Philip John WATSON, Sub-Divisional Officer, Hampshire Special Constabulary.

Barbara Louisa, Mrs. WATTS, Administrative Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Maimie, Mrs. WAUGH. For services to Action Multiple Sclerosis.

Kathleen, Mrs. WEBBER, Personal Secretary to the Chaplain General, Ministry of Defence.

Robert William WEIR, Farmer. For services to Agriculture.

Leonard WEST, lately Caretaker, Rectory Paddock School and Research Unit, Orpington, Kent. For services to Education.

Patrick Arthur WHITE, Director, Research and Development, Courtaulds Fibres Tencel. For scientific services to the Textile Industry.

Susan, Mrs. WHITE. For services to the Butchers and Drovers Charitable Institution.

Gordon Stewart WHYTE. For services to the Welsh National Opera.

Margaret Winifred, Mrs. WIGGETT, School Crossing Patrol, Luton, Bedfordshire. For services to Road Safety.

William Scrimger WILKIE. For services to the All Scotland Accordion and Fiddle Festival.

Douglas WILKINS, Carpenter and Handyman, Chequers Estate. For services to the Chequers Estate.

Edward Ralph WILKINS, Purchasing Officer, Institute of Arable Crops Research, Long Ashton, Bristol. For services to Science.

Joan Mary, Mrs. WILKINS. For services to the community in Compton, Berkshire.

James Roy WILKINSON. For charitable services in Lanarkshire.

Miss Rowena Mary WILKINSON, Senior Executive Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Geoffrey Albert WILLIAMS, Secretary, West Mercia Police Federation Joint Branch Board.

Reginald WILLIAMS, Divisional Officer, St. John Ambulance Brigade, Wrexham, Clwyd.

Winifred Dorothy, Mrs. WILMINGTON. For services to the community in Somerset.

Ann Rosemary, Mrs. WILSON. For services to Young People with Specific Learning Difficulties.

Geoffrey Joseph WILSON, lately Buildings Officer, London School of Economics. For services to Education.

Randle Herford WILSON. For political service.

Robert Francis WILSON, Principal Technical Officer, Quality Control (Central Stores), Boots Contract Manufacturing, Boots Company plc. For services to Stores Management.

Edward Henry WINDROSS. For services to Army Transport.

Maureen Janis, Mrs. WINTER, Higher Executive Officer, Home Office.

Annie Mollie, Mrs. WOOD, lately Court Usher, Mark Cross Magistrates' Court, Rotherfield, East Sussex. For services to the Magistracy.

Rachel Nina, Mrs. WOOD, President, Guernsey Association for the Blind. For services to Blind People.

Derek James WOODWARD, Governor 4, Her Majesty's Prison Swaleside.

Augustus Edwin Charles WORLEDGE, lately Superintendent of Works, South East Territorial, Auxiliary and Volunteer Reserve Association.

Denis Frederick Barker WRIGHT. For services to the community in Littlebury, Essex.

Douglas Stewart WRIGHT, Director, Keep Scotland Beautiful. For services to Environmental Protection.

Miss Margaret Judith WRIGHT. For services to the Royal Institution.

Graham William YATES, Services Controller Centrewest, London Buses Ltd. For services to Public Transport.

DIPLOMATIC SERVICE AND OVERSEAS LIST

D.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Dame Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Dr. Majorie Louise BEAN, O.B.E. For services to education and the community in Bermuda.

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

CHAU Tak-hay, J.P., Secretary for Trade and Industry, Hong Kong.

Professor The Honourable Edward CHEN Kwan-yiu, J.P., Director, Centre of Asian Studies, Hong Kong University.

Professor CHENG Yiu-chung, Director, City Polytechnic, Hong Kong.

Miss Mary Louise CROLL, H.M. Ambassador, San Jose.

Anthony Gordon EASON, J.P., Secretary for Planning, Environment and Lands, Hong Kong.

The Honourable Howard Archibald FERGUS, O.B.E., Speaker of the Legislative Council, Montserrat.

Dr. Valerie Jane GOODALL. For services to zoology. Gordon Graham LAYTON, O.B.E. For services to the community in Pakistan.

Barrie Dale LINLEY. For services to British commercial interests in the United States.

Ronald SAMPSON, lately Chief Executive, Falkland Islands Government.

Peter John SMITH, H.M. Ambassador, Antananarivo.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Nicholas John Lewis BUSVINE, First Secretary, British Embassy, Maputo.

Dr. Hugh Maurice CARPENTER, Regional Medical Officer, H.M. Embassy, Moscow.

David Thomas Rhys CARSE, Deputy Chief Executive, Hong Kong Monetary Authority.

Peter Warren CHANDLEY, M.V.O., Deputy Head of Mission, British Embassy, Bogota

of Mission, British Embassy, Bogota.

CHAU How-chen, M.B.E., J.P. For services to the community in Hong Kong.

CHUNG Po Yang. For services to the arts in Hong

Kong.
Dr. Kenneth Geoffrey CHURCHILL, Director,

British Council, Brussels.

Anthony Temple COPE. For services to the British community in the United States.

Ian Lawrence CROCKER. For services to British commercial interests in Portugal.