James McINNES. For services to the community, particularly the Abbeyfield Society, in Kendal, Cumbria.

Miss Sheila Marshall McKECHNIE. For services to Homeless People.

Robert James McKINSTRY. For services to Architecture.

William Pollock McLAREN, M.B.E. For services to Broadcasting and to Rugby Union Football.

Michael Frederick MESSENGER, County Librarian and Arts Officer, Hereford and Worcester County Council. For services to Libraries.

William John MILLAR, lately Grade 7, Northern Ireland Office.

Professor Spencer Leonard MILLHAM, Director, Dartington Social Research Unit. For services to Young People.

George Mutch MITCHELL, Seneschal, the Priory for Wales, Order of St John. For services to the Order of St John.

John Cheason MITCHELL, Chairman, Working Group on Food and Agriculture for Central and Eastern Europe and the former Soviet Union. For services to Export.

Brian Patrick MONAGHAN, District Inspector, Her Majesty's Board of Inland Revenue.

John Clive MONKS, Chairman, Dental Rates Study Group. For services to the Dental Profession.

Miss Joyce MOORE, Headteacher, Oswaldtwistle Rhyddings County High School, Lancashire. For services to Education.

Patrick John MORAN, Grade 7, Treasury Solicitor's Department.

Gillian Ann, Mrs. MORBEY, Director, SENSE Scotland. For services to Deaf and Blind People.

John Anthony PATERSON-MORGAN, lately Chairman, Advisory Committee for General Commissioner, Acton and Kensington. For services to the General Commissioners for Income Tax.

Jonathan MOYNIHAN, Group Chief Executive, PA Consulting. For services to Business.

Alexander MacLeod MURRAY, Director, Department of Medical Physics and Bio-Engineering, Raigmore NHS Trust, Inverness. For services to Science.

Neil Warren MURRAY. For services to the community in Whitley Bay, Tyne and Wear.

James Wilson McDowell NEIL, Principal, Dumfries and Galloway College. For services to Education. Janet Blanche, Mrs. NEWMAN. For services to the

National Missing Persons' Helpline.

Maureen Edith, Mrs. NICOL. For services to Women's Issues.

James Charles Barton NOCK. For political and public service.

Alan NORBURY, Grade 6, Home Office.

Geoffrey NORMAN, lately Deputy Secretary of Commissions (Training), Lord Chancellor's Department.

Miss Erica May NORTON, Assistant Chief Constable, Leicestershire Constabulary. For services to the Police.

Jerome O'HEA, Chairman, Colt Group Ltd. For services to Business and to Training and Research.

Arthur Vernon OSCROFT, lately Director of Housing, Nottingham City Council. For services to Housing.

Ivor Albert Sydney OWEN, lately Parliamentary Correspondent, Financial Times. For services to Journalism.

Wing Commander Alan Geoffrey PAGE, Royal Air Force (Retd.), D.S.O., D.F.C., Founder, Battle of Britain Memorial Trust.

Miss Elaine PAIGE, Singer and actress. For services to the Musical Theatre.

Timothy Vernon Francis PAPE, Director General, the Shaw Trust. For services to People with Disabilities.

Brian John PERRY, lately Director, British Library Research and Development Department.

Miss Cheryl Alane PLUMRIDGE, Grade 7, Ministry of Defence.

Robert Corner POUNDER, Vice President, Submarine Old Comrades Association, Merseyside. For services to Ex-Servicemen and Women.

John William PRATT. For services to Portland College, Nottinghamshire.

Eric John RADLEY. For political and public service. Miss Jennifer Christine RANSON, Grade 7, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Major Ian William REYNOLDS, T.D., For political service.

Geoffrey Vincent ROBERTS. For services to Blind People in the Forest of Dean.

Phyllida Katharine, Mrs. STEWART-ROBERTS, D.L. For services to the community, particularly the St. John Ambulance, in East Sussex.

David Neil ROBINSON, Co-founder and Director, Community Links. For services to the community. June Rosamond Maxwell, Mrs. ROBINSON. For political and public service.

Joan Elizabeth, Mrs. RUDDOCK. For services to Industry.

Duncan RUTTER, T.D., lately Chief Executive,

Hotel and Catering Training Company Ltd. For services to Tourism.

Anthony John SAINSBURY. For services to Sport for Disabled People.

Philip SALISBURY, Managing Director, Peter Brotherhood Ltd. For services to Business in Cambridgeshire.

Arthur SAUNDERS, International Manager, Association of British Insurers. For services to the Insurance Industry.

William SCOTT, Managing Director and Chief Executive, Ferguson Shipbuilders Ltd. For services to the Shipbuilding and Engineering Industries. Michael John SEXTON, Grade 7, Overseas

Michael John SEXTON, Grade 7, Overseas Development Administration.

Graham John SEYMOUR, Senior Principal Valuer, Her Majesty's Board of Inland Revenue.

John Malcolm SHAW, lately Her Majesty's Senior Inspector of Mechanical Engineering in Mines, Health and Safety Executive, Department of Employment.

Elizabeth Ann, Mrs. SHERRIFF. For political service.

Miss Patricia Louise SHOVE, Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Ruth, Mrs. SIMS, Chief Executive, Mildmay Hospital, Hackney, London. For services to Health Care.

Jolyon Edward SLOGGETT, Secretary, Institute of Marine Engineers. For services to Marine Engineering.

Miss Isobel SMAIL, lately Member, Castle Morpeth Borough Council, Northumberland. For services to Local Government.

Trevor SMALLWOOD, Executive Chairman, Badgerline Group Ltd. For services to the Bus Industry.