- Bernard Docherty, General Medical Practitioner, County Durham. For services to Health
- Robert Dover, Grade 6, Department of Social Security. John Alan Drew, Branch Crown Prosecutor, Crown Prosecution Service.
- Angus Dunphy, Headteacher, Fitzalan High School, Cardiff. For services to Education.
- John Charles Neville DYCKHOFF, Director of Catering, Metropolitan Police Service. For services to the Police and the Hospitality Industry.
- Geoffrey Morton Edmondson. For services to Schools' Sport.
- Ann, Mrs. Elliott, Headteacher, Horton Grange County First School, Blyth, Northumberland. For services to Education.
- Anita Georgina, Mrs. English, Director, Thames Valley Enterprise Board. For services to Training for Disadvantaged People.
- David Meirion Evans, lately General Secretary, Prison Officers' Association. For services to Employment
- Dennis Henry Evans, Grade 7, Home Office.
- Gillian, Mrs. Farnsworth, District Manager, Employment Service, Department for Education and Employment.
- Robert Thomas Ferris. For services to the Fishing
- Robert William Foot, Grade B2, Ministry of Defence.
- Clara, Mrs. Freeman, Chairman, Opportunity Now. For services to Women in the Workforce.
- Mary Ellen Eugenie, Lady Fretwell, Chairman, Passports for Pets. For services to Pet Owners and to Animal Welfare.
- Professor Erwin Gabathuler, F.R.S. For services to Physics.
- Denis Patterson Galway. For services to the Harbour Industry.
- Ian Malcolm Gardiner, Deputy Director General, National Farmers' Union. For services to Agriculture.
- Alan GARNER, Author. For services to Children's Literature.
- Stephen Cokayne Gibbs, Member, Deer Commission for Scotland. For services to Deer Management.
- John Martin GILL, Chief Scientist, RNIB. For services to Information Technology for Partially Sighted People.
- Professor Lynn Faith GLADDEN. For services to Chemistry.
- Donald Grant, Q.F.S.M., Commandant, Scottish Fire Service Training School.
- Roger Greenaway, Composer. For services to Popular Music.
- Miss Patricia Mary Greenhalgh. For services to Evidence Based Medical Care.
- Miss Miriam Greenwood, D.L., Director and Chief Operating Officer, British Linen Advisers. For services to Corporate Finance.
- Peter Leslie Griffin. For services to School Governors in Cardiff.
- Laurence David GRUER, Member, Advisory Council on the Misuse of Drugs, and Scottish Advisory Committee on Drug Misuse. For services to Public Health Medicine.
- Peter Gurney, Officer in Charge, H.M. Board of Inland Revenue.

- Miss Elizabeth Ann Gyngell, Head of Division, Health Directorate, Health and Safety Executive, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions.
- David John Haines, Managing Director, Warwickshire Careers Service. For services to Young People and to Employers.
- Miss Barbara Ann Hakin, Chief Executive, Bradford South and West Primary Care Trust. For services to the NHS.
- Ian Hamer, J.P., Chair, Air Transport Users' Council. For services to Air Travellers.
- David John Harper, M.V.O., Chief Fire Officer, Royal Berkshire Fire and Rescue Service. For services to the Fire Service.
- Keith William Harwood, Grade 7, Department of the Environment, Transport and the Regions.
- Reatha Rachel, Mrs. Hassan. For services to the community.
- Ian Hay, Chief Executive, Scottish Association of Master Bakers. For services to Vocational Education and Training.
- Maurice Eugene Healy, Chairman, Ombudsman Bureau Council. For services to Consumers.
- Miss Katherine Anne HENDERSON, Principal Auditor, National Audit Office.
- Harold Derek HEPWORTH, J.P. For services to the Administration of Justice in Sheffield, Yorkshire.
- Derek John Higgins. For services to the community, especially Young People in Essex.
- David Hirst, Engineering Director, Wardle Storeys. For services to the Defence Industry.
- Miss Claire Alison Holder, Chief Executive, Notting Hill Carnival Trust. For services to the Arts.
- Ms Diana Holland, National Organiser for Women, Race and Equalities, TGWU. For services to Equal Opportunities in Employment.
- Martin Hopkins. For services to Sports Broadcasting. Graham Wallis John Hoskin, Investigation Officer, H.M. Board of Inland Revenue.
- Miss Ruth Mary Hussey, Director of Public Health, Liverpool Health Authority. For services to Health Care.
- Jocelyn Elizabeth Anne Imrie. For services to the NHS in Scotland, especially Cervical Screening.
- Professor Eric William Ives. For services to History and to the University of Birmingham.
- Thomas Owen Leslie Jenkins, Secretary, European Union and International Relations, Trades Union Congress. For services to Employment Relations in the European Union.
- Peter Simon Jenkinson, Director, Walsall Museums and The New Art Gallery. For services to Museums and
- David Rowland John. For services to Education.
- Gail Beverley, Mrs. Johnson, Family Centre Coordinator, Widden Primary School, Gloucester. For services to Education.
- Alun Denry Wynn Jones, Chief Executive, Institute of Physics. For services to the Defence Industry.
- Christine Jane, Mrs. Jones. For services to the Oil and Gas Industry.
- Timothy John Cooper-Jones, Project Director, Unilever. For services to the Food Industry.