John Morgan JEREMY, Counsellor, Small Firms Service, Reading.

Thomas William Malcolm JOHN, Assistant Divisional Officer, South Glamorgan Fire Service.

Elizabeth Marion Elsie, Mrs. JOHNSON, Education Advisers' Co-ordinating Officer, London Borough of Hounslow.

Peter JOHNSON, Managing Director, Saltire Knitwear Ltd., Kilwinning.

William JOHNSON, lately Department Manager, Inspection and Instrumentation, Swinden Laboratories, British Steel plc.

James Alexander JOHNSTON, Superintendent, Fife Constabulary.

David Haydn JONES. For services to Agriculture in Wales.

Shankar Janardan JOSHI, Executive Officer, Board of Customs and Excise.

Dorothy Leonara, Mrs. KAVANAGH, County Adviser for Primary Education, Oxfordshire.

Miss Myra Evelyn KELLY, lately Matron, Ramsey Cottage Hospital, Isle of Man.

Mary, Mrs. KENNEDY, Administrative Officer, Department of the Environment.

Christopher Robin KIMBER, lately Chief Executive and General Secretary, Society of Licensed Victuallers.

Brian Michael KING, Higher Executive Officer, Department of Social Security.

Derek Antony KNIBBS, lately Manager, Personnel and Quality, Rank Xerox Ltd.

Derek Birchell LANE, Superintendent, Avon and Somerset Constabulary.

Helen Maeve, Mrs. LANIGAN WOOD, Curator, Fermanagh County Museum.

Lieutenant Commander Dennis LARKINS, Retd., Retired Officer II, Ministry of Defence.

Lancelot LAYCOCK, Volunteer Member, Kirkman and Rural Fylde, Citizens' Advice Bureau.

Ronald Geoffrey Stentiford LELEUX, Inspector (S), Board of Inland Revenue.

Evan LEWIS, General Secretary and Chief Executive Officer, Farmers' Union of Wales.

Gerwyn James LEWIS, Director, Welsh Division, National Farmers' Union.

George Frederick LINDOP. For services to Rugby Football League.

Miriam Jean, Mrs. LONG, Executive Officer, Lord Chancellor's Department.

William Douglas MacCONNACHIE, lately Area Wayleave Officer, North of Scotland Hydro-Electric Board.

Jean, Mrs. MACGREGOR, Director of Nurse Education Northallerton Health Authority.

Miss Avril Calder MACKIE. For services to the mentally handicapped in Glasgow.

Mary Elizabeth, Mrs. MACPHERSON, Headteacher, Balbardie Primary School, Bathgate, West Lothian.

George Millikin MALCOLM, Higher Executive Officer, Dounreay, United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority.

Joseph MALLOCH, President, Orkney Fisheries Association.

Roger Norris MANNS. For voluntary services to the Nene Valley Railway.

Robert Arthur John MARSHMAN, Finishing Manager, Western Board Ltd, Treforest, Mid-Glamorgan.

Kathleen Rose, Mrs. MARTIN, Head, Blackburn Minority Ethnic Group Support-Service, Lancashire.

Alan MARTINDALE, Deputy Secretary, Yorkshire Agricultural Society.

Miss Lilias Elizabeth MASON, lately Senior Professional and Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Pauline Kathleen Eleanor, Mrs. MATEER. For services to the Board of Visitors, Her Majesty's Prison, Belfast.

Miss Florence MATTHEWS, Administrative Officer, Department of Health.

John Joseph McAFEE, Chief Superintendent, Royal Ulster Constabulary.

James McCLATCHEY, Forest Education and Public Relations Officer, Department of Agriculture, Northern Ireland.

Doreen, Mrs. McCRAW, lately Finance Officer, Middlesex Probation Service.

James Craig McFADZEAN, Chairman, Lapwing Lodge Scout Training and Activity Centre, Paisley Denis McGRATH, Nursing Officer, Ards Hospital,

County Down.

Michael Mackay McINTYRE. For services to

Yachting.

Miss Clare McKERNAN, District Manager, Northern Ireland Housing Executive.

James Graham McKINNEY, Senior Business Adviser, North Yorkshire Development Commission.

William Gibb McKINNON, Regional Catering Officer, Home Office.

Robert McKNIGHT, Area Maintenance Manager, Ayrshire and Arran Health Board.

Benjamin McLEAN, Head of Department of Fabrication and Services Engineering, Telford College, Edinburgh.

Mary Katherine, Mrs. McSORLEY, Chairman, Magherafelt District Council.

Brenda Sharp, Mrs. McSTRAVOCK, Ward Sister, Acute Male Medical and Geriatric, Southport and Formby District Health Authority.

Keith MÉIKLE-JANNEY, Chief Service Engineer; Manager, Product Support Rolls Royce and Associates Ltd.

George Watson MIDDLETON, lately General Practitioner, Dyfed. For services to the community.

Charles Keith MILLMAN, General Dental Practitioner.

Duncan MILLS, Chairman, Loch Lomond Park Authority.

Alexander Hugh Bruce MITCHELL. For services to the housing construction industry in Scotland.

Edna, Mrs. MITCHELL, President, Family Contact Line, Altrincham.

Miss Janet Evelin Louise MOORES. For services to Glyndebourne.

Abraham MORGAN, President, North Monmouthshire Society for Mentally Handicapped Children.

Marilyn, Mrs. MORGAN, Speech Therapist, Mid-Glamorgan Health Authority.

Charles William MOXON, Owner, C. W. Moxon Ltd. Henry Farrow MUDD, Founder Director, Alpha Records. For services to English Church Music.

William MUIR, Principal Medical Laboratory Scientific Officer, Scottish National Blood Transfusion Service.

Peter George NEESON, Divisional Officer, Fire Authority for Northern Ireland.

Robert Bradshaw NEILLY, lately Deputy Chairman, Equal Opportunities Commission for Northern Ireland.