Betsy Kate, Mrs. BARSBY. For services to the community in Peterborough.

Brian Michael BATTY, Divisional Officer II, Hereford and Worcester Fire Brigade.

Trevor BAWN, Operations Manager, IMI Bailey Birkett Ltd.

Brian BAZLEY, Higher Executive Officer, Advisory, Conciliation and Arbitration Service.

Eric George BEAMAN, V.R.D., Deputy Principal, Department of Economic Development, Northern Ireland.

Maurice John BEAN, Vice-Chairman, British Fire Protection Systems Association Ltd.

Norman Henry BEAVER, Ambulance Station Officer, Cornwall.

Alan Magrath BECKETT. For services to the Agricultural Industry.

Margaret, Mrs. BELCHER, lately Higher Executive Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.

Corinne Gillian, Mrs. BENNETT, Partner, Purcell, Miller and Tritton.

Robert Michael BERRINGTON, Principal in General Practice, Huntingdon.

James Sutherland BERTRAM, lately Governor (Class III), H.M. Young Offenders' Institution, Castle Huntly, Scottish Home and Health Department.

Cynthia Margaret, Mrs. BINGHAM, Headmistress, Oaklands Infants', School, Wilmslow, Cheshire.

Vivian Peter BIRCH, C.P.M., lately Security Officer (Physical) I, Ministry of Defence.

Marie Josephine, Mrs. BIRD. For political and public service.

Graham Austin BLACK, Higher Executive Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.

Joseph Derek BLACK. For services to the community in Hampshire.

Frederick Joseph BLOOR. For services to the community in the Medway Towns.

Una Grace, Mrs. BLUES. For services to the Dorset Branch, National Association of Retired Police Officers.

Leslie BOLTON, lately Higher Executive Officer, Office of Population Censuses and Surveys.

William Arthur BONDS. For services to Association Football.

Muriel Ann Elizabeth, Mrs. BOWDICH, Senior Personal Secretary, Welsh Office. Henry William Yool BOWIE, Head of Machinery

Department, Cumbria College of Agriculture and Forestry, Newton Rigg.

Margaret Joyce, Mrs. BOWMAN, Controller, St. John Ambulance Air Wing.

Roger Joseph BRADSHAW, Founder, Eastern Ravens Trust. For services to children and young people at risk, Cleveland.

BRAIN, Secretary, National Thomas Arthur Association of Cider Makers.

Philip John BRIND. For services to agricultural marketing.

Henry John BRISTOW, Collector (Higher Grade), Board of Inland Revenue.

Margaret Dorothy, Mrs. BROCK, Vice-President, Sense, the National Deaf-Blind and Rubella Association.

Greta (Margaret Somerville), Mrs. BROOKS, lately Chairman, Community Police Consultative Group, Lambeth.

Miss Norah Jane BROWNING, lately Deputy Headmistress, Nutfield Priory Boarding School for the Deaf, Redhill, Surrey.

Miss Marion BUCHANAN, T.D., Nursing Services Manager, United Services Unit, Lothian Health

Kenneth John BURGE, lately Editor in Chief, South West Counties Newspapers.

William BURNETT, Director, Brighton Resorts Services Department, Brighton Borough Council.

Robert Charles BUTCHER, Joint Managing Director, Bluemay Ltd.

Miss Jean Marion BUTLER, Headteacher, Lawefield First School, Wakefield.

Miss Dinah Rosemary CADOGAN. For services to Sport for the Disabled.

Alan CAIGER-SMITH, Potter.

CAINE, Founder and Leader, Salford John Playhouse.

Miss Mabel Isobel CAMERON. For services to the community in Motherwell.

James CAMPBELL, Director, Careers Service, Hampshire.

Miss Patricia Dorothy Jill CAMPBELL, Head of Personnel Services, British Museum.

White CAMPBELL, Director, Scottish Building Employers' Federation.

hn Wallis CARTER, Systems Manager, Marconi Space Systems Ltd. Department

Miss Sheila Reid CHAPLIN. For political service. Charles Henry CHAPMAN, Treasurer, Devon Youth

Association. Anne Cartner, Mrs. CHEETHAM. For political and

public service. Eric William CLAYTON. For services to the

Construction Industry Training Board. Kenneth Sidney COBLEY, Inspector, Board of Inland Revenue.

Raymond William Ogilvie COLLINS, Production Manager, Portex Ltd., Hythe, Kent.

Thomas CONNAH, Chief Commandant, Durham Special Constabulary.

Miss Audrey CONWAY, lately Senior Executive

Officer, Manpower Services Commission.

Herbert Douglas Haig COOPER, D.F.C., Member, Board of Visitors, H.M. Prison, Magilligan, County Londonderry.

Victor George COWLAND, Senior Professional and Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Miss Susan Margaret COX. For political and public

Cynthia Margaret, Mrs. CRAWFORD. For political service.

Miss Dorothy Gwendoline CROSSLEY, lately Radiographer, Grendon Underwood Security Prison, Buckinghamshire.

Leslie CROWTHER, lately Business Opportunities Manager, North West Water Authority.

Leonard Mathew CRUIKSHANK, Project Manager, Diggers Community Programme and Landscaping

Lieutenant Colonel Ernest Melville Terence CRUMP, Superintendent, Corps of Queen's Messengers and Head of Messenger Services

Joan Mary, Mrs. ČULLEN. For political and public service.

Barry Oakley DABELL, Head of Mechanical Support, Rolls-Royce and Associates Ltd.

Ian DALE, Higher Executive Officer, Board of Customs and Excise.

Desmond John DARTMOUTH. For political service. Jean Mary, Mrs. DAVIES, Higher Executive Officer, Board of Inland Revenue.

Frank Cecil DAVIS, Contributor on the decorative arts to Country Life Magazine.