C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Miss Ingrid Victoria ALLEN (Mrs. Barnes), Professor of Neuropathology, Queen's University, Belfast. Consultant and Director, Northern Ireland Regional Neuropathology Service.

Richard ARMSTRONG, Conductor.

Frank BARLOW, Managing Director and Chief Operating Officer, Pearson Group plc. For services

to the Newspaper Industry.

John Alfred BARNES, Director-General, City and Guilds of London Institute. For services to Vocational Training.

Peter George BEAZLEY, M.E.P., Member of the European Parliament for Bedfordshire South. For political service.

Kenneth BELLAMY, Grade 5, Department of Social Security.

John Evelyn BERINGER, Professor of Molecular Genetics, Bristol University. For services to Science.

Robin Russell Clive BLOOMFIELD, Farmer. Chairman, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food's Anglia Regional Panel. For services to Agriculture.

Lester BORLEY, lately The Director, National Trust for Scotland.

Peter BOWRING. For voluntary services to the Arts and to the Elderly.

The Lord John Ulick Knatchbull BRABOURNE, Film and Television Producer.

Charles Barrie BYFORD, O.B.E. For political and

public service.

Gerard Anthony Dillon COGHLAN, O.B.E., Chairman, West Birmingham Health Authority.

Patrick John Anson COLDSTREAM, Director, The Council for Industry and Higher Education.

The Reverend Frederick Charles COPLESTON, Professor Emeritus of the History of Philosophy, Heythrop College, London.

Roger David CORLEY, Managing Director, Clerical, Medical and General Life Assurance Society. For services to the Insurance Industry.

Sidney COROB. For services to Christian-Jewish relations and for charitable services.

Leslie CROWTHER, President, Lord's Taverners. For charitable services.

Alexander DALY, Managing Director, Engineered and Agritechnical Products, GKN plc. For services to the Engineering Industry.

David Gwilym Evans DAVIES. For services to Local Government and to the Community in West Wales. Peter Henry DEAN, Deputy Chairman, Monopolies and Mergers Commission. For services to Industry.

John Christopher Paul EDMONDS, Member, British Railways Board.

Frederick Michael EVERARD, President, Chamber of Shipping. Chairman, F. T. Everard and Sons Limited. For services to the Shipping Industry.

Brian Leonard EYRE, Chief Executive and Deputy
Chairman, United Kingdom Atomic Energy
Authority.

Andrew FERGUSON, Grade 5, Her Majesty's Board of Customs and Excise.

Edwin Peter FODEN, Chairman and Chief Executive, ERF (Holdings) plc. For services to the Truck Industry.

Colin John FORD, Head, National Museum of Photography, Film and Television, Bradford.

Anthony David GARRETT, Deputy Master and Comptroller, Royal Mint.

James Melville GOODSMAN. For political service. David John GRAHAM, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Cheshire Constabulary.

Professor Duncan Joseph GREENWOOD, F.R.S., Head, Department of Soils and Crop Nutrition, Horticulture Research International, Wellesbourne. For services to Plant Nutrition and Soil Science.

Peter Brian GREENWOOD. For political service. Harold Hastings GUNSON, National Director, National Directorate of the Blood Transfusion Service. For services to Medicine.

Raymond Walter HALL, Executive Director of Operations, Nuclear Electric plc.

Arthur Richard COLE-HAMILTON, lately Chief Executive, Clydesdale Bank plc. For services to Banking.

Michael HART, Professor of Physics, University of Manchester.

David Anthony Crichton HEIGHAM, Economist Grade 5, Department of the Environment.

Frank Charles HENSHAW, lately General Manager, Milton Keynes Development Corporation.

John Mackintosh HOWIE, Regius Professor of Mathematics, University of St. Andrews. For services to Education.

Edward Charles HUMPHREYS, Main Board Director, Dalgety plc. For services to the Flour Milling Industry.

David Charles INGMAN, Chairman, British Waterways Board.

John David JACKSON, Chairman and Chief Executive, The Centaur Clothes Group Limited. For services to the Clothing Industry.

Professor William Philip Trehearne JAMES, Director, Rowett Research Institute, Aberdeen. For services to Science.

John Francis JARVIS, Owner, Jarvis Hotels. For services to Tourism.

Peter John JONAS, General Director, English National Opera.

Arthur Edward JONES, President, International Badminton Federation. For services to Badminton. James Ogilvie KEIR, Director Supply, Rolls-Royce

plc. For services to the Aero-engine Industry.

Professor David Hamilton LAWSON. For services to the Committee on the Review of Medicines.

Robert John LEWIS, Director of Social Services, Stockport.

Viscount Richard Gerard LONG, Lord in Waiting (Government Whip). For political service.

Robert Graham LUSK, Grade 5, H.M. Board of Inland Revenue.

Michael John MANSER, Principal, Manser Associates. For services to Architecture.

Clive Roger MASON, lately President, Institute of Purchasing and Supply. For services to Industry.

John MATHER, Chairman and Chief Executive, Clydeport Limited.

Charles Middleton Allen McCARTHY, Deputy Chairman, McCain Foods GB Limited. For services to the Potato Processing Industry.

Donald McCULLIN, Freelance Photojournalist. Terence Patrick MELIA, lately Chief Inspector, H.M. Inspectorate of Schools.

Anthony Patrick MITCHELL, Chairman, Van Heyningen Brothers Limited. For services to Horticulture.

John MOORES, Chairman of Governors, Liverpool. John Moores University.

Alexander Fraser MORRISON, Chairman and Managing Director, Morrison Construction Group Limited. For services to the Construction Industry.