Colin Gilbert JENNINGS, Senior Executive Officer,

Department of Employment

JOHNSTON, later lately Richard Edmund Chief Welfare Eastern Education Education and Library Board.

David Arthur JONES, General Adviser, Craft, Design and Technology, Bradford Local Education

Authority

John Emrys Oriel JONES. For services to agriculture. Thomas Henry JONES. For services to the fishing industry

William Victor JONES. For services to the Camping

and Caravanning Club

KATES. Norman Higher Professional and Technology Officer, Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Margaret Ferguson, Mrs. KELLAM. For services to the mentally handicapped in Northampton.

Miss Marion Miller KENNEDY, Typing Manager, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Ronald George KILLICK, lately Senior Safety Co-ordinator, Conoco United Kingdom Ltd.

Martha McCullough, Mrs. KIRKER, Chairman, Helping Hands Club, Muckamore Abbey Hospital, County Antrim.

KNIGHT, Francis Deryck lately Detective Superintendent, West Mercia Constabulary

Maria, Mrs. KNIGHT, Matron, Mid-Downs Health Authority.

James Stuart LACY, Local Officer I, Department of Health and Social Security

Audrey Doris, Mrs. LADD, Executive Officer, Department of the Environment.

Valerie Doreen, Mrs. LANGWEIL, Private Secretary, Medical Research Council.

Mary, Mrs. LARGE, Farmer, North Hykeham, Lincoln.

Miss Diana Joan LAVENDER, lately Computer Aided Design and Manufacture Controller, Air Weapons Division, Hatfield, British Aerospace plc.

Alan Albert LEACH, Technical Secretary, The Brewers Society.

Sylvia Mary, Mrs. LEACH, lately Headteacher, Harewood Lane First School, North Elmsall, West Yorkshire.

Ernest Alexander LESLIE, lately Senior Nurse, Ladysbridge Hospital, Banff.

Harry Stanley LEWIS, lately Senior Professional and Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Anne Jackson, Mrs. LIDDLE, Headteacher, Pentland Primary School, Billingham, Cleveland.

Catherine MacNaughton, Mrs. MacCUISH. For political and public service.

Elizabeth, Mrs. MacDONALD. For services to crofting

Thomas MacIVER. For political service.

Lachlan Hugh MACLACHLAN, lately Senior Executive Officer, Board of Customs and Excise.

Alistair Ian MacLEOD, Chairman, Dumfries and Galloway Committee for the Employment of Disabled Persons.

MACWORTH-PRAED, Humphrey Winthrop Conservation Committee, Surrey Chairman. Wildlife Trust

Peggy, Mrs. MAKEMAN, State Enrolled Nurse, Nottingham Area Health Authority.

Gordon MALPASS, Training Adviser, Product Engineering, Austin Rover Group Ltd.

Sylvia, Mrs. MARDER, Deputy Principal Solicitor, London Residuary Body

Thomas Edward MARRIOTT. For services to the Royal British Legion, Northern Ireland.

Dennis John MASON, Editor, Stroud News and Journal.

Clifford John MAXWELL. For services to Energy Conservation.

Max Heinz MAYER, Group Production Manager, Gomshall and Associated Tanneries Ltd.

Archibald McALPINE, Vice-Chairman, Vocational Education Council.

William McCALLUM, Chief Ambulance Officer, West Glamorgan Health Authority.

atrick John McCOY, Creamery Convenor, Amalgamated Transport and General Workers' Patrick Convenor, Union.

Bernard Garnett McCUSKER, General Manager, Operations, Port of Liverpool.

James Oliver McDONALD, Treasurer, Jubilee Trust and Prince's Trust, Northern Ireland.

Jean, Mrs. McGUIRE, Secretary, Maryhill Housing

Association, Glasgow

James Jackson McLACHLAN, Head of Exchange Maintenance Division, Northern Ireland District British Telecommunications plc.
Miss Jillian McWILLIAM (Mrs. Lee), Director,

Bejam Freezer Food Centres Ltd.

Edward MELLOR, Trade Secretary, British and South Asian Trade Association, The British Overseas Trade Board, Area Advisory Group. For services to Export.

Wendy May, Mrs. MERCIER, lately Headteacher, Hillcrest Special School, Dunstable, Bedfordshire.

Ronald Edward George MEYER, B.E.M. For services to the Scout Association.

William MIDDLETON, Alexander Manager, Pluscarden Farms, Elgin.

Alistair Robert MILNE, Technical Manager, Weapon Systems, Defence Systems Division, Vickers plc.

Miss Josephine Ann MORGAN, lately Senior

Midwifery Tutor, Lewisham and North Southwark. Alice Joyce, Miss MORRIS, Higher Executive Officer, Department of Health and Social Security

Miss Mary MURRAY. For services to the Scottish Fisheries Museum, Anstruther.

Alan David NICOL, Clerk, Castlereagh Borough Council, Northern Íreland.

William Ernest NOWILL. For services to the community in Sheffield.

Miss Judith Miriam OAKES. For services to Athletics. Hugh Patrick O'DONNELL, Inspector, Royal Ulster Constabulary.

Jean Constance, Mrs. OGDEN, Secretary and Organiser, The Norwich Society.

Miss Sadie O'KANE, Nursing Sister, Belfast City Hospital. Frederick Arthur John ORLEDGE, Production

Director, Wardle Storeys

Hugh Henry Bayley OSWELL, Managing Director, Submarine Products Ltd.

Keith Alexander PARDOE, B.E.M., Field Support Manager, Customer Support Division, Westland Group plc.

Noel PARRY. For services to the handicapped in Clwyd.

Alan PAUL. For political and public service.

John Hubert PETIT, lately Harbour Master, Guernsey.

James Garfield PHILLIPS. For services to agriculture in Wales.

Gerta Regine (Traudi), Mrs. PLESCH. For charitable

(Ruby) Norma, Mrs. POOLE, Superintendent, Thrapston Boat Station, Leicester Unit Sea Cadet Corps.