NEWARK AND SHERWOOD DISTRICT COUNCIL

CLEAN AIR ACT (AS AMENDED)

The Newark and Sherwood District Council (No. 13) Smoke Control Order 1990

Notice is hereby given that the Newark and Sherwood District Council in exercise of the powers conferred on them by section 11 of the Clean Air Act 1956 (as amended) intend to make an Order entitled "The Newark and Sherwood District Council (No. 13) Smoke Control Order 1989" declaring the area described in the Schedule hereto to be a smoke control area.

Subject to the exemptions provided by the Order and by virtue of section 11(2) of the Act if, on any day after the Order has come into operation, smoke is emitted from a chimney of any building within the smoke control area, the occupier of that building shall be guilty of an offence and liable to a fine not exceeding level 3 on the standard scale, unless he proves that the emission of smoke was not caused by the use of any fuel other than an authorised fuel. The authorised fuels include anchracite, coke and other carbonised fuels, gas and electricity.

A copy of the Order and of the map referred to therein may be inspected free of charge at the offices of Newark and Sherwood District Council, Kelham Hall, Kelham, Newark, Notts at all reasonable times during the period of 6 weeks from 30th August 1990.

Within the same period any person who will be affected by the Order may by notice in writing to the Council, object to the making of the Order.

R. G. Dix, Director of Administration Newark and Sherwood District Council.

SCHEDULE

The area is in the west part of the district of Bilsthorpe containing approximately 77 hectares and incorporating some 350 dwellings and sundry other premises. The area is bounded on the west side by Ordnance Survey Line SK 6490/6050 south to SK 6490/5940. On the south side by Ordnance Survey Line SK 6490/5940 to the SK 6560/5940. On the east side by Ordnance line SK 6560/5940 to the north to SK 6560/6050. On the north side by Ordnance Survey line SK 6490/6050 east to SK 6560/6050.

Contained within the defined area are the following roads or streets:

Archer Drive Benet Drive Bungalow Lane Chapel Gardens Cheyne Drive Church Hill Clumber Way Farnsfield Road

23rd August 1990.

Kirklintton Road The Moor Maid Marion Ave Oak Tree Drive Rufford Close St. Margarets Close Wycar Leys

Highfields Drive

GAS ACTS

BRITISH GAS Plc

The Gas (Declaration of Calorific Value) Regulations 1972 The Gas (Metrication) Regulations 1980

Notice is hereby given that, in pursuance of Regulation 4 of the Gas (Declaration of Calorific Value) Regulations 1972 and Regulation 3(3) of the Gas (Metrication) Regulations 1980, the calorific value of all gas supplied by British Gas Plc on or after 1st October 1990 in the area described by reference to Local Authority Districts shall be as set out in the Schedule.

The said area is delineated by a green line on a map signed by the under-signed and kept at the offices of British Gas Plc North Thames at the following address:

North Thames House, London Road, Staines, Middlesex TW18 4AE, where it is open to inspection by any consumer at all reasonable times free of charge.

THE SCHEDULE

A Calorific Value of 38.1 Megajouls per cubic metre (1,021 British Thermal Units per cubic foot)

In the following Local Authority Districts

List of Local Authorities which are fully covered by British Gas North Thames. List of Local Authorities which are covered partly by British Gas North Thames.

Bracknell Development Corporation Bracknell District Council

London Borough of Barnet

Brentwood District Council

Chelmsford District Council

Chiltern District Council

Essex County Council

Dacorum District Council

Elmbridge Borough Council

Epping Forest District Council

London Borough of Haringey

London Borough of Harrow

London Borough of Barking Basildon Development Corporation Basildon District Council South Bucks District Council London Borough of Brent London Borough of Camden Castle Point District Council London Borough of Ealing London Borough of Hackney London Borough of Hanmersmith and Fulham

London Borough of Havering London Borough of Hillingdon London Borough of Hounslow London Borough of Islington Corporation of the City of

London Royal Borough of Kensington and Chelsea

London Borough of Newham London Borough of Redbridge Rochford District Council Runnymede Borough Council Slough Borough Council Southend-on-Sea Borough Council Thurrock Borough Council London Borough of Tower

Hamlets London Borough of Waltham Forest

City of Westminster

(729)

Royal Borough of Windsor and Maidenhead

British Gas Plc,

North Thames, North Thames House, London Road, Staines, Middlesex TW18 4AE.

30th August 1990.

Hertsmere Borough Council Royal Borough of Kingstonupon-Thames London Borough of Lambeth London Borough of Richmondupon-Thames London Borough of Southwark Spelthorne Borough of Southwark Spelthorne Borough Council Borough of Surrey Heath Three Rivers District Council London Borough Council Woking Borough Council Wycombe District Council

M. J. Piper, Regional Secretary

(721)