Alexander WILSON, Director General, The British Library Reference Division.

Norman Samuel WOODING, Deputy Chairman, Courtaulds plc. For services to Export.

Henry WRONG, General Administrator, Barbican Centre for Arts and Conferences.

## **O.B.E.**

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

- Thomas Morton AITCHISON. Director, Information Services for the Physics and Engineering Community, Institution of Electrical Engineers.
- Peter John ALDINGTON, Senior Partner, Aldington Craig and Collinge.
- Charles ALLEN, lately Assistant General Manager, Ferranti plc, Scotland. For services to Export.
- Cyril ASHLEY, D.L., Chairman, L'Oreal Ltd.
- Avinash Chandra BAJPAI, Director, Centre for the Advancement of Mathematics in Technology, University of Loughborough.
- Keith Percy BALL, Senior Lecturer in Community Medicine, Middlesex Hospital Medical School.
- Quintin James BALLARDIE, Founder and Artistic Director, English Chamber Orchestra.
- Lieutenant Colonel Michael Charles BARRA-CLOUGH, Secretary, Faculty of Homoeopathy and Homoeopathic Trust.
- Alan Gordon BEAVAN. For political and public service.
- Miss Joan Mabel BETTS, lately Chief Chemist and Microbiologist, Cliffords Dairy Products.
- David BIGGINS, Managing Director, Sovereign Oil and Gas plc.
- Miss Sheila Psyche BLACK, Chairman, National Gas Consumers' Council.
- Stanley BLACK, Conductor and Composer.
- Peter Moore BRAND. For public services in Northern Ireland.
- Kathleen Claire, Mrs BROOKS. For political and public service.
- Andrew Alistair BROWN, General Medical Practitioner, Edinburgh.
- Miss Iona BROWN, Violinist. Director, Academy of St. Martins.
- Robert James BROWN, lately Bursar, Queen's University of Belfast.
- William Wilson McBride BROWN, Chairman and Chief Executive, Robertson Research International plc.
- Noel Henry BURDETT, lately National Chairman, The Abbeyfield Society.
- Kenneth Ninian BURNS, Scientific Adviser (Veterinary), Agriculture and Food Research Council.
- Charles Barrie BYFORD. For political and public service.
- Ronald John CARRINGTON, Member, Hereford and Worcester County Council.
- Maurice Basil CHAMMINGS, Superintending Civil Engineer, Department of the Environment.
- Stanley Edward CHURCHFIELD, Director, Exploration, and Production, Burmah Oil plc.
- June Lilian, Mrs CHURCHMAN, lately Chief Commissioner of Guides, Wales.
- Michael CONNOLLY, Director, Parcels, British Railways Board.
- Michael John Blencowe COOKSON, T.D., D.L., Chairman, Northumberland Association of Boys' Clubs.

- Donald Cecil COPE. General Manager, Clwyd Health Authority.
- Adrian COWAN, Senior Principal, Department of the Environment.
- Harry COWIE. For political service.
- Michael CRONIN, Chairman, Crowther Legislation Committee, Finance Houses Association.
- Gerald Offley CROWTHER, Manager, Applications Laboratory, Mullards Ltd.
- Margaret Mary, Mrs. CULLEN, Vice-Chairman, Southern Education and Library Board, Northern Ireland.
- Noel Norman DEARING, Manager, Small Business Section, Domestic Banking Division, National Westminster Bank plc.
- Thomas Bradford DEGENHARDT, Secretary, Institute of Cost and Management Accountants.
- Edward Allan Kitson DENISON T.D. For political and public service.
- Robert James DICKSON. For services to education in Northern Ireland.
- Peter DIXON, Head, Rowlinson School, Sheffield.
- Cyril Francis DRAKE, Chief Research Fellow, Standard Telecommunications Laboratories Ltd, STC plc.
- David Bryan DUFF, Senior Principal, Board of Inland Revenue.
- Eric Charles DYER, Director, East Midlands Airport.
- Paul Lewis DYER, Grade 6, H.M. Treasury.
- Edith Lucy, Mrs. EATON, Secretary, Londonderry City Division Soldiers' Sailors' and Airmen's Families Association.
- Geoffrey ECCLES, Deputy Chairman, Eastern Region, British Gas Corporation.
- William ECCLES, Chairman and Chief Executive James Fisher & Sons plc.
- Derek Morris EMBREY, Group Technical Director, AB Electronic Products Group plc.
- David ENSOR, lately Managing Director, Croydon Advertiser Ltd.
- Edwin Russell EUNSON, Convenor, Orkney Islands Council.
- Alun EVANS, For services to agriculture in Wales.
- Miss Margaret Blacklock EVANS, lately Headteacher, Seven Kings High School, Redbridge.
- George Henry FAIRWEATHER. For services to the Royal British Legion in Lancashire.
- Eve Rosamund, Mrs. FALKNER. For political and public service.
- Edward William FIELD, Accountant, House of Lords.
- George Irvine FINLAY. For political service.
- Gordon FISHER, Chairman, FEB International plc.
- Gordon Russell GARDNER, lately Secretary/Director of Administration, Construction Industry Training Board.
- David GEMMELL, Managing Director, Possum Controls Ltd.
- Arthur GILBERT, First Class Valuer, Board of Inland Revenue.
- Patrick James GIVEN, Staff Development Officer, South of Scotland Electricity Board.
- Laurence Galsworthy GREEN, Deputy Chairman of the Board, Moorfields Eye Hospital.
- William George Kendall GRIFFITHS. For political and public service.
- Ronald Henry GUNSTON, Chief Fire Service Officer, Ministry of Defence.