- Geoffrey Crichton WILKINSON, A.F.C., Chief Inspector of Accidents, Department of Transport.
- Francis Julian WILLIAMS, D.L., Chairman, Cornwall County Council.
- Brigadier James WILSON (Retired), Chief Executive, Livingston Development Corporation.
- John Trevor WILSON. For political and public service.
- Peter Jeffrey WORDIE, T.D., Chairman, Stirling Shipping Ltd.

## O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

- Michael Brian ABRAHAMS, Commercial Director, GEC Turbine Generators. For services to Export.
- George Culpin ADAMS, Chairman, George Adams and Sons (Holdings) Ltd.
- Robin Allingham AISHER. For services to Sport and particularly to Yachting.
- David Raymond ALLEN. Chairman, DHL International (UK) Ltd.
- Hugh John APPLETON, Chairman, Boards of Prison Visitors Co-ordinating Committee.
- David Montgomery ARCHIBALD, Director, North East Area, British Coal.
- Roger ATKINSON, Inspector (SP), Board of Inland Revenue.
- Miss Gillian AYRES, Artist.
- Brenda Julia Neltie, Mrs. BALL. For political service.
- Guy Crossland BARRETT, Joint Managing Director, Henry Barrett and Sons Ltd.
- Peter Glanville Hoy BATH, Adviser, Petroleum Engineering, Shell UK BP.
- Michael Day BEAUMONT. For political and public service.
- Haro Moushegh BEDELIAN, General Manager, Southern Construction Division, Balfour Beatty Construction Ltd.
- Lily Christine, Mrs. BEST, lately Staff Officer to Superintendent-in-Chief, St. John Ambulance Brigade.
- James McMeekin BILL. For services to Medicine in the Prison Service in Northern Ireland.
- John Albert BIRCH, Director of Patient Services, North Lincolnshire Health Authority.
- Miss Janet Margaret BONNER, H.M. Inspector of Schools, Department of Education and Science.
- Michael John BORROW. For services to oceanology.
- Stuart Ralph BOSWORTH, Registrar, University of Salford.
- Frank BRACEWELL, Director of Planning, Central Regional Council, Scotland.
- Patrick Alphonsus BRADLEY, Chief Electoral Officer for Northern Ireland.
- Lady Romayne Elizabeth Algitha BRASSEY, Vice-President, Lincolnshire Branch, British Red Cross Society.
- Eric Merrington BRISCOE, Chairman, Fairey Tecramics Ltd.
- Gordon Ronald Douglas CALDER, Director, National Training Board Association of British Travel Agents.
- Miss Rosemary Anne CALVERT, Secretary, Northern Ireland Board, Royal College of Nursing.
- Elizabeth Muriel, Mrs. CAMPBELL, Vice-Chairman (Scotland), Women's Royal Voluntary Service.

- Sylvester CAMPBELL. For services to Agriculture in Scotland.
- Samuel Howard CARSON, Principal, Lord Chancellor's Department.
- Neville John CARVER, A.F.C., Director, Business Strategy, British Leyland plc.
- William Scott CHARLES. For services to community education in Scotland.
- David Brian Barrie CHEVERTON, Marketing Director, Fairey Marine Ltd.
- Colonel Stephen Hudson CLARK (Retired), D.L., Secretary, East Midlands, Territorial Auxiliary and Volunteer Reserve Association.
- Cynthia Ann, Mrs. CLAYTON, lately Chairman, United Kingdom Branches Committee, Save the Children Fund.
- Cyril COHEN, lately Director, Scottish Hospital Advisory Service.
- Dennis Leslie COOPER-JONES, Manager, Technical Defence Systems Division, Standard Telephones and Cables plc.
- Norman COWIE, Convener, Banff and Buchan District Council.
- Joseph Henry CROSS, Director, Off-Shore Survival Centre, Robert Gordon's Institute of Technology.
- William James CROZIER, Member, Police Complaints Board for Northern Ireland.
- Miss Eileen Bernadette CULLEN, Company Secretary, National Westminster Bank plc.
- Stephen George CURTIS, Chairman, Redbridge Health Authority.
- Keith DAVY. For political and public service.
- Michael John DAWSON, Executive Chairman, Tunstall Telecom Group plc.
- Peter DAWSON, General Secretary, Professional Association of Teachers.
- John Victor DERBEN. For services to the Scout Association in Hampshire.
- Miss Vera June DI PALMA, Deputy Chairman, Air Travel Reserve Fund Agency.
- Reginald Cecil DOBBS, Chairman, Kirton Experimental Horticulture Station Advisory Committee, Boston, Lincolnshire.
- Michael John DOMAILLE, lately Assistant Chief Constable, West Yorkshire Metropolitan Police.
- Michael Gerald DONNE, Aviation Correspondent, Financial Times.
- Alan Ivimy Ransom DOW, Personnel Director, London Electricity Board.
- Archie Anthony DOWNIE, Chairman, Manchester Council for Community Relations.
- William John DUNBAR, lately Chief Executive, British Steel Corporation (Industry) Ltd.
- Professor George Mackenzie DUNNET, Chairman, Shetland Oil Terminal Environmental Advisory Group.
- John EASTWOOD. For services to energy conservation.
- Noel Richard ELWIS, lately Chairman, Dental Estimates Board.
- Irene, Mrs. ENDEAN, lately District Nursing Officer, Dewsbury Health Authority.
- Brian David FAIRGRIEVE, D.L. For services to the Scout Association in Blair Atholl, Tayside.
- Norman Edward FEASEY, Chief Coach and Repetiteur, Royal Opera, Covent Garden.
- Professor John Edward FLOOD, Chairman, Telecommunications Standards Committee, British Standard Institute.
- Keith FOREMAN, Warden, Comberton Village College, Cambridgeshire.