Peter BLOOMFIELD. For political service.

Raymond BRADLEY, Grade 5, Central Veterinary Laboratory Executive Agency, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Alexander John BROWNLIE, Chairman, BSW Timber plc. For services to the Forestry Industry. Jack BUGGE, Grade 5, Her Majesty's Board of

Customs and Excise.

Professor Derek BURKE, Vice Chancellor, University of East Anglia. For services to Education.

Keith BURY, European Director, Wessex Waste Management Ltd. For services to the Waste Disposal Industry.

Miss Shirley Patricia CARTER, Grade 5, Central Statistical Office.

William George Key CARTER, West Midlands Senior Partner, Price Waterhouse. For services to Accountancy and to the community in the West Midlands.

Peter Graham CORBETT, Chief Financial Officer and Director, Eurotunnel. For services to the Transport Industry.

John Cecil Andrew CRAWFORD, Chairman, Motherwell Bridge Holdings Ltd. For services to

the Engineering Industry.

Maurice (Peter) CRICHTON, Chairman, Irvine Development Corporation. For charitable services in Glasgow and for services to the New Town Movement in Scotland.

Edwin James DAVIES. For services to Local Government in Wales.

Francis Howard Vincent DAVIS, Chairman, Specialist Refractory Services Ltd. For services to the Chamber of Commerce Movement in the West Midlands.

Sylvia Elaine, Mrs. DENHAM. For services to Equal Opportunities and to Race Relations.

Professor George Mackenzie DUNNET, O.B.E., Chairman, Salmon Advisory Committee. For services to Conservation.

Stuart Grant ERRINGTON, Chairman, National Association of Citizens' Advice Bureaux.

Ian Trevor FIELD, lately Secretary, British Medical Association. For services to Medicine.

Patrick FITZPATRICK, Chairman, Fitzpatrick plc. For services to the Engineering Industry.

Professor Royston Miles GOODE, O.B.E., Chairman, Pension Law Review Committee.

Monique Sylvaine, Mrs GRAY (Her Honour Judge Viner, Q.C.). For services to the Wages Councils.

Victor GREENE, Grade 5, Office of Standards in Education.

John Francis GREETHAM, Chairman, St James's University Hospital NHS Trust. For services to Health Care.

Professor John Charles GUNN, Professor of Forensic Psychiatry, Institute of Psychiatry, London. For services to Medicine.

Professor Michael John HAMLIN, Principal and Vice Chancellor, University of Dundee. For services to Education.

Christopher HAMPSON, Executive Director, Imperial Chemical Industries plc. For services to Environmental Protection.

Roger John HARRIS, Chairman, South West Industrial Development Board. For services to Economic and Industrial Development in Devon and Cornwall.

John Eastcott HAYZELDEN, Chief Executive, United Kingdom Passport Agency.

John Gore HAZELWOOD, Chairman, Gloucestershire Training and Enterprise Council. For services to Training.

Victor HOCHHAUSER, Concert Promoter. For services to the Arts.

Edward Robert JOBSON, O.B.E., National Chairman, The Royal British Legion.

Howard JONES, President, International Ostomy Association. For voluntary Health Care services.

Denis LANIGAN, Chairman. North America Advisory Group. For services to Overseas Trade and to Export.

Professor Alan James LEADBETTER, Director, Daresbury Laboratory, Science and Engineering Research Council. For services to Science.

Dr. Ian Heaps LONGWORTH, Keeper, Department of Prehistoric and Romano-British Antiquities, British Museum.

Christopher Tullis LUCAS, Director, Royal Society for the encouragement of Arts, Manufactures and Commerce (RSA).

Richard Cornelius MacCORMAC, lately President, Royal Institute of British Architects. For services to Architecture.

Rosalind Jean, Mrs. MACKWORTH, Social Fund Commissioner for Great Britain and for Northern Ireland.

Hugh Ward Clannachan MACMILLAN, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Northern Constabulary, Scotland. For services to the Police.

Sydney MASON, Life President, Hammerson plc. For services to the Arts.

Professor John David McCLEAN, Chairman, House of Laity, the General Synod of the Church of England. For services to the Church of England.

Professor John Joseph McCUTCHEON, Professor of Actuarial Studies, Heriot-Watt University, Edinburgh. For services to the Actuarial Profession.

William Robert MEADOWS, D.L. For political and public service.

John William MELBOURN. For services to Banking. Graham MELDRUM, Q.F.S.M., Chief Fire Officer, West Midlands Fire Service. For services to the Fire Services.

Lieutenant Commander Brian MILES, R.D., Director Royal National Lifeboat Institution.

Raymond Geoffrey MONBIOT, M.B.E. For political and public service.

Peter Lawrence MORLEY, Chairman, National Retail Training Council. For services to Training and to the Retail Industry.

Timothy Denis MORRIS, D.L., For services to the Newspaper Industry.

William Garth MORRISON, D.L., Chief Scout. For services to Scouting.

Gerald Brian NELSON, Chairman, Home Grown Cereals Authority. For services to Agriculture.

Adam Matthew NEVILLE, M.C., Consultant and Arbitrator, A and M Neville Engineering. For services to Science and Technology.

Albert Howard PACEY, Q.P.M., lately Chief Constable, Gloucestershire Constabulary and Director General of the National Criminal Intelligence Service. For services to the Police.

Colin Stuart PATERSON, Managing Director, Caledonian MacBrayne. For services to Shipping and to the Highlands and Islands.