- Professor Graeme John DAVIES. For services to the Higher Education Funding Council, England.
- Ian Leonard DIXON, C.B.E., Chairman, Willmott Dixon Ltd. For services to the Construction Industry.
- Michael Gilbert HERON. For services to Vocation Education and Training.
- Colin Frederick Newton HOPE, Chairman and Chief Executive, T&N plc. For services to the Motor Manufacturing Industry.
- Professor John Harold HORLOCK, F.R.S., Treasurer and Vice President, the Royal Society. For services to Science, Engineering and to Education.
- Francis Roger HURN, Chairman and Chief Executive, Smiths Industries plc. For services to the Engineering Industry.
- Paul Rupert JUDGE. For political and public service.
- Harold Stanley KALMS, Executive Chairman, Dixons Group plc. For services to the Electrical Retailing Industry.
- Graham KIRKHAM. For charitable services to the Duke of Edinburgh's Award and to the Animal Health Trust.
- Professor Harold Walter KROTO, F.R.S., Royal Society Research Professor, University of Sussex. For services to Chemistry.
- Andrew McLeod Brooks LARGE, Chairman, Securities and Investment Board. For services to Financial Regulation.
- James Theodore LESTER, M.P., Member of
- Parliament for Broxtowe. For political service. Professor Donald Iain MacKAY, Chairman, Scottish Enterprise. For services to Industry and to Public Life in Scotland.
- Cameron Anthony MACKINTOSH, Chairman, Cameron Mackintosh Ltd. For services to the Musical Theatre.
- Professor Robert McCredie MAY, F.R.S., Chief Scientific Adviser and lately Royal Society Research Professor, University of Oxford and Imperial College, London. For services to Science.
- Malcolm Kenneth McINTOSH, Chief of Defence Procurement, Ministry of Defence.
- Trefor Alfred MORRIS, C.B.E., Q.P.M., Her Majesty's Chief Inspector of Constabulary. For services to the Police.
- Leslie SHARP, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Strathclyde Police. For services to the Police.
- Colin Ryley SHEPHERD, M.P., Member of Parliament for Hereford. For political service.
- Maurice Adrian SHINWELL. For political service. William Michael Hardy SPICER, M.P., Member of Parliament for South Worcestershire. For political service.
- Edward Greville STEVENS, Jocelyn C.V.O., Chairman, English Heritage. For services to Conservation.
- Professor Edward Anthony WRIGLEY, Master, Corpus Christi College, Cambridge. For services to Historical Demography.
- Bernard Philip ZISSMAN. For political and public service.

## DIPLOMATIC SERVICE AND OVERSEAS LIST

## **Knight Bachelor**

Alister Arthur KNELLER, lately Chief Justice, Gibraltar.

## CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD ST. JAMES'S PALACE, LONDON S.W.I

#### 30th December 1995

THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Honourable Order of the Bath:

### Order of the Bath (Military Division)

## MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (NAVY DEPARTMENT) C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Rear Admiral Frederick Brian GOODSON, O.B.E. Rear Admiral Roger Charles LANE-NOTT.

# MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (ARMY DEPARTMENT)

## G.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the First Class, or Knight Grand Cross, of the said Most Honourable Order.

General Sir John Finlay Willasey WILSEY, K.C.B., C.B.E., ADC Gen. (461522), late The Devonshire and Dorset Regiment.

### K.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the Second Class, or Knight Commander, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Lieutenant General Rupert Anthony SMITH, D.S.O., O.B.E., Q.G.M. (477836), late The Parachute Regiment.

### **C.B.**

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

- Major General Anthony Hugh BOYLE (468949), late Royal Corps of Signals.
- Major General David Leslie BURDEN, C.B.E. (476891), late Royal Army Ordnance Corps.

Major General Anthony de Camborne Lowther LEASK, C.B.E. (473996), late Scots Guards.

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (AIR FORCE DEPARTMENT) G.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the First Class, or Knight Grand Cross, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Air Chief Marshal Sir Michael ALCOCK, K.B.E., C.B., Royal Air Force.

### **C.B.**

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

- Air Vice-Marshal Timothy Ivo JENNER, Royal Air Force.
- Air Vice-Marshal Peter Coulson NORRISS, A.F.C., Royal Air Force.