Energy



Electricity

Celtic Offshore Wind Limited

ELECTRICITY ACT 1989

FOOD AND ENVIRONMENT PROTECTION ACT 1985 **COAST PROTECTION ACT 1949**

TOWN AND COUNTRY PLANNING ACT 1990

THE ELECTRICITY WORKS (ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT ASSESSMENT) (ENGLAND AND WALES) REGULATIONS 2000

NOTICE OF APPLICATION FOR CONSENT TO CONSTRUCT AND OPERATE AN OFFSHORE WIND POWER ELECTRICITY GENERATING STATION ON AN AREA OF SEABED KNOWN AS RHYL FLATS, OFF ABERGELE AND COLWYN BAY ON THE NORTH WALES COAST

Notice is hereby given that Celtic Offshore Wind Limited (COWL) (the "Company") (whose registered office is The Long Barn, Waen Farm, Nercwys Road, Mold, Fintshire CH7 4EW) has applied for:

(1) Consent from the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry under sections 36 and 37 of the Electricity Act 1989 and for deemed planning permission under section 90(2) of the Town and Country Planning Act 1990;

(2) Consent from the Secretary of State for Transport, Local Government and the Regions under section 34 of the Coast Protection Act 1949, as amended by section 36 of the Merchant Shipping Act 1988; (3) Consent from The National Assembly for Wales under section 5 of the Food and Environment Protection Act 1985;

to construct and operate an offshore wind farm (including connection to the onshore electricity supply network), on an area of seabed known as Rhyl Flats.

The wind farm, which would be known as the Rhyl Flats Wind Farm, would have a total electrical capacity of up to 150 Megawatts and is proposed to be located approximately 10 kilometres north from Abergele off the North Wales Coast. The wooden pole 132kV overhead electricity line would have a length of approximately 6 kilometres and would be routed in a southerly direction from the substation over the A55T road and to the west of St George's Quarry to connect into the existing 132kV electricity line to the east of Moelfre.

A copy of the applications, with plans showing the area to which they relate, together with a copy of the Environmental Statement, explaining the Company's proposals in more detail and presenting an assessment of the environmental impacts, with a Non Technical Summary thereof, are available for inspection during normal working hours at:

Flintshire County Council, County Hall, Mold, Flintshire CH7 6NB; Denbighshire County Council, Council Offices, Nant Hall Road, Prestatyn, Denbighshire LL19 9LL;

Conwy County Borough Council, Civic Offices, Colwyn Bay, Conwy

Abergele Library, Market Street, Abergele LL22 7BP;

Rhyl Library, Museum and Arts Centre, Church Street, Rhyl, Denbighshire LL183AA;

Llandudno Library, Mostyn Street, Llandudno LL20 2RP; and at the Company's registered office as above.

Copies of the Environmental Statement may be obtained from the Company's registered office for a charge of £200. Copies of the Non Technical Summary are also available, free of charge, from the Company's registered office and website at www.wind4energy.co.uk.

Any person wishing to make representations to the Secretaries of State about the applications should do so in writing to the Secretary of State for Trade and Industry, c/o Offshore Renewables Consents Unit, Room 168, 1 Victoria Street, London SW1H 0ET, fax 020-7215 2601, email offshore.windfarms@dti.gov.uk stating the name of the proposal and the nature of their representations, not later than 2 May 2002.

The Offshore Renewables Consents Unit will co-ordinate the receipt of any representations on behalf of each of the regulators concerned and will pass to the applicant a copy of any representations received. (876)

Other Notices



THE LEAGUE OF MERCY

Sir Robert Balchin, President and the Trustees of the League of Mercy have announced that the Badge of the Order of Mercy for distinguished voluntary work is to be conferred upon the following:

Mrs Dorothy Bartram (Friends of Chiswick Lodge, London)

Mrs Fiona Beresford (League of Friends, Nuffield Orthopaedic Centre, Oxford)

Mrs Doreen Bernstock (Friends of the Royal London Hospital)

Mrs Greta Bowie (The League of Friends, Maud Hospital, Scotland)

Mrs Doreen Brown (St Gemma's Hospice, Leeds)

Mrs Lesly Bruce-Watson (The Monday Luncheon Club, Devon)

Mrs Penny Burke (Countess Mountbatten House (Hospice), Southampton)

Mrs Madge Crawford (SSAFA, Chester)

Mr Roger Cresswell (The League of Friends of Wanstead and Whipps Cross Hospital, Essex)

Mrs Margaret Currie (SSAFA)

Mrs Mavis Curry (League of Friends of the Alnwick Hospital, Northumberland)

Dr Bhagabat Das MBE (Indian Senior Citizens Centre, Manchester)

Mrs Eileen Davis (Brunelcare, Bristol)

The Rt Hon Viscountess Falmouth (Friends for the Royal Cornwall Hospital)

Mrs Maureen Ford (Cherry Lodge Cancer Care, Hertfordshire)

Peter Green (National Association of Hospital and Community Friends)

Bernard Hewitt (The League of Friends, South Warwickshire Mental Health Services)

Dr Jean Macheath (Community Care Communication, Suffolk)

Mrs Rita Pratley (League of Friends of Chipping Norton and War Memorial Hospital)

Mrs Jane Reid (Friends of Insch Hospital, Scotland)

Mrs Sheilah Roberts (The League of Friends of Monmouth General Hospital, Wales)

Mrs Loveday Russell (Befrienders International)

Mr William Saunders (The Good Companions of Holywell Hospitals,

Mrs Irene Ann Taylor (Friends of Sunnyside Hospital and Montrose Royal Infirmary, Scotland)

Mrs Meg Thomas (Bristol Drugs Project)

The Companion's Badge (for services to the League of Mercy) is to be conferred upon:

Mr Edward Lawrence, Professor John Spiers and Professor Alan Roberts OBE, TD (109)

A Company Law Supplement to *The London Gazette* detailing information notified to or by the Registrar of Companies is published weekly on microfiche. An annual subscription service is also available, and details may be obtained from the office of The London Gazette at the address given on the back page. (1001)