Master Aircrew Michael Allen John ANDERSON (S1943187), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer John Wilkins BEALE, B.E.M. (Q4115543), Royal Air Force.

Master Aircrew David Francis CLARKSON (U0683186), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Andrew Geoffrey COHEN (5203846), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Robert Bourke CUNNINGHAM (5202843), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer Brian GRINDROD (J1932912), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Eric HAYES (1922443), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Nigel Morrell HUCKINS (5201058), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader James Llyn JOHN (582609), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Denys Gilbert KINSELLA (193051), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

Squadron Leader David Anthony Ian FITZGERALD-LOMBARD (8022672), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Dennis Arthur LONGDEN (4257056), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Michael James McCLEAVE (209347), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve (Training).

Squadron Leader Gary Graham MARTIN (8023061), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Gwendoline Peggy PARIS (2655858), Women's Royal Auxiliary Air Force (Retired).

Warrant Officer Brian PROCTOR (R1935853), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader John Lawrence SHAW (4081448), Royal Air Force (Retired).

Flight Lieutenant (now Squadron-Leader) Alan Alfred SOUTH (5201975), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant (now Squadron-Leader) Alan James SWAN, Q.G.M., (685685), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Paul Royston THOMAS (5202367), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer Robert Lindsay THOMSON, B.E.M., (E4256158), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Christopher John TRIGG (5202334), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer David Gordon UMPLEBY (C1930324), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Phillip John WILCOCK (8026115), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer Edward Marcus WILLIS (H0588559), Royal Air Force.

Order of the British Empire (Civil Division)

D.B.E.

To be Ordinary Dames Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Miss Audrey Caroline EMERTON. For services to nursing.

Miss Janet Evelyn FOOKES, M.P. For political service

Margaret Louise, Mrs. FRY, O.B.E. For political and public service.

K.B.E.

To be Ordinary Knights Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Edward Alexander JOHNSTON, C.B., Government Actuary.

Peter Keith LEVENE, Chief of Defence Procurement, Ministry of Defence.

Sir David Chilton PHILLIPS, Professor of Molecular Biophysics, University of Oxford; Chairman, Advisory Board for the Research Council.

Ian Pelham TODD, President, Royal College of Surgeons.

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Peter Hugh ALEXANDER. For political and public service.

Thomas Boaz ALLEN, Opera Singer.

John Graeme ANDERSON, Executive Deputy Chairman, Northern Engineering Industries plc.

Alec Walter BARBOUR, President, Board of Governors, East of Scotland College of Agriculture. Brian James BEEDHAM, Foreign Editor, The

Economist.

David John BINNS, General Manager, Warrington and Runcorn Development Corporation.

Donald BISHOP, M.C., Chairman, Study Team on Professional Liability in the Construction Industry.

Alastair Kenneth Lamond BLACK, D.L., Under Sheriff, Greater London.

Peter Leahy BONFIELD, Chairman and Managing Director, ICL Ltd.

Peter Derek CARR, Regional Director, Northern Region Employment Service, Department of Employment.

Victor CHAMBERS, lately Chief Executive, Ulster Bank Ltd.

George CHARLTON, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Norfolk Constabulary.

Robert William COZENS, Q.P.M., lately Director, Police Requirements Support Unit, Home Office.

John Alister DAVIDSON, Director, Confederation of British Industry, Scotland.

Denis Fitzgerald DESMOND, Chairman, Desmond and Sons Ltd.

Patrick Lancaster DONOVAN, Chairman and Managing Director, Allied Mills Ltd.

Professor Ronald Philip DORE, Director, Japan-Europe Industry Research Centre, Imperial College, University of London.

Norman Gordon Edward DUNLOP, Finance Director, British Airways plc.

Gerard Howard FAIRTLOUGH, Chief Executive, Celltech Group plc.

Frank FITZGERALD, Board Member and Managing Director, Technical, British Steel Corporation plc.

Kenneth Peter FOGGO, Partner, Arup Associates. Brian Leslie FULLER, Q.F.S.M., Chief Fire Officer, West Midlands Fire Service.

Derrick John FULLER, Grade 4, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Norman GASH, Historian. Emeritus Professor, University of St. Andrews.

John Glen Mackay GAU, Independent Television Producer.

Lester Joseph GEORGE, President, Manchester Chamber of Commerce and Industry.