Marion Dorothy Lilian, Mrs. ANDREWS. For voluntary services to St. George's Hospital, Tooting, Pain Control Department, and to the Multiple Sclerosis Society.

Doris, Mrs. ANGEL. For services to the community in Manchester.

Albert John ANNIS. For services to the Royal British Legion and Air Training Corps in Pershore, Worcestershire.

Jane, Mrs. APEDAILE. For services to the community in Abbeystead, Lancaster.

Charles John ARCH. For services to Welsh Agriculture and to the Community.

Kenneth Arthur ARMSON, lately Signaller, Edge Hill Signalbox, Railtrack. For services to the Railway Industry.

Ian Archibald ARMSTRONG, Chairman, South Tyne Committee for the Employment of People with Disabilities. For services to the Employment of Disabled People.

Jane, Mrs. ARMSTRONG, Church Youth and Community Worker, Durham County Council. For services to the community on the Woodhouse Close Estate, Bishop Auckland.

Myles Spencer ARNFIELD, Chairman, Marple and District Committee for Cancer Relief and Research. For charitable services.

Madeleine, Mrs. ARNOLD, Chairman of Governors, La Retraite Roman Catholic Girls School, Lambeth, London. For services to Education.

Colin William Gadsby ASH, Financial Analyst, the National Grid Company plc. For services to the Electricity Industry.

Ijaz ASHRAF. For services to Race Relations in Central Scotland.

Miss Kathleen Mary ATKINSON, lately Higher Scientific Officer, Institute of Freshwater Ecology. For services to Science.

David BAINBRIDGE, lately Manager, Ashley House Voluntary Managed Approved Hostel, Bristol. For services to the community.

Doris Mabel, Mrs. BAINBRIDGE. For services to the community in Appleby, Cumbria.

Stephen BAINES. For political and public service. William Alexander BAIRD, Chairman, Portpatrick Station Branch, Royal National Lifeboat Institution. For services to the RNLI.

Anthony Leonard BAKER, Support Manager III, Northern Ireland Office.

The Reverend Douglas William James BALE. For services to the community in Cardiff.

Marguerita, Mrs. BALFOUR. For services to the community in Fortrose and Rosemarkie, Ross-shire. Margaret Rose, Mrs. BANKS. For services to The

Guide Association.

Noel Berry BANKS. For services to WaterAid.

Charles BANNISTER. For services to the community in Harrow, Middlesex.

Anne, Mrs. VOSS-BARK. For services to Tourism in Devon.

David Eric BARKER, Farmer. For services to Conservation in East Anglia.

Steven Kenneth Edward BARNES, Convoy Leader. For humanitarian services in the former Yugoslavia.

Valerie A, Mrs. BARRIE, Headteacher, Ettrick Primary School. For services to Education.

Barbara, Mrs. BARROWCLOUGH, Administrative Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Adrian BARTON, Auxiliary in Charge, HM Coastguard, Ventnor, Isle of Wight. For services to Safety at Sea.

Rosemary, Mrs. BASHFORD. For services to Training and Development.

David Joseph BATTEN, Messenger, Ministry of Defence.

Violet, Mrs. BAWLER. For services to the community in Curry Mallet, Taunton, Somerset.

Jane Violet Johnston, Mrs. BAXTER. For services to Road Safety in Tayside.

George Fraser BEATON, Roads Foreman, Forestry Commission.

George BECK, Ship Manager, Swan Hunter Shipbuilders. For services to the Defence Industry. James Andrew BEGG, General Medical Practitioner, Ayr. For services to Medicine and to the

community.

Joan Patricia Bury, Mrs. HENDERSON-BEGG, lately Chairman, Sharnbrook House Residential Club WRVS. For services to the community.

Kenneth William BELL, Regional Treasurer, Yorkshire and Humberside Energy Management Groups. For services to Energy Efficiency.

Frank Walter BENNETT, Chairman, Royal Air Forces Association, Eastern Area.

Robert Frederick BENNETT, lately Police Constable, British Transport Police. For services to Rail Transport.

David Michael BIRD, Senior Executive Officer, Royal Courts of Justice, Lord Chancellor's Department. Rita, Mrs. BIRD, Head Housemaid, House of Lords. Elaine Lilian, Mrs. BIRTWISTLE, Local Officer 2, Department of Social Security.

Hazel Patricia, Mrs. BISHOP. For services to the Pony Club.

Joan, Mrs. BISHOP, lately Administrative Officer, Department for Education and Employment.

John William BISHOP, Operational Fire Officer and Non-Operational Station Officer, London Fire and Civil Defence Authority. For services to the Fire Service.

Alexander BLAIR, lately Vice-Chairman, Kelso Community Council. For services to the community in Roxburghshire.

Brian Robert BLAKE. For services to VE Day Commemorations.

Hazel, Mrs. BOARDMAN, HIV Prevention Co-ordinator, Blackpool, Lancashire For services to Health Care.

Alan David BOLAND, Manager, Health and Safety, British Steel. For services to Health and Safety in the Steel Industry.

Elizabeth Margaret, Mrs. BOMPHRAY, Divisional Public Relations Manager, WRVS Scotland. For services to the community.

Annette Laraine, Mrs. BOOTH. For services to the community in Froyle, Hampshire.

Miss Maureen Anne BOOTH, Senior Scientist, Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution. For services to Science.

Margaret Rennie, Mrs. WEBB-BOWEN. For services to the WRVS in Edinburgh.

Sarah Bardsley, Mrs. BRACHER. For services to the Friends of Kent Churches.

Miss Susan BRAILSFORD. For charitable services to the community in Nottinghamshire.

Paul Thomas Clifford BRENHAM. For services to Scouting.