Ms Shuna Taylor Lindsay, Leader, Airlift and Future Tanker Integrated Project Team, Ministry of Defence.

Alastair David Lyons. For services to the Department of Social Security.

Alasdair Uist Macdonald, Headteacher, Morpeth School, Tower Hamlets, London. For services to Education.

Douglas Marr, Headteacher, Banchory Academy. For services to Secondary Education in Scotland.

Michael CRAIG-MARTIN, Artist. For services to Art.

Judith, Mrs. McLaggan, Assistant Director, H.M. Board of Inland Revenue.

David Rogerson Mellor, O.B.E., Designer. For services to Design and Manufacturing.

Anthony Minghella, Writer and film director. For services to Film Drama.

Professor Roger Michael Needham, F.R.S., Director, Cambridge Microsoft Research Laboratory. For services to Computing.

Christopher John NICHOLLS, Headteacher, Moulsham High School, Chelmsford, Essex. For services to Education.

Hugh Peden, Collector, H.M. Board of Customs and Excise.

Roland John PHILLIPS, Deputy Head, Litigation Division, Treasury Solicitor's Department.

Professor Michael Isaac Podro, Emeritus Professor of Art History and Theory, University of Essex. For services to Art History.

Nicholas Martin Prest, Chairman and Chief Executive, Alvis plc. For services to the Defence Industry.

Anthony Francis PRYOR, Chairman, Devonport Management Ltd. For services to the Defence Industry.

Professor William Graham RICHARDS, Chairman of Chemistry, University of Oxford. For services to Chemistry.

Jonathan RICKFORD, lately Project Director, Company Law Review. For services to Business.

John Richard RIVERS, Chair, Southern Derbyshire Employer Coalition. For services to the New Deal.

Peter Rogers, lately Chief Executive, ITC. For services to Broadcasting.

Michael David Ross, Chief Executive, Scottish Widows. For services to the Financial Sector in Scotland.

Philip Charles Ruffles, F.R.S., Director, Engineering and Technology, Rolls Royce plc. For services to the Aerospace and Defence Industries.

Philippa Margaret, Mrs. Russell, O.B.E., Director, Council for Disabled Children. For services to Disabled Children and Adults.

Lucianne, Mrs. Sawyer, President, UK Home Care Association. For services to Health Care.

Richard Gilbert Saxon, Chairman, Building Design Partnership. For services to Construction Procurement.

Professor Peter John Selby, Director of Clinical Research, Imperial Cancer Research Fund. For services to Cancer Research and Cancer Care.

Philip Edward Sellers. For services to Accountancy and Audit.

Professor Robert William Ernest Shannon. For services to Economic Development.

Samuel James Shields. For services to Health Care.

Judge Ramesh Singh, Commissioner for Racial Equality, Wales. For services to Race Equality.

Joseph Brian Smith. For public service.

Professor Peter George SMITH, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. For services to the Spongiform Encephalopathy Advisory Committee and to Tropical Disease Research.

Professor Peter Ian STANLEY, lately Chief Executive, Central Science Laboratory, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Professor Elan Closs Stephens, Professor of Communications and Creative Industries, University of Aberystwyth. For services to the Welsh Language.

Graham Spencer STIRLING, lately Chairman, Prosper. For services to Education and Training in Devon and Cornwall.

Professor Nigel Clement Halley STOTT. For services to Primary Care and General Practice Medicine.

Professor Joan Kathleen Stringer, Principal and Vice Patron, Queen Margaret University College. For services to Higher Education.

William TAYLOR, Q.P.M., H.M. Chief Inspector of Constabulary, Scotland. For services to the Police.

Professor Charles Tomlinson, Poet. For services to

Ivor WARD, lately Head, Personnel Management Group, H.M. Prison Service, Home Office.

Alan Watson, Deputy Parliamentary Commissioner for Administration.

Professor Hubert Frank Woods. For services to the Committee on Toxicity of Chemicals in Food, Consumer Products and the Environment.

James Robertson Graeme WRIGHT, D.L., lately Vice Chancellor, University of Newcastle-upon-Tyne. For services to Higher Education.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Barbara, Mrs. AINGER, lately Chief Executive, The Housing Finance Corporation. For services to Housing.

Christopher Charles Kennedy Albiston. For services to the Police.

Mohammed Ali, Founder, Quest for Economic Development (QED). For services to South Asian communities.

Peter Riddle Allan, D. L. For services to the community, especially Business and Employment, in North East England

Frank Amadedon. For services to Community Relations in Wolverhampton.

David Stuart Archbold. For services to the Transport Industry.

Allan Arnott, lately Chair, Greater Peterborough TEC/CCTE. For services to Lifelong Learning.

Professor Bernard ATKINSON, Member, BBSRC Council. For services to Biotechnology.

John Barrie Atkinson, J.P. For services to the Magistrates' Courts Service.