- Isobel Frances, Mrs. JAPP, Sister (Acute Thoracic Surgical Ward), Hairmyres Hospital, East Kilbride, Lanarkshire.
- Alec Arthur JEAVONS, Industrial Relations Officer, Western Area, British Coal.
- Clare, Mrs. JEFFRIES, Chief Executive, Cambridge and District Chamber of Commerce and Industry.
- James Arthur JENKINS, lately Executive Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.
- William Edward JENKINS, Senior Tutor, Department of Adult and Continuing Education, University College, Swansea.
- Robert Thomas JONES, lately Assistant Divisional Officer, Gwynedd Fire Service.
- Roy JONES, Contracts Manager, Department of Engineering, Warrington and Runcorn Development Corporation.
- Sydney James JUDSON. For services to the elderly in York.
- Frederick KEEDLE, Chief Safety Officer, Felixstowe Dock and Railway Company.
- Peter Alexander KENNERLEY, Principal Lecturer in English, Liverpool Polytechnic.
- Patricia Linda, Mrs. KENT, Head Teacher, Truro Nursery School, Cornwall.
- Gerald KEOWN, Area Manager, North East, Northern Line, London Underground Ltd.
- John KERR, Director, William Kerr Farms Ltd.
- Gerald Andrew KING. For political and public service.
- Miss Pauline Gertrude KINNANE, Senior Superintendent of Typists, Public Record Office, Northern Ireland.
- Derek Shawcross KNIGHT, Stores Officer Grade A, Ministry of Defence.
- Jane, Mrs. LAMB. For services to the community in the North East of Scotland.
- John Robert LEACH, Chairman, Sussex Sea Fisheries Committee.
- John James LEE, Head, Technical and Standards Department, Federation of British Electrotechnical and Allied Manufacturers' Association Ltd.
- Thomas Christopher Robert LEGGE, lately Mayor, King's Lynn and West Norfolk Borough Council.
- Cecilia Frances, Mrs. LINEHAM, lately Secretary to Board of Governors, Lagan College.
- Patricia Mary, Mrs. LINTON, Area Organiser, Cheshire and Merseyside, Women's Royal Voluntary Service.
- Frances Gordon, Mrs. LITTLEJOHN. For services to the Scout Association in Kincardineshire.
- Miss Yvonne Mary Pearl LITTLEWOOD, Executive Producer, Light Entertainment (Variety), British Broadcasting Corporation.
- Audrey, Mrs. LOCK, Youth Leader, Holtspur Youth Club, Buckinghamshire.
- John LOVEGROVE, Chairman and Managing Director, Greengrove Welding Wires Ltd.
- Donald MACDONALD. For services to Gaelic history and culture.
- Irving MACHELL, Secretary, North Eastern Area, Royal Air Forces Association.
- Olive Phyllis, Mrs. MACLEOD. For services to the community in Lochinver.
- Dr. Gaye Melodie Anne MANWARING (Mrs. Wilson), Senior Lecturer in Educational Technology, Dundee College of Education.

- David Crawford MARSHALL, V.R.D., Farmer, Broughton, Biggar.
- Esther Molly, Mrs. MAUGHAN, Headmistress, Breckon Hill Primary School, Middlesbrough.
- Hazel Edna, Mrs. McCABE, lately Mayor, Canterbury City Council.
- Henry Gourlay McCREATH, T.D.. For public service in Berwickshire and Northumberland.
- Miss Margaret MCELREA, Nursing Officer (Health Visiting), Omagh, Western Health and Social Service Board.
- Peter McGREGOR, lately Higher Scientific Officer, Department of Trade and Industry.
- Samuel Baxter McILROY. For services to Association Football.
- Roger Antony Nigel McKECHNIE, Managing Director, Derwent Valley Foods Ltd.
- Monica Catherine, Mrs. MCMULLAN. For charitable services to the visually and physically handicapped.
- James Forbes Haining MELVILLE. For services to the voluntary housing movement.
- Alfred Philip Galabin MICHELMORE. For services to the conservation of plant and animal wildlife in Devon.
- Charles MIDDLETON, Director, P. & J. Johnstone Ltd.
- Miss Joan Anne MILLER, lately Director of Nursing Services, Freeman Hospital Unit, Newcastle Health Authority.
- Patricia Margaret, Mrs. MIST, Supervisor, Windsor Tourist Information Centre.
- June Vivienne, Mrs. MOORE, Trade Executive (Seeds) United Kingdom Agricultural Supply Trade Association.
- Harry MOORHOUSE, Senior Executive Officer, Board of Inland Revenue.
- Cyril George MORGAN, Higher Executive Officer, Lord Chancellor's Department.
- Nina Elizabeth, Mrs. MORGAN, Member, Exeter Road Safety Committee.
- Albert Edward MORRIS, Maritime Consultant and Arbitrator, The Baltic Exchange.
- Thomas Lewis MORRIS, Higher Executive Officer, Department of Employment.
- Lieutenant Colonel William John MORRIS, M.C. (Retired). For services to the Royal British Legion in Cheltenham.
- Derek Michael MOSLEY, Senior Executive Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.
- Gilbert Stanley MOTTRAM, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.
- Elsie, Mrs. MOULT. For services to the British Council of Churches.
- Herbert John MOXEY, Senior Naval Architect, Brooke Marine Ltd.
- James Sydney MULGROVE, District Secretary, Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers.
- Raymond MULHOLLAND, Director, Liverpool Youth Music Committee.
- Miss Shelia Mary MULLALLY, General Medical Practitioner, Cheltenham.
- Victor Edward John NEAL. For services to the community in Gosport, Hampshire.
- George Nodder NEWELL, lately Head Technician, Department of Genetics, University of Edinburgh.

George NEWSON, General Manager, Quinton Hazell Ltd.

Miss Annie NICOLSON. For political service.

B14