John Michael HILLIER, Director of Administration, West Midlands Police. For services to the Police.

Anthony John HIRST, Director, the Boat Museum and lately Chairman, Association of Independent Museums. For services to Museums.

Lieutenant Colonel Raymond Reginald HOLLAND M.B.E., B.E.M. For services to Disabled Ex-Servicemen and Women.

Derek Peter HOLLEY. For political and public service.

Miss Doreen Mary HORRIDGE, lately Grade 6, Department of Health.

David Morgan HUGHES, Chief Conservator (Wales), Forestry Commission.

Mohammed Hamid HUSAIN, General Medical Practitioner, Rotherham, South Yorkshire. For services to Medicine.

Eileen Isobel Mary, Mrs. HUTTON, lately President National Childbirth Trust. For services to Health Care in the Maternity Services.

Kazuo ISHIGURO, Writer. For services Literature.

Norma Jean, Mrs. IZARD. For services to Women's Cricket.

Christopher Robert JACKSON, Member, Wales Tourist Board. For services to Tourism in Wales. Malcolm Stuart JACKSON, lately Grade 6,

Department of Social Security.

JACOBSON, Consultant Neurosurgeon, Ivan Dundee Royal Infirmary. For services to Medicine.

Saeed JAFFREY, Actor. For services to Drama. Roy Arthur JEFFREYS, Honorary Treasurer, the Royal Society of Chemistry. For services to Science.

Kevin John JENKINS, Co-founder and Children and Youth Team Manager, Community Links. For services to Young People.

William Anthony JERRETT. For services to

Medicine in Wales.

Michael John JEWITT, District Inspector, Her

Majesty's Board of Inland Revenue.

Gareth JONES. For services to the community, particularly Disabled People, in Wales.

Jackie, Mrs. JENKIN-JONES. For political and public service.

Janet Eveline, Mrs. JONES. For services to Education and to Women's Issues.

John Lloyd JONES, Chairman, National Farmers' Union Welsh Council. For services to Agriculture in Wales.

JONES, Catherine, Margaret Mrs. Headteacher, Ysgol Pendalar, Caernarfon, Gwynedd. For services to Education.

Sydney JONES, Chief Executive, the Boys' Brigade. For services to Young People.

David Graham KEENLESIDE. For services to the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology.

Michael John KENDRICK, Director of Planning and Transportation, Northamptonshire County Council. For services to Road Safety.

Arthur Henry William KENNARD, I.S.O., President, National Committee of Valuation Tribunals and President, Buckinghamshire Valuation Tribunal. For services to Valuation Tribunals.

Joanna Alicia Gore, Mrs. KENNEDY, Associate Director, Ove Arup and Partners. For services to

Women in Engineering.

John Patrick KENNEDY. For legal services to the Band Aid Trust.

Denis Patrick Gerard KEOGH, Deputy Director, Northern Ireland Works Organisation.

Abdul Qadeer KHAN, Head, South Yorkshire Waste Regulation Unit. For services to Environmental Protection.

Mohammed Akram KHAN, Grade 6, Office for Standards in Education.

Ronnie KING, Q.F.S.M., Chief Fire Officer, Dyfed County Fire Brigade. For services to the Fire Service.

John KINGDOM, Grade 6, Department of the Environment.

Rosemary Davina, Lady. KINGSDOWN, lately President, British Red Cross Society, Kent. For services to the British Red Cross Society.

John Neville KNOX, Chairman, the Lawyers' Christian Fellowship. For services to the Legal Profession.

Frank Philip KRINKS, General Secretary, Civil Service Sports Council.

John Colin Leonard Thornton LEE, Area Chairman, Sea Cadet Corps, North West England. For services to Young People.

Neville Hall LEE, President, Association of Residential Letting Agents. For services to the Letting Industry.

Margaret Clare, Mrs. LILLYMAN, Headteacher, Millais School, Horsham, West Sussex. For services to Education.

James Malcolm LITTLEWOOD, Consultant in Paediatrics, St. James's University Hospital, Leeds. For services to Medicine.

Alexander John BRUCE-LOCKHART. For political and public service.

Andrew Usherwood LYBURN, Member, Occupational Pensions Board, for services to Occupational Pensions.

Professor George Murray MACKAY, Professor in Transport Safety, University of Birmingham. For services to Road and Vehicle Safety.

Miss Ruth MACKENZIE, Executive Director, Nottingham Playhouse. For services to the Theatre. Jurat Herbert Nicolle MACHON. For services to the community in Guernsey.

Sheila Stirling, Mrs. MACKAY. For political and public service.

Bruce David MACKIE. For political and public service.

Audrey, Mrs. MALES, Chief Administrative Nursing Officer, Mid-Glamorgan Health Authority. For services to Nursing

MARTIN. For services to the John Henry Construction Industry

Samuel Robert MARTIN. For services to Agriculture. Anthony Phillip MATHERS, Director, Armoured Fighting Vehicle Projects, GKN Defence. For services to the Defence Industry.

Edward MATTHEWS, lately Director, Edinburgh Voluntary Organisations' Council and Scottish Refugee Council. For services to Voluntary Organisations.

Edward Robert MAUN, Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.

John Hunter MAXWELL. For services to the Newspaper Industry and to the community in Cumbria.

Ian Malcolm McALPINE. For political and public service.

John McFARLANE, Executive Director, Standard Chartered plc. For services to the Finance Industry.

Professor John Peter McINERNEY, Glanely Professor of Agricultural Policy, University of Exeter. For services to Agricultural Economics.