPOONER, Senior Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.
- Roger David SPRAGG, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.
- Eric STANIFORTH, Managing Director, SISIS Equipment (Macclesfield) Ltd.
- Roger STEWART. For Political Service.
- Samuel STEWART, Unit Manager, National Car Parks Ltd., Aldergrove Airport.
- Ivor Cecil STONEMAN, Superintendent, Main Drainage, South West Water Authority.
- Neil Fraser STUART, Tax Officer (Higher Grade), Board of Inland Revenue.
- Denis STUBBS, Headmaster, St. Mary's C of E Primary School, Dover.
- Miss Joan Patricia Love SULLIVAN. Lately Head of Counselling, The National Marriage Guidance Council.
- Miss Mary Winifred SUTCLIFFE. For services to local government in Hampshire.
- Patricia Mary, Mrs. SYKES, Staff Nurse, Northampton General Hospital, Northampton Health Authority.
- Douglas, TAYLOR, Staff Officer to H.M. Chief Inspector of Constabulary.
- Richard Edward Scott TAYLOR. For services to music education.
- Thomas TAYLOR. For services to Sport for the Disabled.
- Cecil THOMAS, Head Teacher, Crickhowell County Primary School.