- Ananda Jayatissa JAYASEKERA, Head, Sharp Programme, Licensing and Exploration Directorate, Department of Trade and Industry.
- Elwyn Tudno Jones. For services to the community in Wales.
- Gareth JONES, Director, Agricultural and Rural Affairs, National Assembly for Wales.
- Miss Julia PEYTON-JONES, Director, Serpentine Gallery. For services to Art.
- Julie, Mrs. JONES, Director, Social and Community Services, Westminster City Council, London. For services to Social Care.
- Thomas JONES, M.B.E., Industrial Relations Organiser, Transport and General Workers Union. For services to the Disadvantaged in Wales.
- Professor James Roy KEARNEY, Honorary Professor of Voluntary Action Studies, University of Ulster. For services to the Voluntary Sector in Northern Ireland.
- Ms Philippa KENNEDY, Consultant Editor, The Press Gazette. For services to Journalism.
- Ronald Critchley KENYON. For services to the community, especially in Health and Education, in Nottingham.
- Dr. Alison Margaret KERR. Paediatric Neurologist specialising in Rett Syndrome. For services to Medicine.
- Alan Edwin KING. For services to the Church of England.
- Sir William Fettiplace LAWRENCE, Bt., Chairman, Heart of England Tourist Board. For services to the Tourist Industry.
- Nigel Gilbert LAWRIE, Headteacher, Port Glasgow High School. For services to Education.
- Michael Jeffrey LEECE, Chief Executive, National Marine Aquarium. For services to Tourism.
- Charles Edward LISTER. For services to the Safety of Blood and Blood Products, Department of Health.
- Michael Raymond LORD, Executive Director, Sunjuice Ltd. For services to Industry in South Wales.
- Philip Albert LOVEGROVE. For services to the Church of England.
- Professor Philip David Lowe, Professor of Rural Economy and Founder of the Centre for Rural Economy at the University of Newcastle upon Tyne. For services to the Rural Economy.
- Michael Joseph Lyons, Chair, West Yorkshire Passenger Transport Authority. For services to Public Transport.
- Dennis Ivor MABEY, Member, Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, Rating and Local Taxation Policy Panel. For services to Public Valuation and Local Taxation.
- Ms Elizabeth Anne MacLean, Chair, Albyn Housing Society Limited. For services to the community in the Scottish Highlands.
- Iain MacLean MACSWEEN. Chairman, Scottish Fishermen's Organisation. For services to the Fishing Industry.
- Kathleen Maria, Mrs. MAGUINESS, lately Chair, Board of Management, Cardonald College, Glasgow. For services to Further Education.
- The Venerable Ajahn KHEMADHAMMO MAHATHERA, Spiritual Director of Angulimala. For services to Prisoners.
- Don MANLEY, J.P. For services to the Administration of Justice in the West Midlands.

- John Paul MARSTON, Sheriff's Officer. For services to High Court Enforcement.
- The Reverend Canon Jeremy Fletcher MARTINEAU, National Rural Officer, General Synod Board of Mission. For services to the Rural Communities.
- Ingval MAXWELL, Director, Technical Conservation, Research and Education Group, Historic Scotland.
- Michael McCABE, Director, Educational Services, South Ayrshire Council. For services to Education in South Ayrshire.
- Carol, Mrs. MCCLETCHIE. For services to Tyne and Wear Employer Coalition and the New Deal.
- Frederick James England MCCRINDLE, Principal, Reading College and School of Arts and Design. For services to Further Education.
- Alastair McGowan. For services to Accident and Emergency Medicine.
- Fiona, Mrs. McMILLAN, Principal, Bridgwater College, Somerset. For services to Further Education.
- Paul Francis MCNAMARA, Director and Head of Research, Prudential Property Investment Managers Ltd. For services to the Property Industry.
- Tanya Mary, Mrs. MCWILLIAMS. For public service.
- Professor Thomas Richard MILES. For services to People with Dyslexia.
- Richard MILLS, Secretary General, National Society for Clean Air. For services to the Improvement of Air Quality.
- Hélène Roberte, Mrs. MITCHELL, Project Manager, Astronomy Project, National Maritime Museum. For services to Museum Education.
- Jean Hamilton Susan, Mrs. MITCHELL. For services to the HALO Trust.
- Marlene Craigie, Mrs. MORLEY, Grade B1, Ministry of Defence.
- Miss Anne Jessie Mackenzie MORRIS, lately Head, Fife Educational Service. For services to Children and Young People with Sensory Impairments.
- Simon MORRIS, Principal Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for Wales.
- Kitty, Mrs. HART-MOXON. For services to Holocaust Training and Education.
- Professor Elizabeth MURDOCH, Emeritus Professor of Physical Education, Sports Science, Dance and Leisure, University of Brighton. For services to Physical Education and Sport.
- Professor Norman Cummings NEVIN, Chairman, Gene Therapy Advisory Committee. For services to Gene Therapy Research.
- Janet Dianne, Mrs. NEWTON. For services to Education for Citizenship and the Teaching of Democracy in Schools.
- Christopher James NICOL, District Manager, Jobcentre Plus, Department for Work and Pensions.
- June, Mrs. NISBET, Leader, School Government Team, School Admissions Organisation and Governance Division, Department for Education and Skills.
- Miss Stella O'BRIEN, Head, Senior Staffing and Succession, Cabinet Office.
- Miss Bernadette Ann O'HARE. For public service.
- William Edgar ODDIE, Writer, Actor and Broadcaster. For services to Wildlife Conservation.
- Ms Elsie Margaret Akva Owusu, Founder Member, Society of Black Architects. For services to Architecture.