K.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Knight Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Sir Charles Keith FROSSARD, Bailiff of Guernsey.

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Robert Wadsworth ADCOCK, D.L., Chief Executive and Clerk, Essex County Council.

Professor David ALLEN, Director, Strategic Financial Management Ltd.

Ian David Stafford BEER, lately Head Master, Harrow School.

Roger Humphrey BOISSIER, Chairman, Pressac Holdings plc.

Jack Wilkinson BOWMAN, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Tayside Police.

William Charles Langdon BROWN, O.B.E., lately Group Deputy Chairman and Deputy Group Chief Executive, Standard Chartered Bank plc.

The Honourable James Michael Edward BRUCE, Chairman, Scottish Woodlands Ltd.

Douglas Milne CARGILL. For services to Agriculture in Scotland. President, Scottish Agricultural Organisation Society.

Professor Henry CHARNOCK, Member, Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution. For services to environmental protection.

John Trevor CLIFFE, lately Grade 5, Ministry of Defence.

Brigadier James Alan Comrie COWAN, M.B.E., (Ret'd.) Secretary, Government Hospitality Fund. Ronald George COXFORD, National Purchasing

Executive, N.H.S. Supplies Authority.
Michael Joseph CRUMPTON, Director of Research

(Laboratories), Imperial Cancer Research Fund. Otto Charles DARBY, Chairman, Birmingham Training and Enterprise Council; Chief Executive, Bass Taverns Ltd., Director, Bass plc.

Gareth DAVIES, Chairman and Chief Executive, Glynwed International plc.

Andrew Frank DAVIS, Chief Conductor, British Broadcasting Corporation Symphony Orchestra.

James Allan DENHOLM, Chairman, East Kilbride Development Corporation.

Peter DOYLE, Director, Group Research and Technology, Imperial Chemical Industries plc.

Miss Rachael Mary DYCHE. For political service. James Thompson EATON, T.D., Chairman, Londonderry Port and Harbour Commissioners.

Thomas EDGE, Chairman, Clothing and Allied Products Industry Training Board; Chairman, CAPITB Trust.

John Cooper EDWARDS, lately Grade 5, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Richard Charles Hastings EYRE, Director, Royal National Theatre.

Denis Edwin FILER, T.D., Director General, Engineering Council.

Thomas FINNEY, O.B.E. For services to Association Football.

David FORREST, Secretary to the Board and Executive Director, Charity Commission.

Malcolm John FRAZER, Director and Chief Executive, Council for National Academic Awards.

Sister Maire Teresa GALLAGHER, O.B.E., lately Chairman, Scottish Consultative Council on the Curriculum.

Peter GALLIFORD, O.B.E., Chairman, Galliford plc.

Norman John GARROD, Chairman, Printers Charitable Corporation; Chairman, Publication Committee, The Royal Jubilee Trusts. For Charitable services.

John GOLDING, Artist. Lately Trustee, Tate Gallery.

Ronald Cairns GRAHAM, General Manager, Tayside Health Board.

Kenneth Walter GRAY, Technical Director, Thorn EMI plc.

Professor Cecil GRAYSON. For services to Italian studies.

Thomas Lloyd GRIEVSON, Chairman, Hunting BRAE Ltd; Managing Director, Defence Division, Hunting plc.

Margaret McArthur, Mrs. HALL, Director, Legal Services Scottish Enterprise.

Steven Fraser HAMILTON, lately Town Clerk and Chief Executive, City of Glasgow District Council.

Professor John Malcolm HARRINGTON, Chairman, Industrial Injuries Advisory Council.

Kenneth HARRIS. For services to Journalism.

John Anthony HARVEY, Chairman and Chief Executive, Tibbet and Britten Group plc.

John Smith HARVIE. For political and public service. Miss Catherine Eileen HAWKINS, Regional General Manager and Regional Nursing Officer, South Western Regional Health Authority.

Henry Dickens Bourchier HAWKSLEY, Chairman, Wine Standards' Board of the Vintners' Company.

Alan HAYES, Chairman, European Trade Committee and Member, British Overseas Trade Board; Chief Executive Officer, Agrochemicals and Seeds; Imperial Chemical Industries plc. For Services to Export.

Giles Ian HENDERSON, Partner, Slaughter and May (Solicitors).

Robin Granville HODGSON. For political service.

Professor Jean Elizabeth HOOPER, Principal, Solent School of Health Studies, Portsmouth.

Alistair Allan HORNE, Historian and Journalist.

Brian Wardell JAMES, Grade 5, Treasury Solicitor's Department.

David Noel JAMES, Chairman, Davies and Newman; 'Company Doctor' for this and other companies.

Malcolm Alexander JEEVES, Professor Psychology, University of St. Andrews.

William Bryan JENNETT, Professor of Neurosurgery, Institute of Neurological Sciences, University of Glasgow.

David William Felix JOHNSON, lately Grade 5, Department of Trade and Industry.

Glynn JONES, Western Circuit Administrator, Lord Chancellor's Department.

William Brian JORDAN, President, Amalgamated Engineering Union.

Brian KEENAN. For courage and fortitude while held hostage in the Lebanon.

Robert Evan KENDELL. For services to medical education.

Professor David Nicol Sharp KERR, formerly Dean, Royal Postgraduate Medical School. Professor of Renal Medicine, University of London.

David Trevor KNOWLES, National Chairman, The Royal British Legion.

Frank LEDGER, O.B.E., Deputy Chairman, Nuclear Electric plc.

James Taylor MacDOUGALL, Procurator Fiscal, Dumfries.

Jack (Jackie) MANN. For courage and fortitude while held hostage in the Lebanon.