- William David PEIRSE, Headmaster, St Aidan's Church of England High School, Preesall, Blackpool, Lancashire.
- Gilmour PEMBERTON, Local Officer I, Department of Social Security.
- **PIERONI**. Peter Manager, International Distribution, BP Chemicals Ltd.
- Miss Beatrice Anne PITCHER. For charitable services
- Sheilah Maureen, Mrs. PITMAN. For political service.
- Bernard Walter POTTER, Prison Visitor, H.M. Prison, Canterbury,
- Miss Jean Elizabeth NUNN-PRICE, Grade 7, Science and Engineering Research Council.
- Miss Edna Mary PROCTER, Senior Midwifery Manager, Maternity, Grimsby.
- David Cavanagh RAINFORD, Member, Area VII, Whitefish Industry Advisory Committee.
- Mavis Maureen, Mrs. RAPER, lately Health Visitor, Clinic. Berwick-upon-Tweed, Tweedmouth Northumberland.
- William Leslie RAYMOND. For services to farming and community affairs.
- John James REID, Accounts Office Manager, British Nuclear Fuels.
- Miss Rosemary Ann Lloyd ROBERTS, Assistant
- Secretary (Wales), British Medical Association. Wilfred ROBERTS, Head, Whitewares Division, British Ceramic Research Ltd.
- Freda Lenice, Mrs. ROBERTSON, Senior Sister, Twin Operating Theatres, Derbyshire Royal Infirmary
- Frederick Singer ROBERTSON, Executive Officer, Department of the Environment.
- Major John Christopher ROBINSON. For political service.
- Christina, Mrs. ROBSON. For political service.
- Morag McGilp, Mrs. ROSIE, Director, Friends for the Young Deaf.
- Glyn ROSSER. For services to the Deaf.
- Agnes Muriel, Mrs. ROXBURGH, Warden, Leith House Hostel for Men, Edinburgh.
- John Richard RUSSELL, lately Higher Executive Officer, Office of Population Censuses and Surveys.
- Harry Roy RYALS. For services to the Royal Pigeon Racing Association.
- James Riccardo SALANDIN, lately Secretary, Friends of St Paul's Cathedral.
- Catherine SANDERSON, Miss Accident and Emergency Sister, St John's Hospital, Livingston.
- Robert Anthony SAREEN, Executive Manager, Oxford Instruments Group plc.
- Beryl, Mrs. SAUNDERS, Member, London Borough of Croydon.
- Jane, Mrs. SAXBY. For services to the National Federation of Community Service.
- John SCRUTON. For services to conservation in High Wycombe.
- Charles SELLERS, Senior Master, De La Salle Sixth Form College, Salford.
- iss Mary Elizabeth SEYMOU Executive, Board of Inland Revenue. SEYMOUR. Revenue Miss
- Miss Eva SHACKLETON. For services to the Thanet Division, Soldiers', Sailors' and Airmen's Families Association.
- Henry Alan SHADRACK. For services to the community in Chelmsford, Essex.
- Kanta Kumari, Mrs. SHARMA, Executive Officer, Department of Social Security.
- Mary Ross, Mrs. SHEPHARD, lately Chairman, Agricultural Wages Committee and Agricultural

Dwelling House Advisory Committee for Gloucestershire, Avon and Wiltshire.

- Miss Dorothy Elizabeth SHERIDAN. Archivist. Mass Observation Archive, University of Sussex.
- Martin Arthur SIBSON, County Emergency Planning Officer, Essex County Council.
- Irene Maude, Mrs. SINGLETON, Higher Executive Officer, Department for National Savings.
- Jean Mary, Mrs. SLATER, Higher Executive Officer, Employment Service, Department of Employment.
- Jean, Mrs. SLESSER, Director of Tourism, Inverness, Loch Ness and Nairn Tourist Board.
- Miss Valerie Ann SLOAN, Inspector Grade III, Department of Agriculture, Northern Ireland.
- David Walter SMITH, Higher Professional and Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence. Heather Ruth, Mrs. BANKS-SMITH, Associate
- Specialist, North Hertfordshire Health Authority.
- Michael Henry SMITH, lately District Estates Officer, Gateshead Health Authority.
- Pamela Jeanne, Mrs. GRIFFIN-SMITH. For political service.
- Brian Sydney SNOOK, Regional Organiser, Institute of Advanced Motorists. For services to Road Safety.
- Wing Commander Kenneth Edwin SOAL, Assistant Secretary, Wing Committee and Civilian Committee Secretary, No. 149 (Poole) Squadron, Air Training Corps.
- Charles SOLOMONS, Sales Executive, Brown and Perring London.
- John Drew SPROSON, Senior Dental Officer, Kettering and Northampton Health Authority.
- Miss Ann Ferguson STEWART, Inspector of Taxes (S), Board of Inland Revenue.
- Miss Alison Jane STREETER. For services to Swimming.
- Andrew SUTHERLAND, Adviser for Scotland, Concrete Advisory Service.
- John SUTTON, Leader, Broxtowe Borough Council, Nottinghamshire.
- Andrew John SWANSON, Assistant Company Secretary, National Power.
- Ernest Louis SYMES. For services to the community in Ilkeston, Derbyshire.
- The Reverend Prebendary Clive Cavanagh TAYLOR, Force Chaplain, Metropolitan Police.
- Joseph TAYLOR. For services to the community in Leeds.
- Noreen Barbara, Mrs. TAYLOR, Director of Services, Isle of Wight Society for the Blind.
- Miss Aurelie Georgina TEES, Domestic Bursar, Keele University.
- Robert David THOMAS, Divisional Officer III, Gwynedd Fire Service.
- The Reverend Thomas Arwyn THOMAS, Vice-Chairman, Pembrokeshire Health Authority.
- Ronald Edward THOMPSON, Senior Reporter and Interviewer, Grampian Television.
- Christopher William THURMAN, Economist and Statistician, Brewers' Society.
- Ivor Sigmund TIEFENBRUN, Chairman and Director, Products Managing Linn Ltd., Eaglesham, Glasgow.
- Basil Ashton TINKLER, Manager, Flood Defences, National Rivers Authority, Wessex Region.
- Miss Jane Elizabeth TOZER, Chief Executive, Softwright Systems.
- Malcolm Colin TREACHER. For services to the Scout Association, Essex County.
- Esther Jean, Mrs. TRENOUTH. For services to the community in St. Merryn and Padstow, Cornwall.