- Paulette Winsome, Mrs. HAYE, Nurse, Chest Clinic, Wythenshawe Hospital, Manchester. For services to Specialist Respiratory Nursing.
- Gerald Albert Wallington-Hayes. For services to the community in Harwich, Essex.
- Dianne, Mrs. Hayle. For services to the Parole Board.
- Anne Veronica, Mrs. Heaney. For services to the St. John Ambulance Brigade.
- David Heddle. For services to Disabled Bowls.
- Thomas Glyndwr Joseph Heller. For services to Agricultural and Horticultural Research.
- Robert Douglas HENRY, Chief Executive, CORGI. For services to the Gas Industry.
- Miss Eleanor Herbert, Administrative Officer, Finance, Vehicle and Operator Services Agency.
- Elizabeth, Mrs. HIBBERT, Secretary, Greater Manchester Police. For services to the Police.
- Miss Dorothy Margaret HICKLING, President, North London District, Girls' Brigade. For services to Young People.
- Janet Clare, Mrs. HICKMAN, Assistant Assurance Officer, H.M. Customs and Excise.
- Charles Hill, Operations Manager, NAAFI. For services to the Armed Forces.
- David Danby Hill, Farmer. For services to Agriculture in the South West.
- Richard HILL. For services to Rugby Union.
- Ursula Muriel, Mrs. HILL. For services to the League of Friends, Queen Alexandra Hospital, Portsmouth.
- Dr. David HILLING, Member, Waterways Freight Forum Board. For services to Inland Waterways.
- Andy HINE, Chairman, Roller Coaster Club of Great Britain. For services to the Tourist Industry.
- Lieutenant Colonel Malcolm HITCHCOTT. For services to the Soldiers' and Airmen's Scripture Readers Association.
- Peter Hobley, Voluntary Teacher, St. Mary's Roman Catholic Primary School, Hammersmith and Dog Kennel Hill Primary School, East Dulwich, London. For services to Education.
- Robert Nicholas Hodges, Connexions Personal Adviser, Sheffield. For services to Young People.
- Major Neville Hogan. For services to the Chindits Old Comrades Association.
- Caroline, Mrs. Hogg, Grade D, Ministry of Defence.
- Miss Helen Brodie HOLDSWORTH, Chair, Campaign for Fairer Fair Rents. For services to the Private Tenants' Rights Movement.
- Grace Helen Pat, Mrs. Hollands. For services to Badminton in Cornwall.
- Ms Linda Kathleen Mary HOLME, Grade D, Ministry of Defence.
- Thomas Hooper, Joint President, Institute of Tourist Guiding. For services to the Tourist Industry.
- John Deane Houston, Chief Executive Officer, Blind Centre for Northern Ireland. For services to the Blind.
- Beverley William HOWARD, lately Scout Leader. For services to Young People in Buckinghamshire.
- Thelma Susannah, Mrs. Howard, School Crossing Warden, Toll Bar Primary School, Doncaster. For services to Education.
- Margaret Rose, Mrs. Hudson, Grade E1, Ministry of Defence.
- Adrian David Hughes, Retained Officer, Mid and West Wales Fire Brigade. For services to the Fire Service.

- David Humphreys. For services to Rugby Football.
- John Anthony Hunt, Team Leader, North Yorkshire County Council. For services to the Restoration of Bridges in North Yorkshire.
- Dr. Judith Marylyn Hunter, Honorary Curator, Windsor Museums Group. For services to Museums.
- Miriam Carlisle, Mrs. Hunter. For public service.
- Ashiq Hussain, J.P., Councillor, Derby Council. For services to the community in Derby.
- Francis James Inston. For services to the WRVS in Benfleet, Essex.
- Malcolm John Isaac, Chairman, Vitacress Salads Ltd. For services to the Fresh Produce Industry and to Horticultural Research.
- Valerie Joan, Mrs. Jackman. For services to the communities in Brean and Berrow, Somerset and to British Gymnastics.
- Brenda May, Mrs. James. For services to the community in Carmarthenshire.
- Nevil Arthur James. For services to the community in Llandaff, Cardiff.
- Nicholas James, Premises Manager, Brent Knoll School, Lewisham, London. For services to Special Needs Education
- John Arnold Janzen. For services to the community in Teddington, Middlesex.
- Ms Elizabeth Jean Jenkins. For services to Workers' Health and Safety.
- Kathleen, Mrs. Jenkins. For services to Victims of Crime in Nottinghamshire.
- William Miles JESSOP. For services to the community in Borrowdale, Cumbria.
- Leighton Johns, Registration Officer, Swansea District Land Registry.
- The Reverend Christopher Robert Johnson, lately Chair of Governors, John Baskeyfield Church of England School, Burslem, Staffordshire. For services to Education.
- Henry JOHNSTON. For services to Carers in Wales and to the community in Pembrokeshire.
- Derek Jones, B.E.M., Grade D, Ministry of Defence.
- Miss Frances May Jones. For services to Cancer Charities in North Wales.
- Hugh Gareth Jones, Honorary Chair, National Deaf Children's Society. For services to Deaf Children.
- Nigel Patrick Jones, Training Programme Manager, National Specialist Law Enforcement Centre. For services to the Police.
- Penelope, Mrs. Jones, Senior Teaching Assistant, Bexhill High School, Bexhill-on-Sea, East Sussex. For services to Education.
- Rosalie, Mrs. Jorda, Senior Personal Secretary, Department for Constitutional Affairs.
- Sandra Ross, Mrs. Kara, Secretary, Bishops Waltham Minibus Group. For services to Disabled People in Southampton.
- David Kaufman. For services to the community in Lisson Grove, London.
- Benedict James KAY. For services to Rugby Union.
- Judith Ann, Mrs. KEAY, Head, Student Services, Kent Institute of Art and Design. For services to Education.
- Aedan Kerney, Head of Music and Director of Performing Arts, Boundstone Community College, Lancing, West Sussex. For services to Education.