- Mary Josephine, Mrs. BRYDON. For services to Allergy Nursing.
- James Anthony Burke, Headteacher, Cardinal Heenan RC High School, Liverpool. For services to Education.
- Miss Lulu Kennedy-Cairns, Singer and Entertainer. For services to Music.
- Professor Peter Calow, Chairman, Advisory Committee on Hazardous Substances. For services to Environmental Protection.
- William CAMERON, Chairman, Walter Alexander plc. For services to Manufacturing.
- Maureen Rosalind, Mrs. Campion, Policy Adviser, VAT Policy Analysis and Formulation, H.M. Board of Customs and Excise.
- Anthony Edward Cardell, Principal Scientist, Defence Evaluation and Research Agency, Ministry of Defence.
- Shiela Eadie, Mrs. Carlton, Consultant, National Institute of Adult Continuing Education. For services to Adult Education.
- Professor Yvonne Helen Carter, Professor of General Practice and Primary Care, Queen Mary and Westfield College, London. For services to Health Research.
- John Alfred Cashen. For public service on the Isle of Man.
- Sibdas Chakrabarti, Senior Bridge Engineer, Highways Agency, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions.
- John William Chappelow, Grade 7, Defence Evaluation and Research Agency, Ministry of Defence.
- Jagdish Chander Chawla, Consultant Ophthalmologist, Royal Alexandra Hospital NHS Trust, Paisley. For services to Ophthalmology.
- David Nowell CLARK, lately Chairman, Botanics Trading Company. For services to the Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh.
- Christopher James (Chris) CLARKE, Leader, Somerset County Council. For services to Local Government and to the community in South West England.
- John Wilson Clarke. For services to St John Ambulance.
- The Reverend Robert Sydney CLARKE. For services to Chaplaincy in the NHS.
- Barry Stanley CLEVERDON, Chief Executive, National Exhibition Centre Group. For services to Business inthe West Midlands.
- Palma Clara Rosa, Mrs. Coggins. For services to Victim Support.
- Stanley COHEN. For charitable services to the community, especially the Duke of Edinburgh's Award, in London.
- Wendy, Mrs. Colley. For services to Continence Nursing in West Cumbria.
- James Gerard Connelly, Headteacher, Firpark School, Motherwell. For services to Pupils with Special Educational Needs.
- Anthony Brian CONNOLLY. For services to the Steel Industry and to Industrial Relations in Wales.
- John Connolly, Leader, Falkirk Council. For services to Local Government.
- Mary, Mrs. Curnock-Cook, Chief Executive, British Institute of Innkeeping. For services to Training in the Hospitality and Tourism Industries.

- Peter Cooke, Chairman, International Air Transport Association Year 2000 Project. For services to the Millennium Bug in the Aviation Industry.
- Ms Anne-Marie Costain, Managing Director, Planning and Transport Research and Computation. For services to Education and Training in Transport.
- Wing Commander John Stewart Cresswell, R.A.F. (Retd.). For services to the Church Lads' and Church Girls' Brigade.
- Wendy Elizabeth, Mrs. CROCKETT, Special Educational Needs Co-ordinator, Alderman Blaxill School, Colchester, Essex. For services to Education.
- Hermione Mary, Mrs. Crosfield. For services to the British Red Cross Society in London.
- Patrick Francis Curran, Grade 7, Department for Education and Employment.
- Malcolm Raymond Curtis, M.B.E., lately Director General, People's Dispensary for Sick Animals. For services to Animal Welfare.
- Eric Samuel Dalzell. For public service.
- Gethin Davies. For services to the Birmingham Mentoring Consortium Millennium Award Scheme.
- Lennard Davies. For services to the Administration of Justice and to the community in Teeside.
- Derek Deane, Artistic Director, English National Ballet. For services to Dance.
- Martin Joseph Dent. For services to International Development and Relief from Debts.
- Ronald Leitch Devlin, Director, Pensions Review, Financial Services Authority. For services to Financial Regulation.
- Norman Colin Dexter, Author. For services to Literature.
- Mohan Singh DHAMRAIT, Radio Communications Specialist 5, Department of Trade and Industry.
- Bernard Dixon. For services to Scientific Journalism.
- Thomas Dixon, Head of Design, Habitat. For services to Design and Innovation.
- Malcolm Terence Doherty, Leader, Blackburn with Darwen Unitary Council. For services to the community in Lancashire.
- Miss Rosemary Inez Doidge. For services to the Civil Service Benevolent Fund.
- Richard Edwin Dolby, Research and Technology Director, TWI. For services to Industry and to Technology Transfer.
- Miss Sara Jane Donaldson, National Programme Director, New Millennium Experience Company. For services to the Millennium Dome.
- Timothy Gerard Doran, Head, Service and Contract Management, H.M. Board of Customs and Excise.
- Brian George Kirby Downing. For services to the England and Wales Cricket Board.
- Aires Angelo Barnabe Barros D'Sa, Consultant Vascular Surgeon, Royal Victoria Hospital. For services to Vascular Surgery.
- Peter William East, Technical Director, Racal Radar Defence Systems Ltd. For services to the Defence Industry.
- John Eggleston. For services to the National Space Science Centre, Leicester.
- Professor Marianne Elliott, Professor of Modern History, University of Liverpool. For services to Irish Studies and to the Northern Ireland Peace Process.