Jean Buyers, Mrs. KIDD, lately Musical Director, Royal Scottish National Orchestra Junior Chorus. For services to Musical Education.

Miss Elizabeth Smith KING, Local Officer 1, Department of Social Security.

Iain Donald KING, Project Manager, Security, British Railways Board. For services to the Railway Industry.

Roy KIRKPATRICK, lately Safety Officer, ICI Films, Imperial Chemical Industries plc. For services to Industrial Relations.

Dorothy Julia, Mrs. KNIGHT, Chemist, Institute of Food Research. For services to Science.

Robert KNIGHTS, Constable, 2 Area, Metropolitan Police. For service to the Police.

May, Mrs. LALKHAN, Support Manager III, Department for Education and Employment.

Miss Margery Ethel LAMBERT. For services to the community in East Meon, Hampshire.

Albert George LANCASTER. For services to the community.

William LANDLES. For services to Literature in the Borders.

Josephine Carmen Fay, Mrs. LANGTON. For political and public service.

Edith Mary, Mrs. LAURIE. For services to the community in Perth, Kinross.

Miss Faith Clokie LAWSON, Chairman, the Pedestrians' Association. For services to Road Safety and the Environment.

Elaine Vera, Mrs. LAYCOCK, General Medical Practitioner, Ruislip, Middlesex. For services to Medicine.

Valerie Gresty, Mrs. LAYCOCK, Administrative Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Miss Winifred (Betty) LAYSELL. For services to Voluntary Services Overseas.

William LE BRETON. For political service.

Ann Patricia, Mrs. LECK. For services to RELATE. Carl Derek Campbell Earl LECKEY, lately Leading Lockkeeper, British Waterways Board. For services to British Waterways.

Arthur LEDGARD. For services to Disabled Motorists.

Michael Leslie Ewart LEE, Leading Observer, Royal Observer Corps, RAF Bentley Priory.

Janet, Mrs. LEECE, Police Sergeant, Isle of Man Constabulary. For services to the Police.

David Alan LEES, Senior Professional Technology Officer, Vehicle Inspectorate Executive Agency, Department of Transport.

Gordon LEMON, Divisional Technical Manager, RMC Roadstone Products Ltd. For services to the Construction Industry.

William Pritchard LEWIS. For services to the community and to Welsh Amateur Music.

The Reverend John Leonard LINES. For services to Homeless People in Whitechapel, London.

Ronald D LITTLE. For services to the community in Bratton, Wiltshire.

Shirley, Mrs. LLOYD, Managing Director, P E Thomas Ltd, Porthcawl, Mid-Glamorgan. For services to Industry in Wales.

Gordon Henry LOACH, Subpostmaster, Bridgnorth, Shropshire. For services to the Post Office and to the community in Bridgnorth.

Miss Louisa Mary LODER. For services to the community in Shrewsbury, Shropshire.

Audrey Jean, Mrs. LOOTES. For services to the Fire Service College.

Horace LORD, lately Process Worker, Fuel Division, British Nuclear Fuels Ltd. For services to the Nuclear Industry.

Edwin Charles Ernest LOWE. For services to Broadcasting and to Snooker.

Miss Elizabeth Ann LOWE. For services to the community in Pendleton, Lancashire.

Dolly, Mrs. LUCKOCK, Volunteer Shop Manager, Oxfam, Tavistock, Devon. For charitable services.

Alan Frederick LYONS, Head of Nursing, Broadgreen NHS Trust, Liverpool. For services to Health Care.

Ivorine Delores, Mrs. MacDONALD, Executive Officer, Her Majesty's Board of Customs and Excise.

Donald MacKENZIE, Farm Manager. For services to Agriculture in Argyllshire.

John Fairley Grant MACAULAY, Constable, Lothian and Borders Police. For services to the Police.

Brian MACK. For services to Telescope Design.

Miss Georgina Macleod MACKENZIE, Professional and Management Grade 3, Dounreay Decommissioning Contractors Department, UKAEA. For services to the Nuclear Industry.

Patrick Carroll MACNAMARA, Chairman, Queen Mary's Roehampton Trust. For services to Disabled ex-Servicemen and Women.

Dorothy Amy, Mrs. MADELEY. For services to the community in Mildenhall, Suffolk.

Faridoon MADON, lately Chairman, Greater London Action for Racial Equality, (GLARE).

William Patrick MAGILL. For services to the Glazing Industry.

Claude Anthony MAGINESS. For service to the Telecommunications Industry.

Frances Rose, Mrs. MAILER, Principal's Secretary, Glenrothes College, Fife. For services to Education.

Winifred Elizabeth Ann, Mrs. MAIN. For services to Cancer Support in Aberdeen and North East Scotland.

Patrick MALONEY. For services to the community in Blackwood, Gwent.

Vivian MANNELL, Local Officer 1, Department of Social Security.

Alice, Mrs. MARLOW, School Crossing Patrol, Leicestershire County Council. For services to Road Safety.

Cyril MARTIN. For services to Ludlow Hospital, Shropshire.

Miss Dorothy Ann MARTIN, Higher Executive Officer, Department for Education and Employment.

Dorothy Iris, Mrs. MARTIN. For services to the National Trust in Sussex.

Haydn MARTIN, Divisional Commandant, Special Constabulary, Derbyshire. For services to the Police. Susan, Mrs. MARTINEAU. For services to the

Citizens' Advice Bureau in Exmouth, Devon.

Anthony Arthur James MASON, lately Personal Secretary, Department of the Environment.

Kathleen Rose, Mrs. MASON, Personal Secretary, Ministry of Defence.

Penelope Maitland, Mrs. MASON. For political and public service.

Ralph Blair MASON, Warden, Woodlands Camp, Birmingham Boys' and Girls' Union. For services to Young People.